We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Savoy
Ranked #173 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

I have been to Rome twice and travelled all over Italy.
The Hotel Savoy is a typical Italian four star hotel and the top end of four star for Rome. My friend was celebrating her 40th birthday and we were upgraded to room 115 a suite. The hotel has typical Italian, ostentacious styling, big mirrors and bold furnishings etc - see photos which was exactly what we wanted. Our room had twin beds with thick, black velvet bedspreads, a flat screen large tv, a double wardrobe with a safe, a mini bar, thick curtains in black and gold, gold wallpaper, a large ensuite bathroom with a huge mirror and the usual Italian plumbing - the red tap was the cold tap, the blue tap the hot tap! The shower leaked on the floor. This is not unusual for Italian plumbing.
However, the room was so quiet we had a dreamy sleep which you rarely get in Italian hotels when you are in a city full of youths on vespas and refuse collectors who work all night. Many people left their 'do not disturb' door signs on and fellow guests were extremely respectful and we were never woken by other guests.
The breakfast was great and please always ask for coffee to be made for you by the person behind the breakfast bar at the large coffee machine - if you ask for coffee they
will send you to the small tourist coffee machine. Ask for a particular coffee and you will get the best coffee in the world. Ask for an 'espresso' - a small shot of strong coffee or a 'cappucino' for those of you who want a more ordinary coffee - don't just ask for coffee. The hotel is in a good location right nexgt to the historic Harry's Bar where the bellini cocktail was invented and the Cafe de Paris, where Hollywoods finest once dined - see the great photos outside.
Rome is very walkable for the fit as long as you get some sturdy walking shoes as there are cobbles, but yes, Italians park where the hell they like which means crossings are blocked and you have to be on your guard all the time. Moving a suitcase about can also be grim, pavements are tatty, there are few dropped kerbs, but if you are mean like me, I walked to the railway station to return to the airport as the taxi fare was €25 for a five minute trip from the railway station to the hotel.
The hotel restaurant is very Italian and very nice. It is on the sixth floor and there are two lifts servicing the hotel, not one.
One is larger, but both have the grey carpet lining them, which is probably for sound proofing. We could not understand other travellers obsession with the lift decor.It is a lift. The lift is slow, but we are in Italy, not the Best Western in Vegas. Everything in Italy is slow apart from the drivers.
We ate in the hotel on the first night and two courses each,one bottle of wine, an espresso and a water came to €110. This is average in Rome for a 'proper' restaurant. The food and service were fantastic and you can buy cigars (including Monte Christo) from the restuarant. We also ate in the hotel on two other ocassions on a deal with our tour operator which was excellent value. The hotel restaurant also has a roof terrace with amazing views over the city. Enjoy an Amaretto on the roof after dinner or take some photos in the day.
Rome is expensive and honeymoon couples should always go five-star in Rome as four -star may not live up to expectations.
Here are some prices in the city to demonstrate the costs, a can of coke is €2.50, a small bottle of water can cost €2.50, a bottle of beer in an ordinary cafe €5, a panini €3.50 from shops.
We sat down in a low budget cafe in a park and paid €23 for one can of coke, two cappucinos, a plate of chips and a small panini.
In London this would cost you about €10.
In a mid range restuarant in the city a meal will cost the following: starter €18/20, main course €20/30, bottle of red wine €20 minimum, bottle of beer €5, €3.50 espresso.
There are tourist menus in some cafes which are ok, and offer a pizza or pasta plate, a salad and perhaps a beer for a total of €15/20. These menus are advertised on boards outside cafes with the waiters trying to get you in. They are a good deal but not top end dining. Try around the Trevi Fountain or the Spanish steps.
Try small shops used by Italians to buy water at 60 cents and carry it with you. The hop on hop off tourist buses will sell you a 24-hour ticket for €19, the train to and from the airport is €11 each way.
The hotel is happy to hold your luggage on your last day and you could walk to the nearby Santa Maria Della Immacolata Concezione Del Cappuccini Church on the Via Veneto just off Piazza Barberini. It does not look much on the outisde, but go up the steps and look for the door which says crematoria....you will see 4,000 bones decorating rooms. There is a skeleton of a small child on the roof arranged as the grim repaer. It's odd but you can't help but be amazed. We also walked the extremely long trek to the Catacombs of Priscilla. The guide was extremely helpful, a young German lady studying for her PHD in the history or art in Rome with perfect English who also knows much about Rome itself.
Another tip, if you visit the Colosseum, miss the long ticket queue by jumping to the audioguide queue which has few people in it. You can buy your €12 Euro ticket entrance to the Colosseum in this queue by renting a €4 audio guide. You will need to leave ID behind to rent the audio guide. Take your passport or driving licence along. The audio guide is ok and at least you miss the 45 minute queue for ordinary tickets. The Colosseum ticket also gets you into the Roman Forum nearby so hold onto it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pressgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, 11 January 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It is fantastic to read that you had a wonderful stay at the Hotel and found the staff to be courteous and helpful. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, which serves as a great motivator to my team. It shows them that their passion and efforts to provide exceptional service are appreciated by those who receive it.

Warmest regards

Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    505
    198
    52
    32
See reviews for
236
571
33
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
malvern uk
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

Having read some reviews on this site, I became sceptical about staying at the Hotel Savoy, Rome.
I can only wish that more expensive Hotels in the world would adopt their standards.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianhatesidiots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, 11 January 2015
Dear Guest

It is a great pleasure to hear that you had a first class stay with us! We are really pleased to know that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay and would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here on TripAdvisor! this is the best present a Guest can bring us.

All the staff at the reception has been informed about your comments and we all look forward welcoming you in the near future!

Warmest regards


Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

It was my first time in Rome .I loved everything about this city .Beautiful architecture,museums,food .A little pricey.But all worth it. Savoy Hotel is beautiful .Rooms a little small.Hotel is really clean .Service is great. Loved the location and will visit again
Great place for shopping.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badcats033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, 11 January 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It is fantastic to read that you had a wonderful stay at the Hotel and found the staff to be courteous and helpful. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, which serves as a great motivator to my team. It shows them that their passion and efforts to provide exceptional service are appreciated by those who receive it.

Warmest regards

Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

The hotel was gorgeous, Staff were extremely friendly and location was good enough - it was VERY expensive, not just the hotel but Rome itself - an average meal was costing 30 euros for a main course!! We got the Hoppa bus the 1st day which picked up opposite our hotel and took us to all main points in Rome - would definately go again

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xx_prada_princess_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, 11 January 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It is fantastic to read that you had a wonderful stay at the Hotel and found the staff to be courteous and helpful. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, which serves as a great motivator to my team. It shows them that their passion and efforts to provide exceptional service are appreciated by those who receive it.

Warmest regards

Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

This was the last leg of our honeymoon and we spend 3 nights in Rome. Keep in mind...I'm not a 'high' class person, I grew up in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada...so just to give you an idea..it is a very 'working' class city.

The hotel on the outside is very nice and the lobby as well. The rooms however are quite ugly and tacky. The elevator is weird, very narrow but quite long and it literally has grey carpeting all around it...you feel as though you might be in a mental ward and they needed to padd the walls.

When we got to our room...I was immediately disappointed...it was very small...the bed was quite low to the floor and the bedding was really tacky..it was a putried yellow/grean colour with embroidered flowers in various shades of pink, yellow and blue...with leaves as well, and the curtains on the window matched! My husband and I looked at each other when the doorman closed the door and I was like...we need an upgrade.

My husband called the lobby, very nicely asked for a free upgrade, and we got it. I think our new room was No. 503, it was better, bigger, and the design was more like a 1970s black and camel coloured combination. It was slightly better, so we decided to just roll with it, considering it was a free upgrade.

The breakfast downstairs was very nice and lots of options and the dining area is nice as well.

All in all, for the price that this hotel demands, I would not stay here again. This hotel is in a very ritzy area of Rome and I would prefer to stay at a hotel that is more in the bustle of the city. The location of this hotel is fine...with the subway station about a good 8-12 minute walk. If this hotel was cheaper I would stay here again...because you're never in your room in Rome, you're always out and about...but for the price, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scrumptious29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

The hotel is extremely convenient to all tourist sites, great restaurants and shopping. It is also very close to the Villa Bourghese for jogging. The outside and lobby appearrance is very nice, but the rooms were a huge dissapointment. We stayed in room 505. The room was OK clean, but the furniture, bedding, etc were very outdated and tired. The bathroom was very small, outdated, and nasty odors - including cigarette smoke - came through the ventilation system.
The elevators had gray carpet on the walls, floor and ceiling. Very ugly.
The breakfast room staff was very nice and the food was ample with lots of variety.
This hotel needs a major renovation before it can be a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJHNorthernVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

Looks very impessive with a grand frontage and palm trees. but no active doorman.
On a package deal for £522 for two for three nights inc flights from Gatwick so this price is reflected in my review. Given room 310 , small with old furniture, decent bathroom though but with tea towel like hand/face towels, bath towels not luxurious either. TV contained in wardrobe with safe in mini-bar!
Room overlooked bins in side street, opposite building was being renovated with workmen on scaffolding so had to keep curtains closed, but there wasn't any view anyway. New double glazed windows and shutters were very efficient in keeping out noise and light but as the air conditioning had a mind of its own we needed the window open at night ,only to be interrupted at 07.45 by the bin lorry and at 01.30 on another night by a rich kid blatting his Ferrari down the side streets for a few circuits.
Breakfast served in a gloomy basement manned by surly staff more interested in checking your name off on list rather than clearing tables or providing service. God forbid that anyone would get away with not paying for 2 Euros worth of food!
Watery fruit juices and staff play a good game of trying to avoid serving you proper coffee from behind the counter and refer you to the machine in order for them not to do any work.
Breakfast finishes at 10.00 but after bacon ran out at 09.25 they were reluctant to replenish. A rather miserable guy with a moustache grudgingly complied with some fatty new bacon at 09.50.
Nice roof terrace with a view and a restaurant without a view! We were offered a discount offer of 15% off food but with set meals at 50 or 60 Euros per head we did better elsewhere.
Very few public rooms at the hotel which has a mixture of diplomats, air crew, business and leisure travellers. Yet again the pictures in the brochure of the rooms bear no relation to the room you are actually given.
A few general observation on Rome. The traffic! It is such a shame that every walk down a tiny side street with no pavement is interrupted several times by cars and motorbikes hell bent in getting to work or home a few mnutes earlier. It really is a joke and unless action is taken the whole city will become one big memorial to the car/motorbike and tourists will stay away. There really are no pedestrianised areas.
Dont be afraid to use the metro/trams. We had a great afternoon by going to Frascati (to get away from the cars). Catch the train from Termini and for 1.90 Euros each you end up in a lovely hill town in half an hour. Buy a set picnic lunch for 5.90 each from the main square consisting of bread, pork, salami, cheese, proscuuiti and olives and with bottle of the Frascati for 6 Euros dine in a local park. Dont forget to validate ticket before getting on the train or risk a 100 Euro fine.
Colliseum - audio guide for 4 Euros rubbish and a waste of money with confusing site numbers and with dry narrative. Roman Forum impressive but no signs or diagrams as they are trying to extract more money from you.
Go to the Borghese Park near the hotel at the top of the Via Venoto and hire a bike for 4 Euros for an hour and enjoy the lovely gardens. Cafes in the park only open at the weekends in November.
The prices - drinks out were very expensive. up to 14 Euros for a large beer and 12 Euros for two cappucinos!
Spanish steps ruined at the moment with a faux Berlin wall to commemorate 20 years fall. Had a decent meal at Il Fiammifero Strano in road to the rear of the hotel. 40 Euros for two inc half litre of house wine.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank araf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#47 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,457 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#292 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Romanico Palace
Hotel Romanico Palace
#302 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
Monti
Rome Times Hotel
Rome Times Hotel
#110 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Property: Hotel Savoy
Address: Via Ludovisi 15, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#195 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#262 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Savoy is a traditional, historical hotel with elegant decors and modern facilities with a superb location, just off legendary Via Veneto in the heart of town, a few minutes walk to the Spanish Steps, the Borghese Gardens and Gallery and the most famous Italian Fashion shopping district, at walking distance to Fontana di Trevi . Each of the 124 guestrooms are classical in style and extremely comfortable, with a/c, hairdryer, safe and free wifi. The hotel has a Bar, a pc corner with printing facilities and a neighborhood with plenty of restaurants theaters and shops. There are 4 meeting rooms to accommodate up to 120 people for conventions meetings banquets exhibits; audiovisual equipment available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing