We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aldrovani - 5 Star for a reason!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Ranked #53 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
NW England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Aldrovani - 5 Star for a reason!”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Just returned from a fabulous 7 night holiday in Rome based at the Aldrovani.

The place itself is superbly situated away from the noise and hub-bub of central Rome and the pool and gardens - which is one of the main reasons we booked the place - are a fantastic retreat and an oasis of calm in what is a pretty mad-cap place.

Given its locale, the shuttle bus is a must and we used it on numerous occasions. A really relaxed, efficient and well-organised service that is very much not in keeping with the rest of Rome!

The staff - and I mean all of them - were just simply superb. Friendly, helpful, genuine but not in your face. Rooms were very pleasant, breakfast was just superb, the poolside service was again just spot-on and the Concierge were excellent.

The only downside was that the cost of the food / drink etc from either around the pool or elsewhere (mini bar) was eye-wateringly expensive.#

As for Rome? Well, what can I say? Well, just accept the inefficiencies, crumbling infrastructue and semi-chaos of the place and you will have a whale of a time in what is truly one of the most vibrant and unique cities in the world.

Yes, you could always try to do something different and shy away from the 'usual' suspects such as the Colosseum, Panthenon, Trevi Fountain, Vatican etc. But you would be serioulsy be missing out on some of the truly great sights of the world, never mind Italy or Europe. I'm not easily impressed, but boy, was I impressed by what I saw!

My tip is to leave it late (2 - 3pm) to visit the main sites as by then a lot of the tour buses have gone and it is far less hectic (although still very busy) and you'll still have 2 - 3 hours to soak up the culture and atmosphere of your chosen 'venue'.

So, if you are contemplating going to Rome then my advice is book it now. And if you are looking for a bolt-hole away from the city-centre where you can relax and have a bit of well deserved R&R, then look no further than the Aldrovani!

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the pool area on Floor 4 or 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTW_CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    239
    104
    48
    23
See reviews for
238
690
50
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Everything was great!! You can feel a new touch of new Director Mr Leonardo Temperini ! On the swimming pool you can get a 2 towels, free bottles of waters , you can make a reservations of swimming pool chairs, you can read a many new books in the swimming pool library , even if You forgot a sun blockers - no problem You can get on swimming pool a new one,s from the Hotel Off course restaurant of Mr Glowing is great!! Concierge !! You coudn't find better !! Mr Mario and all staff - wounderful Great bus shuttle organizations! Everything what You asking for is no problem . Beautiful design, even nice exotic smell on the lobby is heart touching! clean rooms !
Overall GRADE A

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vernet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We read tripadvisor avidly and some of the reviews of this hotel were so negative we decided not to stay here. But then...it was hard to find anywhere that seemed as interesting so we took the plunge. We should never have worried. Whether the negative reviews came from bad days, a long time ago or for some other reason they are nothing like our experience. We arrived late - midnight- and were immediately welcome. The staff have been fantastic and very helpful. the breakfasts are enormous, almost too large, and the rooms fine. We find the shuttle, whilst being marginally inconvenient to use, works well but is more than offset by having a wonderful park to walk or jog in on your doorstep. Up early, enjoy some exercise, relate to nature and an indulgent breakfast seems pretty good to me. Lou does my chosing and she scored a hit with this. Roll on another day here.

Room Tip: Go for garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete7480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights at half term and had a great time. The service was really first class, the breakfasts are great, the rooms were large and our kids had a wonderful time. We were able to see the sights in the morning, grab lunch whilst out and then come back to the hotel in the afternoon to chill out. The transfer bus was a great extra although you have to book it well in advance if you are part of a large group. as family it was great to be away from the hussle of downtown rome and yet close enough not to waste time every day travelling in and out.

The only advice is to check the pricing of all of the extras... we decided to get our kids a bowl of plain pasta with tomato sauce by the pool and were shocked that not only was it £20 but we then received a tiny bowl. Drinks were also astronomical and transfers were at least double the price of a normal taxi.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giddykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We had spent a few days doing lots of sight-seeing around Rome and just needed to relax by the pool during the day and go out for nice meals at night.

The hotel was great and we would like to give a special mention to Lorenzo the pool attendant who made our stay very relaxing. He was always on hand to offer his service when needed and just had a lovely manner about him. Thank you.

Breakfast was lovely and the whole ambience was great. Only slight complaints we would have is that the air conditions takes a good few hours to adjust and the price of a bottle of beer from the minibar is unbelievable and more expensive than being served at the poolside bar (€15 for a 330ml bottle in your room versus €9 or €10 for the equivalent in the bar including crisps/ nuts) - very strange!

Thanks though - all in all a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FaceoftheRace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Excellent service, rooms of great quality and pool which was fantastic (pool tools and water free of charge). Good breakfast with super choice. Staff very attentative, Shuutle bus to the Spanish Steps every half an hour was very handy. Perfect choice for Rome. Would love to return again very soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Great hotel in an upscale residential neighborhood in the heart of Rome. First class service, cuisine and accommodations. There is a limo shuttle that takes you to the center of town every 15 minutes. can be used both ways.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orlando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#90 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Parioli
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldrovandi Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldrovandi Villa Borghese

Property: Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Address: Via Ulisse Aldrovandi 15, 00197 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Rome
#15 Business Hotel in Rome
#35 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#44 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldrovandi Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above the Eternal City in Rome's exclusive, residential Pinciano neighborhood, Aldrovandi Villa Borgheseis a palatial retreat that feels a world apart from the crowded piazzas of the Italian capital, although within walking distance of many highlights of the Eternal City. Overlooking the gorgeous greenery of Rome's Borghese Gardens, Aldrovandi Villa Borghese takes center stage in the Eternal City's poshest neighborhood. A former convent, this grand 19th-century ivory villa is dressed in marble and dripping in chandeliers. With its new SPA by LA MER and state-of-the-art fitness suite featuring the latest equipment, the two-Michelin-star restaurant Oliver Glowig, secluded garden with outdoor pool and palm tree-lined terrace, and a private shuttle to whisk guests straight to the Spanish Steps, this urban retreat offers all the perfect luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aldrovandi Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing