We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay in Rome!”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #227 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Very good hotel, central location, easy access to almost most central locations of Rome. Very big room and bathroom-the latter lacked good cosmetic products, but not really a big problem. Staff excellent, reception excellent. Prices very good compared with other overpriced hotels because of the Holly Week..Loved Rome!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 920 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

Very good hotel at the top of the Via Veneto and just around the corner from Rome's most expensive hotels. Good sized rooms, all bathrooms seem that have a recent makeover and very friendly and helpful staff. Great for a short break in Rome and in a very nice part of the city. Didn't book breakfast.

The location of the hotel is obscured by an advertisement on the tourist map and unless you look carefully you could end up waling around in circles trying to find it. Max 15 minutes walk downhill to the Spanish Steps or ten minutes to the metro. It's a climb back up and you might get a taxi back up for about €10.

Wifi only in public areas of hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keenerDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The hotel was comfortable, small room but very little time spent there. Lots of walking around the sights and taking in the culture. Mid March requires warm clothing, weather for our week end stayed dry until we were leaving on the Monday (Frid/Monday) when it rained very heavily. Highlights not the rugby Ireland lost, Lunch on Saturday on the Piazza del Popolo (Peroni, white wine, and pizza) and two evening meals in fine restaurants near to the Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain. You need to book at week ends. Travel by express train from airport, disappointed that hotel recommended we take taxi back which they booked only 50euro they said, driver got us to airport in break neck speed reading messages on his phone and travelling on all roads 1 car length from car in front. Having a night cap at the hotel was interesting, bar man is a character! Hotel good for a week end break, the breakfast is good, location reasonable for buses and metro.
Two negatives the recommendation of using a taxi to the airport and single beds shoved together as doubles.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I enjoy staying here this is my 5th visit here and the staff also takes good care of me.after a long trip over from the USA.i was taken to my room right away.where I could relax.the food iim the restaurant was excellent.well I will be back to visit in the near future.

Room Tip: make a reservation in advance it will help you and the hotel to get you settled quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

If the idea of a comfortable bed is 2 single beds shoved nearly together, but not even bound together meaning that for a big lad like me, I was sprawled across a gap and suffered accordingly, then this would have been ideal for you.

The hotel is very elegant. Ornate in places in the Italian way. People look busy and attend to you with that Italian elegance, but when it comes to actually doing anything - a kettle, an iron - hopeless.

It's reasonably priced, but if you look from the outside and foyer, you expect so much more than the actual room and service delivers.

Location is great - 10 minutes from the Spanish steps and a lot of lovely restaurants in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Make every representation that you want a proper double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WatfordPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Our room, Rm. 428, was small but the bed was comfortable. There was a safe in the closet and several English language stations. WiFi was free but access was spotty; try going to the lobby if the WiFi doesn't work in your room. The sound-proofing was good. The room was in need of a touch up because of scuff marks on the wall from luggage. The breakfast buffet was good.

The bathroom, which has white tile, was very, very bright. Otherwise, the bathroom was problematic: there was a moldy smell (which management addressed after it was brought to its attention) that hit us when we walked into the room, there was no clothesline, and the hot/cold water mixture for the shower was difficult to regulate. The bathroom counter was small.

On Via Veneto, there are a lot of restaurants. Adjacent to Harry's Bar, which is on Via Veneto, is a tunnel/shortcut that leads to the Spanish Steps. As you walk through the tunnel to the Spanish Steps, you will find Carrefour, a large Euopean market chain. Around the block from the hotel is a small market next to the police station.

The hotel is within walking distance of the Villa Borghese.

Please check "Yes" if this review is helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SDAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I had booked the Hotel Victoria for an evening stay in Rome the night before we were to fly back to the United States. We booked the hotel a couple of months in advance. When we arrived at the hotel (at around noon), we were told that there was a "mistake" and they wouldn't be able to accomodate us. The front desk clerk was unbelievably rude, and acted as if he couldn't even be bothered explaining the mistake to us. The manager was little better, only saying that they were overbooked and they arbitrarily decided to bump us. The bellman who "helped" us bring our luggage to another hotel literally threw our bags to the ground and walked off. Nasty people. Don't reward them with your patronage!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#84 of 1,271 in Rome
530 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,271 in Rome
2,810 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Romanico Palace
Hotel Romanico Palace
#277 of 1,271 in Rome
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Imperiale
Hotel Imperiale
#231 of 1,271 in Rome
1,013 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Marcella Royal Hotel
Marcella Royal Hotel
#91 of 1,271 in Rome
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: Via Campania 41, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#129 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#206 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#224 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £68 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class**** boutique Hotel Victoria, built in 1899, is located in the historical center of Rome, off Via Veneto in a quiet area and across the street from the Park of the Villa Borghese.Our 4 stars hotel features a large collection aspects and views of Rome from the 18th and 19th centuries. These paintings, together with the largest open air roof garden in Rome full of rare botanical plants, are the genius loci of a Mediterranean awareness.This Swiss owned and run boutique Rome Hotel is an understatement to traditional Italian charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Rome
Hotel Rome Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing