We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three days in Rome”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #223 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The Hotel Victoria is a fantastic facility and in a superb location. First time international travelers will be amazed by the elegance and historical significance of the hotel and the city. Friendly and helpful staff allows one to practice their Italian on a staff that speaks enough English to know what you really meant.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 937 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

Hotels in Rome are very expensive so after much researched regarding price and value I choose the Victoria Roma and was not disappointed. I can now see why most trip advisor reviews I read prior to my trip were in the positive vs negative. The staff was friendly and helpful to us. The included full breakfast was good for Euopean standards. The bed was very comfortable. We witnessed many tour bus companies using the hotel for their overnight stays.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taffty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I came to this hotel having high expectations but they vanished once I have entered the hotel room: very small room, small TV, wifi working 20 seconds every 15 minutes (very terrible wifi) and there was no cabin in the shower room. Moreover the safe was very "unsafe" and it was not screwed properly. The company I work for paid 50% more than for Hilton Claridge where I stayed last time when I visited Rome and I hope for the future that I will come back to Hilton Claridge which has a better room (refurbished in 2012) and a much more pleasant atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mikiduta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed for 2 nights after being transferred from another hotel which had overbooked my wife and I. Were pleasantly surprised at very good quiet location opposite part of the original Roman Wall, very friendly helpful staff. Wonderful rooftop garden, bar and restaurant open during the summer months and very clean throughout. Rooms average size but everything works. Included breakfast was very good with efficient staff attendance to refill coffee or tea.
Located across the road from the Borghese palace and its lovely grounds, short walk from the Spanish Steps and plenty of restaurants and shops around the corner.
Would definitely stay there again but if you are looking for something closer to the Colosseum or the Vatican you may need a taxi or find somewhere closer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janpet47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We picked this hotel from a list provided by a travel agent, and am very glad we chose to stay there this time, and I will probably stay there next time I go to Rome. Between the included breakfast buffet, WiFi, and friendly staff, it was great experience. They made sure we were comfortable and had all of our needs met during our 2-night stay. And, they had great recommendations for restaurants and gelato shops. Be sure to check out the rooftop restaurant while you're there! The room was spacious for two people, and had a great bathroom and shower; most importantly, it was quiet at night. The only issue we had was they didn't have power adapters for US appliances, but that's something we could have brought ourselves.

At first, I wasn't thrilled with the location because it's on the north side of town and it was easier to get to some major sites, like the Vatican and Coliseum/Forum, by taxi instead of by foot. However, the cab rides weren't too long or expensive, and it was fun meandering back by way of other tourist stops (such as the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain) while exploring the city. More importantly, if the location was in the center of the city, noise could have been a problem at night.

Finally, they helped arrange a taxi for us to the airport. We had a 9:45am flight back to the USA, and we didn't think about planning transfers before leaving home. Our travel agent had told us a cab ride could be a couple hundred Euro, so we were thinking about taking the train instead for financial reasons. Thankfully the hotel had a flat-rate 50 Euro (not including tip) transfer option that we took advantage of. The staff arranged the taxi beforehand and the cabbie was on time, and got us to the airport earlier than anticipated.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Have stayed at this hotel twice now. You cannot beat the location. You are close to the gardens, the Via Veneto, Spanish Steps and other wonderful spots. The rooms are nicely appointed, bathrooms are great. It has an air of classic Rome about it. Try and get breakfast included in your room price if you can. It saves you from having starving children! Great roof garden terrace. A fantastic place to enjoy a glass of champagne and soak up the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Pisciana Gate. The triple rooms are great too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ottawa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Located near the Borghese Gardens, it was too far away to comfortably walk to the main sights of the Forum and Colossium. We would have preferred staying closer to the river and Vatican. Rooms were very clean but on the small side, and very hot since they don't turn on the air conditioning in April. The restaurant was good and reasonably priced, the bar small and expensive. The staff were very nice, friendly, and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herm0sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,272 in Rome
2,883 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#90 of 1,272 in Rome
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Tribune Hotel
The Tribune Hotel
#47 of 1,272 in Rome
336 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#154 of 1,272 in Rome
1,294 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Marcella Royal Hotel
Marcella Royal Hotel
#91 of 1,272 in Rome
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: Via Campania 41, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#132 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#146 Family Hotel in Rome
#206 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £68 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class**** boutique Hotel Victoria, built in 1899, is located in the historical center of Rome, off Via Veneto in a quiet area and across the street from the Park of the Villa Borghese.Our 4 stars hotel features a large collection aspects and views of Rome from the 18th and 19th centuries. These paintings, together with the largest open air roof garden in Rome full of rare botanical plants, are the genius loci of a Mediterranean awareness.This Swiss owned and run boutique Rome Hotel is an understatement to traditional Italian charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Rome
Hotel Rome Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing