We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, elegant hotel with excellent staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Ranked #43 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful, elegant hotel with excellent staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

A beautiful hotel with a classy lobby entrance. The hotel is away from the main city centre which is nice and its a short taxi ride away when needed.

The staff were excellent, very helpful, friendly and polite. It cetainly made a bug difference to my stay and would be the reason why i would stay here when i visit rome again.

Rooms are lovely, comfy beds and good amenities.

Great place to stay and recommend this to business and leisure travellers.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkv1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    234
    103
    47
    22
See reviews for
237
680
49
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

Well apart from being quite a way out of town (a good 20 minute walk through the park), there were a number of little things that let the place down.

we paid for a superior room ... and the first night, it certainly wasn't what we received (small room with barely enough room to move around the bed). With the trams rolling past all night, you want to make sure you get a room at the back. The last two nights were certainly a different cup of tea in terms of size space and quietness.

But there were also a string of little things that annoy - from an Internet service that takes more trouble than it should to administer (quite slow too). To the lack of service or any sort of response on a Sunday morning by the pool.

The breakfast was excellent, but only having the choice of an eye-watering expensive restaurant (but good), is not really good enough. There really is nothing around this hotel apart from the park opposite (nice) - but at least a 10-15 minute walk to find an espresso, and similarly in the other direction for the only restaurant in the neighbourhood. Otherwise you are into a shuttle to the Spanish Steps every half hour (often booked up).

Overall, the decor was 1970's trying to be old ... just doesn't cut it any more. For the money, I would choose other options.

Room Tip: I would probably stay in town next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erhum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

Aldrovandi Villa Borghese is situated in the Embassy quarter and has the feel of old grandeur. Staff are professional, rooms are comfortable ( maybe not as luxurious as other 5 stars) and the breakfasts were good- the complaints in some reviews are a bit petty as everything required is available and nothing is too much trouble. Unfortunately the Michelin Star Restaurant ( Baby) and the pool were closed when we were there but that probably contributed to the reasonable rate we got. The lobby is understated and calming with subdued lighting, classical jazz and a distinct aroma. Furnishings are classico . The connecting service to the Spanish Steps is useful but don't miss out on the delights of Parc Borghese and you can walk to most of the big sights. We could have got used to this lifestyle and the chilled prosecco got the day off to a bright start.We'll be back.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the back
See more room tips
Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gpdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

I was staying at this hotel to attend a conference for work (the conference was actually held at the hotel) and found it to be a good overall experience. While the hotel doesn't look like much from the outside, on the inside it is elegantly and tastefully appointed.

The staff are friendly and very helpful (one staff member even "loaned" me 5 euro when I arrived because I was a little short on Euro and the taxi driver wouldn't take credit). At no point during my stay was I not able to get what I needed (from water to directions) from the staff.

The hotel restaurant and bar are quite good -- though pricey. Somewhat to be expected in Rome, but still noticeably so (on both counts).

The fitness room was small, but had just enough equipment/weights to get a decent work out.

The rooms: well, my room was on the top floor and was one of two that had a beautiful terrace (which, due to weather, I did not use). The room was large and well appointed. No complaints at all. Free (limited bandwidth and total MB download) internet was provided, with additional bandwidth and MB available for purchase.

The location of the hotel is not great. You're right around the corner from the Borghese Gallery (and gardens/park) and the Rome Zoo (I actually heard the lion roar one night), but other than that, be prepared for a decent walk to get anywhere. Because I was in town on business, this was not an issue.

Overall, if I returned to Rome for personal travel, I would consider this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhodory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

Warm welcome, were upgraded to superior category of room than reserved.
Great breakfast buffet, kind service.
Tow negative points:
Stay away from the room service pizza which is a frozen disgrace topped with tomato sauce and cheese, a shame in Rome!
Internet connexion is free for the first 24 hours... For this type of hotel...?

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xofi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

This is the third time that my husband and I have stayed at the Aldrovandi Palace. The previous two times we have loved it and have looked forward to returning but this time it was a little disappointing.

We'd paid to upgrade to a garden view room but strangely the room wasn't as nice as the rooms we'd had before. Our last room had a mirrored wall which made the room seem really spacious and we'd had a separate closet area. This time we didn't have either of those, which was a shame considering it was more expensive.

There was a weird damp carpet smell in the corridor that our room was on. We thought on the first day that this was due to it just having been cleaned, but the smell remained throughout our stay and really wasn't very pleasant.

The bathroom was absolutely huge, which was nice, and the staff are very friendly. The free shuttle bus to the Spanish Steps is also very good and easy to use. The pool at the hotel is also lovely, particularly when you return from a day of sight-seeing, although there is a lot of shade around the pool from the tall trees surrounding it, so if you're looking for an opportunity to sun-bathe it can be quite difficult.

The thing that really put us off the hotel this time though was the exorbitant price of the food and the extras. It really felt as though they were trying to screw every last penny out of you, which we really resented. A 75cl bottle of water by the pool cost €10.00 whilst a 25cl bottle of Diet Coke was €9.00. The cheapest lunch in the Grill Room was €20.00 for salad or pizza and wifi in the room was €17.00 for 24 hours. Given that most hotels offer free wifi these days, to charge €17.00 per day just seemed astronomical.

All in all we won't be rushing back to the Aldrovandi Palace. There are many lovely hotels in Rome and I think next time we'll be trying somewhere else where we feel as if we're getting better value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KOHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Beautiful hotel in a quiet location.

High quality decor (very fresh), great bathroom, comfy beds, pleasant staff, great Buffet breakfast.

The hotel is a little out of the way - north of the Villa Borghese park. The inconvenience is compensated for by the regular shuttle bus service to the Spanish Steps (every 30 mins) - otherwise it's an expensive taxi ride.

Try and get a room at the back of the hotel (we did), as I suspect that rooms at the front might be more aware of the rumble from the passing trams.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontyWsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#86 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Parioli
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldrovandi Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldrovandi Villa Borghese

Property: Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Address: Via Ulisse Aldrovandi 15, 00197 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Rome
#15 Business Hotel in Rome
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#44 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldrovandi Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above the Eternal City in Rome's exclusive, residential Pinciano neighborhood, Aldrovandi Villa Borgheseis a palatial retreat that feels a world apart from the crowded piazzas of the Italian capital, although within walking distance of many highlights of the Eternal City. Overlooking the gorgeous greenery of Rome's Borghese Gardens, Aldrovandi Villa Borghese takes center stage in the Eternal City's poshest neighborhood. A former convent, this grand 19th-century ivory villa is dressed in marble and dripping in chandeliers. With its new SPA by LA MER and state-of-the-art fitness suite featuring the latest equipment, the two-Michelin-star restaurant Oliver Glowig, secluded garden with outdoor pool and palm tree-lined terrace, and a private shuttle to whisk guests straight to the Spanish Steps, this urban retreat offers all the perfect luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aldrovandi Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing