We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can get better room comfort to Hilton Claridge for less money!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #208 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
208 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
“You can get better room comfort to Hilton Claridge for less money!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

I came to this hotel having high expectations but they vanished once I have entered the hotel room: very small room, small TV, wifi working 20 seconds every 15 minutes (very terrible wifi) and there was no cabin in the shower room. Moreover the safe was very "unsafe" and it was not screwed properly. The company I work for paid 50% more than for Hilton Claridge where I stayed last time when I visited Rome and I hope for the future that I will come back to Hilton Claridge which has a better room (refurbished in 2012) and a much more pleasant atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikiduta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    367
    100
    50
    16
See reviews for
190
336
27
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed for 2 nights after being transferred from another hotel which had overbooked my wife and I. Were pleasantly surprised at very good quiet location opposite part of the original Roman Wall, very friendly helpful staff. Wonderful rooftop garden, bar and restaurant open during the summer months and very clean throughout. Rooms average size but everything works. Included breakfast was very good with efficient staff attendance to refill coffee or tea.
Located across the road from the Borghese palace and its lovely grounds, short walk from the Spanish Steps and plenty of restaurants and shops around the corner.
Would definitely stay there again but if you are looking for something closer to the Colosseum or the Vatican you may need a taxi or find somewhere closer.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janpet47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We picked this hotel from a list provided by a travel agent, and am very glad we chose to stay there this time, and I will probably stay there next time I go to Rome. Between the included breakfast buffet, WiFi, and friendly staff, it was great experience. They made sure we were comfortable and had all of our needs met during our 2-night stay. And, they had great recommendations for restaurants and gelato shops. Be sure to check out the rooftop restaurant while you're there! The room was spacious for two people, and had a great bathroom and shower; most importantly, it was quiet at night. The only issue we had was they didn't have power adapters for US appliances, but that's something we could have brought ourselves.

At first, I wasn't thrilled with the location because it's on the north side of town and it was easier to get to some major sites, like the Vatican and Coliseum/Forum, by taxi instead of by foot. However, the cab rides weren't too long or expensive, and it was fun meandering back by way of other tourist stops (such as the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain) while exploring the city. More importantly, if the location was in the center of the city, noise could have been a problem at night.

Finally, they helped arrange a taxi for us to the airport. We had a 9:45am flight back to the USA, and we didn't think about planning transfers before leaving home. Our travel agent had told us a cab ride could be a couple hundred Euro, so we were thinking about taking the train instead for financial reasons. Thankfully the hotel had a flat-rate 50 Euro (not including tip) transfer option that we took advantage of. The staff arranged the taxi beforehand and the cabbie was on time, and got us to the airport earlier than anticipated.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Have stayed at this hotel twice now. You cannot beat the location. You are close to the gardens, the Via Veneto, Spanish Steps and other wonderful spots. The rooms are nicely appointed, bathrooms are great. It has an air of classic Rome about it. Try and get breakfast included in your room price if you can. It saves you from having starving children! Great roof garden terrace. A fantastic place to enjoy a glass of champagne and soak up the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Pisciana Gate. The triple rooms are great too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ottawa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Located near the Borghese Gardens, it was too far away to comfortably walk to the main sights of the Forum and Colossium. We would have preferred staying closer to the river and Vatican. Rooms were very clean but on the small side, and very hot since they don't turn on the air conditioning in April. The restaurant was good and reasonably priced, the bar small and expensive. The staff were very nice, friendly, and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Herm0sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

I cant speak for anyone else's experience, but we really liked this hotel. Our room on the fourth floor was large and very comfortable. The location is near enough to the crowded sights for those of us who are reasonably ambulatory, but not so close as to be noisy The breakfast (included) was well above the usual free norm and the staff could not have done more to be helpful. Perhaps not all the rooms are this nice, but we'd certainly recommend it - and go back.

A little piece of advice tho that is nothing to do with the hotel but may affect less experienced travellers anywhere - beware anyone in a car stopping and asking if you speak English and asking for travel directions. If they claim to be fashion salesman, they will try to form a relationship with you. It's probably a con to get you to part with money - google "lost fashion salesman scam". Although we did not get caught, this scam is alive and well and living in Rome and we saw it happen in the general area of the hotel. If approached, just walk away and ignore them,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenockLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four days. It's located just about a 0.5mile from the main attractions. We pretty much walked all over the place. The metro is nearby as well. The hotel is well kept and clean. The room was ok with two twin beds making a queen. The bathroom even had a bidet and a towel warmer. We ordered room service one night and the food was ok, nothing special. I liked how its also located in a quiet area. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelHolland6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#132 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#169 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Empire Palace Hotel
Empire Palace Hotel
#235 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Eliseo Hotel
Eliseo Hotel
#616 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: Via Campania 41, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#117 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#206 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#223 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class**** boutique Hotel Victoria, built in 1899, is located in the historical center of Rome, off Via Veneto in a quiet area and across the street from the Park of the Villa Borghese.Our 4 stars hotel features a large collection aspects and views of Rome from the 18th and 19th centuries. These paintings, together with the largest open air roof garden in Rome full of rare botanical plants, are the genius loci of a Mediterranean awareness.This Swiss owned and run boutique Rome Hotel is an understatement to traditional Italian charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Rome
Hotel Rome Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing