We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend if looking for fun in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Ranked #63 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Hotel was very clean, hospitable and had an amicable environment. However, The toilet flush in our room was not working which they eventually switched the room for us and claimed this to be a form of upgrade. The internet crashed and was not working during our 3 day stay. House keepers were very loud every morning in neighboring rooms which disrupted our sleep and made for a terrible wake up. As for room service, they charged an extra 10 euros for every delivery made to the room. Location was not close to any tourist attractions but the hotel did provide a shuttle to transport guests back and forth from the spanish steps, the latest being at 10:45pm. As 2 twenty year olds looking to explore Rome, this hotel was inconvenient and restricted our movement. Would not recommend it for that purpose. Do not think it possesses 5 star qualities either quite limited and old fashioned.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldrovandiVBorghese, Direttore generale at Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese.

I truly appreciate it, your comments are extremely valuable for the whole team and represent a great support in order to excel on what we care the most: our guests’ satisfaction. Offering hospitality quality, cleanliness and a pleasant atmosphere are our daily priorities and we really appreciate reading that we matched your expectations.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences during your stay. We already took into account all the improvements that you highlighted and we will keep on working on them.

Regarding our location, which is truly 5/10 minutes by courtesy car from Piazza di Spagna, this guarantees to our guests a great deal of privacy and relax as well as the true atmosphere of a city resort.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese very soon, please feel free to contact me directly I would be glad to assist you.

Kindest Regards,

Ugo Ossani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 475 of 1,393 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

One of the more pleasant and important experiences in travelling. The best value this hotel has to offer is their staff! Friendly people whom fill in your needs before you express them. And yes the venue is great. Don't worry to be outside the hectic centre. They bring you there and pick you up.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank MaxHubner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My daughter and I have just spent 4 wonderful nights in this beautiful hotel in Rome.

Our twin room and en-suite were lovely - nicely decorated and furnished, clean and comfortable.
The service we received from all the Hotel staff was excellent and we were made to feel very welcome by every staff member. They were pleasant, cheerful and most helpful in giving useful information to enable us as new visitors to Rome to enjoy our visit.

We found the location ideal for our stay as the Hotel is not situated in the noisy city centre, although still convenient for all we wanted to see.

The weather was good so we could enjoy a walk through the park opposite the Hotel into the capital centre - 25 minutes - and we also used the courtesy car service each day - taking 10 minutes - which was frequent and prompt, running at regular intervals to and back from the centre all day until late evening.

The breakfast was delicious with a good selection and variety of both cooked dishes and cold
meats, cheese, rolls and pastries. Although it is a help yourself buffet the staff frequently served us juice and coffee and looked after our table. The food dishes on the huge breakfast table were regularly refilled.

We also enjoyed two evening meals in the bar grill area both with excellent service.
Drinks are served with several complimentary bowls of pistachio, olives etc.in a relaxing atmosphere.
We found there were plenty of staff available to look after you in every part of the hotel.

Altogether I recommend the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese as a wonderful place to stay in Rome - Thank you to all the staff for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for five days in July 2013 and we could not fault the hotel or the staff.
The room was large and airy and overlooked the pool.
The pool area was a delight after a long day sightseeing. There were always plenty of sun beds available and enough sun or shade depending on your preference. The pool staff were attentive and helpful.
I loved the breakfast which was plentyful with a huge variety of hot or cold dishes. Our waitress was the sweetest person with a ready smile every morning.
We ate lunch by the pool one day which was expensive but faultless.
The shuttle bus to the Spanish Steps was a great advantage because you could stay in a peaceful oasis without being cut off. We walked through the Villa Borgehese after visitng the Gallery and it was a lovely walk.
Overall this is an exceptional hotel which I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We chose this hotel because of its location outside the centre and for the pool as a break from site seeing (family with 2 teenagers). Other than breakfast (v good) we ate in the hotel only once as it was more than we wished to pay.
The pool is lovely, and you are well looked after by the pool attendants. During the heat of the day however, we found there was often a shortage of umbrellas meaning that we had to cover ourselves with towels, although later on in the afternoon there was plenty of natural shade. As you would expect, it's not exactly a 'family pool' but it was roomy enough (more so than the pictures would suggest) for us to relax and play a little, without getting in the way of others wanting to gently swim.
The courtesy bus into town is frequent and very reliable, but it filled up quite quickly, so to make best use of it I would recommend booking as early as possible, particularly for the later return trips.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peepybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The staff was incredibly kind and helpful, the wait staff made us feel like we were home,
the food was terrific and the presentation of the smallest things (a plate of apples on a silver pedestal) was done with care.

Lovely, not too big but quite comfortable and close to Roman attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed at the Aldrovandi for 3 days. Nice hotel overall - lobby area is nice with fresh flowers. Most personnel are welcoming and competent (one of the concierge was somewhat arrogant but it may just be an Italian attitude). Location is OK too - outside the city centre but not necessarily a bad thing.

Two major major flaws for a 5-star hotel:

1) There are no ironing machines! Some ludicrous claim that they aren't allowed to have them (not even in a separate room, which some hotels at least offer). Instead, prepare to pay an outrageous €15 to iron a single shirt.

2) I asked for a quiet room, which was duly delivered. But the room was literally shaking every 15 minutes or so! I informed the hotel lobby, who feigned ignorance. Unacceptable to offer such rooms for a 5 star hotel.


Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank Paradectral A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldrovandiVBorghese, General Manager at Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Valued Guest

I would like to thank you for your comment, I am glad you appreciated your stay at the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, but I would also like to take this opportunity to apologise if, for the reasons produced below, your stay was not as expected.

I would like to go into more details now about the issues you highlighted and dedicate more time to the matters. As for the ironing machines, I appreciate your reasons but I need to point out that, as every deluxe hotels of our category, the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese do not provide ironing boards and ironing machines inside the rooms. This is a standard also required by The Leading Hotels of the World which expects that the ironing service would be provided by the hotel loundry&ironing department.

I would like to apologise for the inconvenience experienced in your room. I am extremely sorry about the situation described, particularly considering this is the first time something of that sort is brought to our attention, being the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese – on the contrary - renowned for its tranquillity and peaceful atmosphere and environment, due to its location out of the busiest streets of Rome.
Nevertheless, I will go for sure into more details and investigate further the room’s features assigned to you, in order to revert any flows if and when necessary, thank you for informing us. Moreover, it is my intention to investigate further the front office attitude on this occasion, since it is unacceptable that no appropriate assistance was offered after your complaint although during your stay the hotel was fully booked and was unfortunately not possible to offer an alternative accommodation, fact that needed to be communicate in a proper manner, apologies for this lack of service.

I would be delighted to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon to the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese in order to supervise the accommodation assignment and possibly contribute to make your next stay at the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese fully enjoyable and pleasant. To that end, please feel free to contact me directly, I will be glad to assist you again.

Warmest Regards,

Ugo Ossani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#93 of 1,271 in Rome
1,475 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#50 of 1,271 in Rome
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldrovandi Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldrovandi Villa Borghese

Address: Via Ulisse Aldrovandi 15, 00197 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#15 Business Hotel in Rome
#41 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#44 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £164 - £529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldrovandi Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above the Eternal City in Rome's exclusive, residential Pinciano neighborhood, Aldrovandi Villa Borgheseis a palatial retreat that feels a world apart from the crowded piazzas of the Italian capital, although within walking distance of many highlights of the Eternal City. Overlooking the gorgeous greenery of Rome's Borghese Gardens, Aldrovandi Villa Borghese takes center stage in the Eternal City's poshest neighborhood. A former convent, this grand 19th-century ivory villa is dressed in marble and dripping in chandeliers. With its MYTHA SPA state-of-the-art fitness suite featuring the latest equipment, the one -Michelin-star restaurant Assaje, secluded garden with outdoor pool and palm tree-lined terrace, and a private shuttle to whisk guests straight to the Spanish Steps, this urban retreat offers all the perfect luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aldrovandi Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing