We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY HERE, PLEASE!!”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #200 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
NORTHERN, NEW JERSEY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“STAY HERE, PLEASE!!”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

What an excellent hotel. Courteous staff, clean hotel, especially the bathrooms. Great Americal style breakfast. Scrambled Eggs, Bacon, croissants- regular, chocolate and lemon, deli meats, fruits, breads, orange juice, coffee, etc. NO potatoes, sausage or ham. But plentiful and sufficient for a breakfast. The only other thing that I felt was on the negative side was no ice buckets or ice machines. That apparently is not a European thing. You can either call room service for ice, in which case they will charge you 5 Euro. Or you can take a plastic bag up to the rooftop bar and request some there, which I did. Nicola was particularly helpful at the front desk. Great guy. I called him Pope Nicola. He recommended the Ristorante Piccolo Mundo and La Caesarina, both only walking blocks away and excellent. Overall the hotel was comfortable and cozy. Quiet for the most part. The restaurant on the roof was great, both food and service. Just one warning; alcohol is extremely
expensive. I ordered 2 Grey Goose vodka's with tonic water. They brought me 2 small bottles of tonic water and 2 glasses 1/4 filled with the vodka with ice and they charged me 32 Euros. 16 Euro per drink? That's like $22 American dollars per drink. I asked, and Absolute would have been 12 Euros per drink. A bottle of Heineken was 7 Euros (about $9). The next day, we went to the local supermarket and they were selling 700ml bottles of Absolute for 10 Euro's. Moral: buy your liquor, keep it in your room and drink it there before you go out. I hope this review helps you make an accurate decision for a place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EXELDENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    377
    105
    51
    16
See reviews for
198
345
27
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Location was excellent. We could walk to most attractions we wanted to visit. Short walk to tourist (hop on, hop off) bus where we could visit the other attractions. Service in the hotel was excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean with TV and fridge, but no iron. Supermarket and laundry close by. Breakfast was very good. (The scrambled eggs were excellent). Check out their rooftop bar for a late night drink. Watch out for the thieves who operate restaurants nearby. A charge for bread (which is brought to the table even if you don't ask for it) and a service charge of 15% are common. Close to railway station if you are traveling by train. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: No double mattress in our room. The hotel is in a quiet location so traffic noise is not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Arrived today after driving from giuilanova which was a 2-3 hour drive. Staff helpful and although we arrived at 12 they were still able to give is a room. They took our car to a garage and although it is 30 euro a day it's the only choice as the streets are full of cars!!! They will bring the car back whenever we need it which won't be until we leave!!! The room is large, good air con, all the little luxuries like toiletries, wifi and fridge to put our water in! It is about 10 min walk to the end of via Veneto where we got on hop off bus. However it is 42 degrees and too hot so back at hotel to chill! Rooftop restaurant and bar looks great. After our last stay at parco dei pini in giuilianova this is what we needed!!!! Luxury hotel but not a silly price! Definately recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallardavenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Hotel Victoria was in a nice location within walking distance to the Spanish Steps, Shops and restaurants. We walked down the beautiful tree lined Via Veneto every day and night back to the hotel. We would sit at least once a day at one of the restaurants along the way for a meal, snack or drink - all of them had wi-fi. Some of the restuarants were a bit pricey but many are in Rome.

The rooms were very small, but the showers were big with an overhead sprayer and wall/body jets. The air conditioning worked good which was a relief since we read that many hotels had poor air conditioning. Our room did have a King bed, two singles together - comfortable sleeping.

My only complaint would be the check-in. Our flight arrived into Rome around 9am so we got to the hotel before Noon. We knew the checkin was after lunch but hoped we could get in early, We were all so tired and just wanted to lay down. They told us our room would be ready at 1pm. We decided to take a walk and have lunch, when we returned the rooms were still not ready. They told us to sit in the back lobby where it was cooler. I think we all fell asleep waiting for our rooms, I was awoken by chatter from others checking in. When I went to the desk and asked about ours, they said people were just not checking out - glancing at the others with their keys I think they realized they may have forgotten about us. It wasnt long after that they came to get us for our rooms.

Overall, I think it was a very good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We were only there less than 24 hours, and the place was perfect for our family. We've been in Rome before, and haven't been happy with our accomodations. This place is walking distance to many places.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jae806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour, so we really didn't have much choice of where to stay, but it was great. On a small quiet street very near the Villa Borghese. We were able to walk to Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, but took cabs to farther churches and sites we wanted to see (cab stand a block away).

The rooms had a lot of vintage character, from the furniture to the pictures on the walls. Safe in room closet. If you can request Room 524 it seemed to be bigger than others on our floor. We had windows on 2 walls and looking out I could see that our room jutted out and was about 6-8 feet longer than others on our floor. Bathroom was large with a tub/shower combination and of course a bidet (good to throw bag of toiletries in!). Nice for a European bath! But sink was just pedestal so there really wasn't much room to put toiletries (except bidet).

Breakfast was adequate but the same every day. Fresh fruit (yeah!), scrambled eggs, bacon (barely passed over a warm skillet), rolls, bread, pastries, dry cereal, deli meats, and sliced cheese.

Very close to restaurants. We ate at Pomodorino one evening, and it was very good. Up a block to the right when you walk out of the hotel.

They said the hotel had WiFi, but we could not get it in our room.

Room Tip: Like I said room 524 was large for a European hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lv2travel893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Far from crowded downtown, but close to many sites, Hotel Victoria is a gem! The staff was wonderful, the amenities very nice. Close to a Metro stop. Highly recommended. The concierge Nickolai steered us to numerous locations. Personal attention was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#120 of 1,256 in Rome
487 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Tribune Hotel
The Tribune Hotel
#100 of 1,256 in Rome
198 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#172 of 1,256 in Rome
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Empire Palace Hotel
Empire Palace Hotel
#246 of 1,256 in Rome
1,027 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: Via Campania 41, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#117 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#206 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#224 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class**** boutique Hotel Victoria, built in 1899, is located in the historical center of Rome, off Via Veneto in a quiet area and across the street from the Park of the Villa Borghese.Our 4 stars hotel features a large collection aspects and views of Rome from the 18th and 19th centuries. These paintings, together with the largest open air roof garden in Rome full of rare botanical plants, are the genius loci of a Mediterranean awareness.This Swiss owned and run boutique Rome Hotel is an understatement to traditional Italian charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Rome
Hotel Rome Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing