We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beatiful hotel - if a little out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Ranked #62 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Beautiful hotel in a quiet location.

High quality decor (very fresh), great bathroom, comfy beds, pleasant staff, great Buffet breakfast.

The hotel is a little out of the way - north of the Villa Borghese park. The inconvenience is compensated for by the regular shuttle bus service to the Spanish Steps (every 30 mins) - otherwise it's an expensive taxi ride.

Try and get a room at the back of the hotel (we did), as I suspect that rooms at the front might be more aware of the rumble from the passing trams.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontyWsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2011

Spacious juniour suite with bang&olfusen TV; separate bedroom and living room. Superb cosmetics: Molton Brown. Transfer to spanish steps included (every 30 minutes, journey about 10 minutes). Walking distance from beautiful park. Excellent staff. Breakfast disappointing: no vegatables, fresh fruit salad and no replenishment of other courses. The worse scrambled eggs i've ever eaten. Anyway it was a pleasent stay and hope to be back in Rome :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Podroznikwaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Absolutely pleasant stay! Walking across the park about 10 minutes is even better then staying in the very centre! The rooms are very cleen and stylish! More then that inside you'll find Bang@Olufsen TV system, wall-size mirrow, mirrow with TV(!) in the bathroom. Service is at it's best. Can definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BorshMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Stayed here for business, had a wonderful spacious and comfortable room overlooking an elegant residential neighbourhood with embassies. free shuttle bus to Spanish steps every 30 minutes, it takes 5 minutes to get there. Great for joggers, the parc is just across the street. Large fitness center for rainy days. I loved the breakfast buffet with lots of fruit and different joghurts and home made pastries. Bed very comfy and Molton Brown amenities in the bathroom with maxi shower stall.
Front desk staff very helpful and efficient, not so stuffy as in some of the old palaces in the centre.
Will be back
Rolf MB, Paris

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RudyMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

The Aldrovandi is is beautiful luxury hotel in Rome. However my husband and I found the location somewhat out of the way. The walk through the Villa Borghese gardens were lovely in the mornings but the climb up the hill, through the gardens and up the hill to the hotel could get quite tiresome after a long day of sightseeing. However, the pool and garden areas were a wonderful retreat from the hustle and bustle of this magnificent city.

I can truly say that I fell in love with the City of Rome. As did my husband. We have been fortunate to travel to a number of locations and this is one of a few we would truly love to go back too and spend more time. The history is amazing, the people friendly, the food and the wine, what can one say.

We enjoy walking the environs of cities we visit and the main core of Rome (Spanish Steps, Piazza Navona, Piazza de Popolo, Capitoline Hill, etc) are all delightful walks. Being an ancient city you often turn corners and discover something quite unexpected.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barb048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I had the opportunity to stay for 5 nights there; excellent service, fabulous staff, good location, i realy felt at home, rooms are charming and the food is very tasty, i realy recommend this hotel to everyone visiting italy, for sure i will be staying there during my next visit to italy.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HANI1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

This hotel is located on a busy road. Our first rooms were on the ground floor - we were expecting a view of the gardens - instead we had a view of a road and the wall across the road. We were moved to an upper floor where we did have a view of sorts. The villa description is a little misleading - and the pool is not as attractive as the clever photography would imply. To their credit, the hotel did move us. We would not stay here again or recommend it.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank RodSparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#89 of 1,270 in Rome
1,483 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#53 of 1,270 in Rome
670 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldrovandi Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldrovandi Villa Borghese

Address: Via Ulisse Aldrovandi 15, 00197 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#15 Business Hotel in Rome
#40 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#44 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#54 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £165 - £537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldrovandi Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above the Eternal City in Rome's exclusive, residential Pinciano neighborhood, Aldrovandi Villa Borgheseis a palatial retreat that feels a world apart from the crowded piazzas of the Italian capital, although within walking distance of many highlights of the Eternal City. Overlooking the gorgeous greenery of Rome's Borghese Gardens, Aldrovandi Villa Borghese takes center stage in the Eternal City's poshest neighborhood. A former convent, this grand 19th-century ivory villa is dressed in marble and dripping in chandeliers. With its MYTHA SPA state-of-the-art fitness suite featuring the latest equipment, the one -Michelin-star restaurant Assaje, secluded garden with outdoor pool and palm tree-lined terrace, and a private shuttle to whisk guests straight to the Spanish Steps, this urban retreat offers all the perfect luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aldrovandi Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing