We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Ranked #59 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We have just celebrated our 40th wedding here and the whole experience was made very special by every member of staff, thankyou. The weather some days was very hot and the pool and gardens a wonderful oasis from the heat and hustle and bustle of sight seeing, we will certainly be coming back

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marmarannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldrovandiVBorghese, General Manager at Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, I am delighted to read about the great experience you had with us especially on the special occasion of your 40th wedding anniversary and learn that the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese was up to this unique moment and was the perfect frame to celebrate it.

As you wish, I look forward to welcoming you back to the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese very soon, please do contact me directly on that occasion, I will be glad to assist you again.

Warmest Regards,

Ugo Ossani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

Given the TA ratings, was disappointed in this hotel. Not what we would expect from a four star hotel at this price. Room was small and dated and beds were hard. Grill and pool side drinks were overpriced - 100 USD for two drinks and two sandwiches is insane, even for Rome. The location was a bit out of the way, but they have a free courtesy shuttle to and from the Spanish steps every half an hour.

On the plus side, the pool was great and the staff were helpful and courteous. Breakfast was one of the better ones we had on our Italian vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldrovandiVBorghese, General Manager at Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for your comment about your recent stay at the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese.

I have carefully read and taken into high consideration your remarks about the prices and the room assigned to you during your stay. For these remarks I would like to apologise and assure that all of our focus will be put on those points highlighted in order to definitely improve where and when possible.

On the other hand, I would like to thank you again for sharing your positive experience as well about the pleasant time you spent on the pool side and about the level of service delivered by our dedicated team.

I would be honored to have the pleasure to welcoming you again to the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese soon and possibly assist you directly on the accommodation assignment as well as with other kind requests you may have.

Warmest Regards,

Ugo Ossani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My wife and I spent four nights at the hotel in September. The standard of service by all the staff we encountered was excellent, from the concierge to the guys by the pool. The concierge desk pointed us to good restaurants close to the excellent shuttle service at the Spanish Steps. (We can recommend Osteria Margutta. We went there twice). When we arrived we wanted to change our room, which was accommodated with no fuss. The pool area is lovely and never got too busy. Very good breakfast in the Sala Verde. As and when we come back to Rome we will almost certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldrovandiVBorghese, General Manager at Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Vauled Guest

I would like to heartily thank you for your kind words and for praising and appreciating our team work. I will definitely share your words with the rest of Aldrovandi’s team as per our custom.

I am glad to apprehend that all of our dedication made your stay memorable to the point you wish to come back to the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese during your next trip to Rome, this is definitely the greatest reward for all of us.

Feel free to contact me directly on the occasion of your next reservation to the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, I will be glad to assist you again.


Warmest Regards,

Ugo Ossani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have stayed at numerous hotels in Rome, but always gravitate back to the Aldrovandi. The service is better than at some other "Leading Hotels of the World," and the setting outside the Villa Borghese Gardens is quiet and yet accessible. The hotel pool is an oasis in the city. There are frequent shuttles to the Spanish Steps, only a five to ten-minute ride.

Room Tip: Rooms are elegant but small, unless you book a jr suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minorleaguemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldrovandiVBorghese, General Manager at Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Guest

It is with great pleasure that I come across your kind comment and I would like to sincerely thank you for your words of appreciation.

It is always a pleasure to read about our regular guests’ experience with us and about the fact that after different venues and locations they always prefer the unique atmosphere of the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese.

Feel free to contact me directly on the occasion of your next trip to Rome, I would gladly assist you with your accommodation assignment in order to possibly reserve a room closer to your expectations.

Warmest Regards,

Ugo Ossani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Booked the hotel off jetsetter and again I was more than pleased. It was a small resort in the middle of Rome with beautiful rooms and amenities. The rooms had everything you could need and we were upgraded when we got there. I don't believe there is a bad room. The gym was perfect for what we needed and made it easy to maintain a normal routine with all the eating!
We had lunch only at the hotel but it was delicious.
It's near a park too and they have a free bike rental you can use. Cabs were easy to get and though its not in the "center" it was nice to come home to luxury, quiet and a fantastic pool and staff.

Room Tip: Kids were there. But also great for adults. Breakfast is a must! Bring workout clothes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldrovandiVBorghese, General Manager at Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest

I am delighted to read your positive comment about your recent stay at the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, thank you for your kind words.

I am glad you appreciated the location of our hotel which actually offers the unique opportunity to feel the great advantage of being close to the most important landmarks in Rome as well as the most important shopping districts in Rome but at the same time offers a fabulous sensation of privacy and exclusive tranquillity to our guests.

I very much look forward to welcoming you again soon to the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, please feel free to contact me directly on the occasion of your next trip to Rome, I would be glad to assist you again.


Warmest Regards,

Ugo Ossani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I stayed at the Aldrovandi Villa last week. My preference was for a hotel that was outside the busy areas of Rome. I enjoyed my stay very much. The hotel was quiet and very clean with all of the amenities of a high quality hotel. The pool area and garden was nice as well. If I visit Rome again, I will stay here again. The only downside is that the food is very expensive for simple meals like 28 euros for a burgher.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldrovandiVBorghese, General Manager at Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for your kind comment, it is always a great pleasure to learn about the positive experince our guests had staying with us.

Moreover I am delighted you wish to come back soon to the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese on the occasion of your next trip to Rome, please feel free to contact me directly on that occasion, I will be delighted to personally assist you with all the posssible requests you may have.

Again thank you for preferring the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, I look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Ugo Ossani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Just returned from a four day trip to Rome staying at the Aldrovandia. The service was second to non. The hotel is fantastic, highly recomend staying here. Before we arrived I booked a travel guide for two days through the concierge. Guide met us at hotel and was excellent. The breakfast was fantastic. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom very luxurious. We had a street view but did not worry us as we were just having a sightseeing holiday and were out every day. We arranged transportation from airport and back with the concierge before we arrived and it was all done with quick responses and excellent communication. Staff very very friendly. Did not see any kids while we were here as previous reviewer and had no problem with noise from other rooms (we were so tired after sightseeing all day). When we returned to the hotel around 5.00pm after hard days sight seeing I went in the pool. Pool guys fantastic even though I was just having a quick swim, made up double sun bed for my husband and I, bottled water given, six towels and two bottle of water for a 15 minute swim ! Great service. Park just over the road but we did not get the time to visit. Hotel does complimentary bike hire which would be great to get out in the park and ride. We did not have dinner in the hotel as we took advantage of the complimentary shuttle serice to the Spanish Steps and ate out in the city.We will certainly be visiting this hotel again. Out in the greenery just a short ride to the attractions of Rome. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you are just visiting to sightsee any room will do to flop down after a hard day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JuneLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldrovandiVBorghese, General Manager at Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest

I would like to personally thank you for your kind comment about your positive experience at the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, I am delighted to apprehend you had a wonderful stay with us.

I am pleased you appreciated all the different aspects of your stay from our hotel and the comfort of your rooms as well as the high level of our service which definitely made the difference making your stay memorable. As for our custom I will share with pleasure your words with the rest of our team.

I look forward to welcoming you soon to the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese in the near future and I would be glad if you could consider myself at you disposal on the occasion of your next trip to Rome, I would be glad to assist you.

Warmest Regards,

Ugo Ossani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#42 of 1,271 in Rome
692 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#87 of 1,271 in Rome
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#50 of 1,271 in Rome
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldrovandi Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldrovandi Villa Borghese

Address: Via Ulisse Aldrovandi 15, 00197 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#15 Business Hotel in Rome
#40 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#44 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#54 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £182 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldrovandi Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above the Eternal City in Rome's exclusive, residential Pinciano neighborhood, Aldrovandi Villa Borgheseis a palatial retreat that feels a world apart from the crowded piazzas of the Italian capital, although within walking distance of many highlights of the Eternal City. Overlooking the gorgeous greenery of Rome's Borghese Gardens, Aldrovandi Villa Borghese takes center stage in the Eternal City's poshest neighborhood. A former convent, this grand 19th-century ivory villa is dressed in marble and dripping in chandeliers. With its MYTHA SPA state-of-the-art fitness suite featuring the latest equipment, the one -Michelin-star restaurant Assaje, secluded garden with outdoor pool and palm tree-lined terrace, and a private shuttle to whisk guests straight to the Spanish Steps, this urban retreat offers all the perfect luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aldrovandi Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing