We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Free WiFi”
Review of Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Savoy
Ranked #156 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2011

For a classy hotel like this I was amazed that there was no complimentary WiFi provided. After all there are WiFi hotspots on street corners elsewhere in Rome. Instead you had to pay through the nose for a Swiss Com outfit to provide it at senveral euros for ten minutes. Rip off!

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fudsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

855 - 861 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2011

Stayed here for two nights on a recent trip to Rome and were very satisfied with our stay. Got a rate of £95/ night on Travel republic to include breakfast. I think it is important to get breakfast included in your deal as the spread each morning, although good, was not worth the 26 euro per person that the hotel would charge to room only guests. The location of the Savoy is excellent, enjoying all the benefits of the Via Veneto without the extortionate price tag of it’s near neighbour The Excelsior. Having stayed in both properties I would definitely favour the Savoy, as both hotels are of equal distance to the nearby Spanish Steps, Villa Borghese etc but the excelsior amenities do not justify the extra price.
. The nearest metro stop is Barberini and is less than 10 minutes’ walk away, linking you to, well not much really. The metro stops are not helpful for tourists looking to access the main sights of Rome, however there is a stop at the Collesseum, but other than that you would probably be better off on foot. The Savoy does not have a pool or gym, but the roof top bar area is an ideal spot for a drink at sunset. The rooms themselves are nothing special, we stayed in a plus room and although a little worn, it was perfectly comfortable and acceptable. One area in which the hotel fell down was on wi fi connection. 8 euro per hour or 18 Euro for 24 hours was a bit of a rip off considering many hotels offer it free, at least in communal areas. In conclusion the location of this hotel is excellent, the staff were always friendly and the rooms were comfortable and warm. The hotel could improve by offering leisure facilities on site and cutting wi fi charges drastically, however it would not put me off staying here again and if I was to get the right B&B rate I would happy to choose the Savoy again

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craigtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2015

Dear Guest 5

Thank you for your review.

It is fantastic to read that you had a wonderful stay at the Hotel and found the staff to be courteous and helpful. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, which serves as a great motivator to my team. It shows them that their passion and efforts to provide exceptional service are appreciated by those who receive it.

Warmest regards

Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

This is not my first time to stay at the Savoy in Rome, but its my first review.
Its situated on the Via Ludovisi off the Via Veneto.
Ideal for walking to the Spanish Steps, Pantheon, Trevi Fountain.
There is also the 116 feeder bus which passes on the Veneto, its great for getting around the city and will take down as far as the Vatican. A small bus, but a neat way to get around.
At the top of the Veneto, there is a underground walk way/access that will take you down to the Spanish steps or the Metro, quick & handy way to get around

The hotel is maintained to a high standard, the breakfast buffet, has a great selection from breads to sweet pastries, to savory, eggs, bacon, fresh fruit etc, plenty of choice.
Our rooms were spacious, clean and had the linens changed on a daily bases.

The only 2 areas I would point out are, the internet access, expensive 35c a minute!!!!
and wifi is not free I think €9 a day again a tad pricey
Other then that the Savoy is a great hotel to stay in. I hope to return next year

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubyfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2015

Dear Guest

It is a great pleasure to hear that you had a first class stay with us! We are really pleased to know that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay and would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here on TripAdvisor! this is the best present a Guest can bring us.

All the staff at the reception has been informed about your comments and we all look forward welcoming you in the near future!

Warmest regards


Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We stayed at the Savoy Hotel on the weekend of the Ireland v Italy rugby match 4th and 5th February 2011. Our room 320 was by far the smallest room we have ever stayed in. The tv was in the wardrobe , if you needed to open the wardrobe door , it slid across in front of the tv. There was 20" between the end of the really hard beds and the wall!! The breakfast was ok. We would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laylaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Hotel was flexible, even though my internet direct booking was for the wrong dates. They had rooms available and was happy to change my bookings, and allowed me to check in early (I arrive in the morning).

Very Friendly and helpful staff.

Location wise, its very convenient, as others have pointed out it is close Metro and also attractions like Trevis fountain and Spanish Steps.

My only complaint was that the bathtub stopper in my room was not maintained well, my bathtub was full of water when I showered.

Other than that, I had a very pleasant stay and would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
Thank lesprincesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2015

Dear Guest 5

Thank you for your review.

It is fantastic to read that you had a wonderful stay at the Hotel and found the staff to be courteous and helpful. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, which serves as a great motivator to my team. It shows them that their passion and efforts to provide exceptional service are appreciated by those who receive it.

Warmest regards

Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Could not fault from booking direct with the hotel , to arrival with welcome drinks,breakfast was everything you could want,drinks on the fabulous roof terrace - dinner in hotel. All excellent .Very friendly and welcoming staff especially Alexandra - also desk arranged a taxi back to the airport for a fee of 50 euros. When they realised it was a special birthday we returned to bubbly for two in the room!! Would highly recommend the hotel and the location could not be better.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wild-weird-witters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It is fantastic to read that you had a wonderful stay at the Hotel and found the staff to be courteous and helpful. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, which serves as a great motivator to my team. It shows them that their passion and efforts to provide exceptional service are appreciated by those who receive it.

Warmest regards

Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We had our wedding reception at the Hotel Savoy, which had the most amazing views over Rome. The meal itself was outstanding, and the wedding cake that was served - was to die for, and that’s mostly down to the credit of Aldo and his staff who effortlessly and flawlessly catered for all our guests needs. After our experience, we have no reservations in recommending this venue to anyone who wishes for an intimate wedding reception, with stunning views, beautiful surroundings, fantastic food, excellent wine, great music and staff who made sure that no one went without at all times and did so in a manner that no one sensed that they were there unless required. Brilliant management Aldo.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank pugh7678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It is fantastic to read that you had a wonderful stay at the Hotel and found the staff to be courteous and helpful. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, which serves as a great motivator to my team. It shows them that their passion and efforts to provide exceptional service are appreciated by those who receive it.

Warmest regards

Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#289 of 1,272 in Rome
969 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#114 of 1,272 in Rome
888 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,272 in Rome
3,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#198 of 1,272 in Rome
487 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#54 of 1,272 in Rome
1,440 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Address: Via Ludovisi 15, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#163 Family Hotel in Rome
#195 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £102 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Savoy is a traditional, historical hotel with elegant decors and modern facilities with a superb location, just off legendary Via Veneto in the heart of town, a few minutes walk to the Spanish Steps, the Borghese Gardens and Gallery and the most famous Italian Fashion shopping district, at walking distance to Fontana di Trevi . Each of the 124 guestrooms are classical in style and extremely comfortable, with a/c, hairdryer, safe and free wifi. The hotel has a Bar, a pc corner with printing facilities and a neighborhood with plenty of restaurants theaters and shops. There are 4 meeting rooms to accommodate up to 120 people for conventions meetings banquets exhibits; audiovisual equipment available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing