We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superbe hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Ranked #52 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Superbe hotel”
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Warm welcome, were upgraded to superior category of room than reserved.
Great breakfast buffet, kind service.
Tow negative points:
Stay away from the room service pizza which is a frozen disgrace topped with tomato sauce and cheese, a shame in Rome!
Internet connexion is free for the first 24 hours... For this type of hotel...?

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xofi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    239
    104
    48
    23
See reviews for
238
690
50
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

This is the third time that my husband and I have stayed at the Aldrovandi Palace. The previous two times we have loved it and have looked forward to returning but this time it was a little disappointing.

We'd paid to upgrade to a garden view room but strangely the room wasn't as nice as the rooms we'd had before. Our last room had a mirrored wall which made the room seem really spacious and we'd had a separate closet area. This time we didn't have either of those, which was a shame considering it was more expensive.

There was a weird damp carpet smell in the corridor that our room was on. We thought on the first day that this was due to it just having been cleaned, but the smell remained throughout our stay and really wasn't very pleasant.

The bathroom was absolutely huge, which was nice, and the staff are very friendly. The free shuttle bus to the Spanish Steps is also very good and easy to use. The pool at the hotel is also lovely, particularly when you return from a day of sight-seeing, although there is a lot of shade around the pool from the tall trees surrounding it, so if you're looking for an opportunity to sun-bathe it can be quite difficult.

The thing that really put us off the hotel this time though was the exorbitant price of the food and the extras. It really felt as though they were trying to screw every last penny out of you, which we really resented. A 75cl bottle of water by the pool cost €10.00 whilst a 25cl bottle of Diet Coke was €9.00. The cheapest lunch in the Grill Room was €20.00 for salad or pizza and wifi in the room was €17.00 for 24 hours. Given that most hotels offer free wifi these days, to charge €17.00 per day just seemed astronomical.

All in all we won't be rushing back to the Aldrovandi Palace. There are many lovely hotels in Rome and I think next time we'll be trying somewhere else where we feel as if we're getting better value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KOHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Beautiful hotel in a quiet location.

High quality decor (very fresh), great bathroom, comfy beds, pleasant staff, great Buffet breakfast.

The hotel is a little out of the way - north of the Villa Borghese park. The inconvenience is compensated for by the regular shuttle bus service to the Spanish Steps (every 30 mins) - otherwise it's an expensive taxi ride.

Try and get a room at the back of the hotel (we did), as I suspect that rooms at the front might be more aware of the rumble from the passing trams.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontyWsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Spacious juniour suite with bang&olfusen TV; separate bedroom and living room. Superb cosmetics: Molton Brown. Transfer to spanish steps included (every 30 minutes, journey about 10 minutes). Walking distance from beautiful park. Excellent staff. Breakfast disappointing: no vegatables, fresh fruit salad and no replenishment of other courses. The worse scrambled eggs i've ever eaten. Anyway it was a pleasent stay and hope to be back in Rome :)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Podroznikwaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Absolutely pleasant stay! Walking across the park about 10 minutes is even better then staying in the very centre! The rooms are very cleen and stylish! More then that inside you'll find Bang@Olufsen TV system, wall-size mirrow, mirrow with TV(!) in the bathroom. Service is at it's best. Can definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BorshMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Stayed here for business, had a wonderful spacious and comfortable room overlooking an elegant residential neighbourhood with embassies. free shuttle bus to Spanish steps every 30 minutes, it takes 5 minutes to get there. Great for joggers, the parc is just across the street. Large fitness center for rainy days. I loved the breakfast buffet with lots of fruit and different joghurts and home made pastries. Bed very comfy and Molton Brown amenities in the bathroom with maxi shower stall.
Front desk staff very helpful and efficient, not so stuffy as in some of the old palaces in the centre.
Will be back
Rolf MB, Paris

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RudyMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

The Aldrovandi is is beautiful luxury hotel in Rome. However my husband and I found the location somewhat out of the way. The walk through the Villa Borghese gardens were lovely in the mornings but the climb up the hill, through the gardens and up the hill to the hotel could get quite tiresome after a long day of sightseeing. However, the pool and garden areas were a wonderful retreat from the hustle and bustle of this magnificent city.

I can truly say that I fell in love with the City of Rome. As did my husband. We have been fortunate to travel to a number of locations and this is one of a few we would truly love to go back too and spend more time. The history is amazing, the people friendly, the food and the wine, what can one say.

We enjoy walking the environs of cities we visit and the main core of Rome (Spanish Steps, Piazza Navona, Piazza de Popolo, Capitoline Hill, etc) are all delightful walks. Being an ancient city you often turn corners and discover something quite unexpected.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barb048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#89 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Parioli
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldrovandi Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldrovandi Villa Borghese

Property: Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Address: Via Ulisse Aldrovandi 15, 00197 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Rome
#15 Business Hotel in Rome
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#44 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldrovandi Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above the Eternal City in Rome's exclusive, residential Pinciano neighborhood, Aldrovandi Villa Borgheseis a palatial retreat that feels a world apart from the crowded piazzas of the Italian capital, although within walking distance of many highlights of the Eternal City. Overlooking the gorgeous greenery of Rome's Borghese Gardens, Aldrovandi Villa Borghese takes center stage in the Eternal City's poshest neighborhood. A former convent, this grand 19th-century ivory villa is dressed in marble and dripping in chandeliers. With its new SPA by LA MER and state-of-the-art fitness suite featuring the latest equipment, the two-Michelin-star restaurant Oliver Glowig, secluded garden with outdoor pool and palm tree-lined terrace, and a private shuttle to whisk guests straight to the Spanish Steps, this urban retreat offers all the perfect luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aldrovandi Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing