We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rome, Italy vs Ireland 2013 the 6 nations.”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #197 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rome, Italy vs Ireland 2013 the 6 nations.”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The hotel was comfortable, small room but very little time spent there. Lots of walking around the sights and taking in the culture. Mid March requires warm clothing, weather for our week end stayed dry until we were leaving on the Monday (Frid/Monday) when it rained very heavily. Highlights not the rugby Ireland lost, Lunch on Saturday on the Piazza del Popolo (Peroni, white wine, and pizza) and two evening meals in fine restaurants near to the Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain. You need to book at week ends. Travel by express train from airport, disappointed that hotel recommended we take taxi back which they booked only 50euro they said, driver got us to airport in break neck speed reading messages on his phone and travelling on all roads 1 car length from car in front. Having a night cap at the hotel was interesting, bar man is a character! Hotel good for a week end break, the breakfast is good, location reasonable for buses and metro.
Two negatives the recommendation of using a taxi to the airport and single beds shoved together as doubles.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    379
    106
    52
    16
See reviews for
205
347
27
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I enjoy staying here this is my 5th visit here and the staff also takes good care of me.after a long trip over from the USA.i was taken to my room right away.where I could relax.the food iim the restaurant was excellent.well I will be back to visit in the near future.

Room Tip: make a reservation in advance it will help you and the hotel to get you settled quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

If the idea of a comfortable bed is 2 single beds shoved nearly together, but not even bound together meaning that for a big lad like me, I was sprawled across a gap and suffered accordingly, then this would have been ideal for you.

The hotel is very elegant. Ornate in places in the Italian way. People look busy and attend to you with that Italian elegance, but when it comes to actually doing anything - a kettle, an iron - hopeless.

It's reasonably priced, but if you look from the outside and foyer, you expect so much more than the actual room and service delivers.

Location is great - 10 minutes from the Spanish steps and a lot of lovely restaurants in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Make every representation that you want a proper double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WatfordPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Our room, Rm. 428, was small but the bed was comfortable. There was a safe in the closet and several English language stations. WiFi was free but access was spotty; try going to the lobby if the WiFi doesn't work in your room. The sound-proofing was good. The room was in need of a touch up because of scuff marks on the wall from luggage. The breakfast buffet was good.

The bathroom, which has white tile, was very, very bright. Otherwise, the bathroom was problematic: there was a moldy smell (which management addressed after it was brought to its attention) that hit us when we walked into the room, there was no clothesline, and the hot/cold water mixture for the shower was difficult to regulate. The bathroom counter was small.

On Via Veneto, there are a lot of restaurants. Adjacent to Harry's Bar, which is on Via Veneto, is a tunnel/shortcut that leads to the Spanish Steps. As you walk through the tunnel to the Spanish Steps, you will find Carrefour, a large Euopean market chain. Around the block from the hotel is a small market next to the police station.

The hotel is within walking distance of the Villa Borghese.

Please check "Yes" if this review is helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SDAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleming Island, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I had booked the Hotel Victoria for an evening stay in Rome the night before we were to fly back to the United States. We booked the hotel a couple of months in advance. When we arrived at the hotel (at around noon), we were told that there was a "mistake" and they wouldn't be able to accomodate us. The front desk clerk was unbelievably rude, and acted as if he couldn't even be bothered explaining the mistake to us. The manager was little better, only saying that they were overbooked and they arbitrarily decided to bump us. The bellman who "helped" us bring our luggage to another hotel literally threw our bags to the ground and walked off. Nasty people. Don't reward them with your patronage!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This hotel is perfectly located for Via Veneto and many great local Trattorias. Its on the edge of the Villa Borghese gardens which I would have gone walking in had the weather been better. The hotel restaurant serves fantastic local Roman style food and is reasonably priced. We had two rooms for single occupancy which were very comfortable, spotlessly clean and had all the amenities that you needed. But most of all, the staff were excellent, in particular the Hotel Director Christos. Everyone here is unbelievably friendly, but then that was how I found most people in Rome. If you visit Rome, the Hotel Victoria is a great place to do it. I have already recommended people to stay who are on their way this week!

Room Tip: Room at the front for views or at the back to avoid street noise. 5th floor superior rooms have a sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonHemmington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The location of this hotel was excellent and staff was friendly and helpful. We arrived quite early and our luggage was held securely for us while we toured the nearby Villa Bourghese. The Via Veneto is just around the corner and attractions like the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Pantheon are an easy walk. The hotel also has a lovely rooftop terrace. I had a single room which was adequate and clean. The bath was a decent size but limited/no counter space. My friend, also in a single room had a much larger room and bath. As we stayed just one night as a jumping off point for our trip, it was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyCrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#99 of 1,257 in Rome
496 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Tribune Hotel
The Tribune Hotel
#100 of 1,257 in Rome
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#165 of 1,257 in Rome
1,299 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Empire Palace Hotel
Empire Palace Hotel
#261 of 1,257 in Rome
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: Via Campania 41, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#206 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#224 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class**** boutique Hotel Victoria, built in 1899, is located in the historical center of Rome, off Via Veneto in a quiet area and across the street from the Park of the Villa Borghese.Our 4 stars hotel features a large collection aspects and views of Rome from the 18th and 19th centuries. These paintings, together with the largest open air roof garden in Rome full of rare botanical plants, are the genius loci of a Mediterranean awareness.This Swiss owned and run boutique Rome Hotel is an understatement to traditional Italian charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Rome
Hotel Rome Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing