We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average and dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
FH Grand Hotel Palatino
Ranked #282 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The hotel staff were among the rudest I have ever seen/experienced. One example - we were out most of one day with a tour and after returning we discovered that our room smelled heavily of smoke. We called the front desk and their response was "well who smokes in your room?". So rude it could have been the cleaning crew someone in the hall - who knows? The point was that the customer service/hospitality answer was missing. They should have offered to move us/air out room something but chose to blame us for the issue.
The rooms were quite dated and shabby, in dire need of a makeover. Breakfast had a very good selection of fresh fruit so that's where my two star rating came from.

Room Tip: Higher floors might be better so you're not so close to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank mlv26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 1,696 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed here as a group of 5 friends and we all loved it.
The location of the hotel is perfect, everything is within walking distance.
The hotels rooms were spacious, clean and had a modern feel. The bathrooms was cleaned everyday and was clean.
The staff at reception were always very helpful especially the 2 ladies at reception. Every morning they assisted us with either exchanging more money or just telling us the best way of getting to a certain place. A good team all around.
The Colosseum was a 2 minute walk from the hotel, the metro station another 2 minute walk and even for those who like walking termini (main station) is about a 15 minute walk from the hotel
The buffet breakfast was lovely with a great variety of food available for all choices. We were given free wifi which had good signals on the 2nd floor.
The check in and heck out process was quick and simple and better then i have experienced in any other hotel ive stayed in. I would without doubt stay at this hotel again. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Saima K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGenman, Direttore generale at FH Grand Hotel Palatino, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

We thank you for your comment , The words you wrote makes us feel that we are working to the right direction.
We really look forward to a future visit in our lovely city and hope to meet you again at the Palatino
Vincenzo Di Martino gen. man
on behalf of the staff of the Palatino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We were there for 2 nights.Really a very good hotel with a gentelman manager. The rooms were quitelly silent and clean. The breakfast was really good and the staffs were very polite and friendly. I suggest this hotel for the people who expect the bests with normal price.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I happen to have lots of experience with 4- and 5-star hotels throughout Europe, as I travel quite frequently due to my profession (medical doctor), but this trip to Rome was supposed to be a gift to my mother and, personally, a great opportunity for summer vacation. Actually, this was my third consecutive visit to the “eternal city”. For our 4-night stay, I chose Grand Hotel Palatino mainly for its “strategic” location, and I booked an executive double room on the top floor for its private balcony view and presumed spaciousness.
As I had predicted, during our stay (8-12 August 2014), Rome was at its best, as most Romans were leaving the city for their summer holidays. On the contrary (and also as I had predicted), the hotel was heavily crowded with tourist groups, but this did not affect much our comfort as, for most of the day, we were out of the hotel exploring Rome and the surrounding region.
While the room’s amenities were adequate and satisfactory, I’d have to agree with most other reviewers that the quality (not the variety) of the breakfast and the attitude of almost half the reception-staff fell short of our expectations for a 4-star, major European-city hotel.
So, in general, everything was fairly predictable until the day of our departure, when, while preparing our luggage, my mother realized that at least two of her blouses and pairs of trousers that had been kept/ hung in the closet were missing- presumably stolen by one or more staff members with access to the room! Fortunately, most other personal belongings of ours had not been left exposed to the curiosity of uninvited intruders/kleptomaniacs.
We reported this to the reception desk on checking out, stressing that, regardless of the value of the missing cloth items, such serious incidents should be thoroughly investigated by the Management Team as a matter of security and the hotel’s prestige. The receptionist and front-desk cashier merely answered that most of the personnel had been working at the hotel for years, therefore being considered trustable, and they suggested that we address a written complaint to the Management.
Although, I wouldn't expect much from an internal investigation, I would hope for a reply as a gesture of formality or courtesy. Unfortunately, ten days after the incident that ruined our vacation at the very last moment, I still haven’t received any feedback for my complaint. On a quick, retrospective reading of the hotel’s customer reviews over the last few years, including a warning comment posted earlier this year on TripAdvisor, it was interesting to notice that similar complaints and suspicions for room intruders and missing personal possession had been made in the recent past, along with similar replies by the Hotel’s Management regarding the staff’s long-term employment and reliability.
Georgios Ioannidis

Room Tip: Executive double room at the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank GEORGIOS-IOANNIDIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGenman, Direttore generale at FH Grand Hotel Palatino, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear guest
Just coming back from my summer vactions . I was thinking to reply directly but I undestand that you prefer this system. We are sorry for the loss or supposed theft , and I am sure that our front office staff ,as they usully do as policy , suggested to go to the police and make a report and if you felt to accuse someone you could have done directly with them. The police is the only one allowed to investigate legally , and we always support them in their investigations, and if it should be found that a member of our staff has behaved illegally , then he will pay dearly for it. Reading your comment I also understand that without knowing us , we had no chace to be trusted in any action . What I can tell you is that our hotel has an almost 50 years reputation and the guests , in the years , appreciated our service , the professional and friendly way of working; of course we continue to work hard to improve our quality and we always take good note of any suggestion.
We make almost every day security checks on the staff and persons working for any reson inside the hotel . I am here from 20 years and no one of our staff or workers has been involved in any illegal behavior, and we are proud of it
My warmest regards
GenMan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The staff here was very helpful. We had trouble confirming our cab booking for leaving to go to the airport. Giovanni helped us out immensely, contacting at least a dozen different numbers trying to help us get ahold of someone at romecabsbooking.com Room was big, clean and very comfortable. Great location to Ancient Rome as well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bswammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGenman, Direttore generale at FH Grand Hotel Palatino, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest
the appreciation of the assistance of all our staff is the most important thing for us . as all of us are comitted to make our guest a very pleasnt stay .
We look forward to welcoming you in our lovely city and in our hotel
Warmest regards
Vincenzo DM
GenMan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed there this June while on an tour of Italy. We were with a group of 22, and the rooms were ready for us when we arrived. The bed was king size and very comfortable. The only problem we had was we paid for Wi-Fi and it would not work in our room. A trip to the front desk took care of a refund. (they did have free Wi-Fi in the large lobby which we used) We had a complementary breakfast each day which was very good.
One of the best thing about this hotel is that it is only 2 blocks from the Colosseum of Rome.
The Colosseum of Rome is truly colossal - it stands 165 feet high and measures 600 feet long. It was large enough to hold 50,000 roaring spectators when it was inaugurated in 80 AD.
Today, it is one of the most dramatic, historic and recognized archaeological monuments on earth.

Room Tip: Get on the second floor and you may be able to get Wi-Fi from the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 419Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Gate 1 travel recommended this hotel and we were very pleased. After an 8 hour flight, and arriving at 9:30 AM they had two rooms ready for us. Because we booked with Gate one got a terrific deal on Wi-Fi. The location is ideal, a quick walk to Forum and Colosseum, taxi stand right outside. Shops and restaurants all around. Rooms were fine, large bathrooms. Staff was helpful. Breakfasts were included and fruit, champagne were best parts. With an early flight out we had to leave at 4:00 AM and they had box breakfasts ready for us. We were very pleased with this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the back if you want quiet, and the upper floors are the most recently remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Monti Palace Hotel
Monti Palace Hotel
#78 of 1,271 in Rome
211 reviews
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#151 of 1,271 in Rome
1,179 reviews
Monti
The K Boutique Hotel
The K Boutique Hotel
#520 of 1,271 in Rome
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#97 of 1,271 in Rome
969 reviews
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#295 of 1,271 in Rome
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FH Grand Hotel Palatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FH Grand Hotel Palatino

Address: Via Cavour 213/m, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#153 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#227 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £88 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — FH Grand Hotel Palatino 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Palatino is situated in the heart of the ancient center of Rome, just a short walk away from the Coliseum and Imperial Forums. Close to shopping streets where Rome's most elegant shops can be found and near Termini Railway station, the air terminal and main subway station, providing rapid links to all the most important areas of Rome. Palatino Grand Hotel has 208 large rooms, 2 restaurants, 1 bar, 4 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your FH Grand Hotel Palatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palatino Grand Rome
Rome Palatino Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Palatino Rome Italy
Hotel Palatino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing