We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the park !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Ranked #43 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Level Contributor
485 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Luxury in the park !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I love the location of this beautiful hotel, located in the park and a few steps from the Contemporary Art Museum you are only a few minutes bike ride to the Spanish steps or the shopping district. In the summer when everything is crowded in Rome its great to relax by the pool and get away from all the tourists. This hotel has a fantastic 2 star Michelin restaurant, you need to make reservations.

Room Tip: Very nice old Villa turned in to a great hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbertoMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    234
    103
    47
    22
See reviews for
237
680
49
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

this hotel is a true 5 stars - excellent service, all the stuff is very professional ( all speak at least 3 languages), very clean, looks like a true palace.
the best thing was really the breakfast - high quality, local food with a nice view. another plus is the possibility to discover Rome with the bikes that the hotel provides.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Have stayed at the Aldrovandi twice.... thought it average at best both times. Definitely was underwhelmed and only stayed the second time because of lovely location and good deal...
Not sure how it's a "Leading Hotel of the World"

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We booked this hotel because of the lovely garden/swimming pool pictures. However, we arrived at the end of April and found the swimming pool still closed (=empty) for the winter season. Unfortunately the hotel did not facilitate anything else for the lack of the swimmingpool.

The hotel is located just outside of the city centre, but offers a half-hourly shuttle service to the Spanish steps (10 minutes). This shuttle service is quite convenient, however all added up it will still take you quite some time to have a short stop over at your hotel room after a long day.

All added up, I think that if you are visiting this hotel in the high/summer season, it's worth the money because of the swimming pool. But if you're staying in the low season I think having a hotel in the city centre would be a better alternative.

Plus points: staff is friendly and helpful
Minus points: rooms are quite outdated and in need of a renovation

Room Tip: There is one room in the attick, which makes you feel completely isolated from the rest of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsHudgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a four night stay at the hotel. I cannot fault the service of most of the staff, they were friendly, pleasant, and helpful. The hotel is, as advertised, a short drive away from the tourist sites but the shuttle bus is great and definitely worth using. Only once was it full and we paid 10euros for a taxi back instead.
The room we had at the front of the hotel was a little noisy but nothing unexpected in a big city. The room was comfortable with a super king sized bed and the bathroom was well fitted out.
The breakfast was excellent. There was a great range on offer, probably the best I've ever had in Italy, and the staff were very attentive.
The main let down was the food offering. The first night we arrived at the hotel at 8pm so decided to eat there. We went to the Il Grill restaurant which was totally empty. The food took 40 minutes to arrive and was by far the worst meal I've ever eaten in Italy. The vegetable risotto was watery, the vegetables clearly frozen, not fresh, and I would have sent it back if we hadn't been so hungry and waited so long. My partner's salad was equally bland. The waiter did his best but was unable to offer us any compensation other than a free drink which amounted to one bottle of sparkling water. We tried to complain again the next day but reception staff seemed uninterested as it was a problem with the restaurant and we had to foot the bill for 45euros for the two plates of very poor food.
On another occasion we ended up having room service. While the food was good, it was incredibly expensive and the 10euro tray charge per person seemed totally excessive.
All in all a good experience but let down by the restaurant. Perhaps it's because they have a captive audience as there are no restaurants within a 5 minute walk of the hotel. Not sure I would stay her again though due to the location - there are equally nice places within walking distance of the major sites.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireM186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights recently. This was my second stay at the hotel in the past 6 months. The rooms are quite nice and the hotel is very comfortable and quiet (and extremely clean). The hotel is located outside the busy areas of central Rome that makes it more attractive to me. There is a shuttle from the hotel that leave every half hour for the Spanish Steps. There is a nice buffet breakfast that is reasonably priced. Otherwise, I did not eat at the hotel this stay because the restaurant at the hotel is overpriced and nothing special. There are many other good restaurants nearby anyways. Hopefully, I will visit Rome again and stay at the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese again.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to s superior room because I stayed there before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night after travelling the Amalfi Coast and onwards to Rimini and Venice. Our stay in Italy had been exceptional until here . The Food , service and etiquette is not fitting of a 5 Star Hotel. For €150 the food was shockingly scarce, ungarnished , no skill and definitely not worth the money. A piece of sea bass on a sliced baby carrot ( yes only one baby carrot) and a leaf of spinach on a huge plate . A white plate served with Kentucky/Burger King fries (€20) with bottle sauce. A 4oz steak with one root vegetable (€40) . The worst part was my plate being removed before my husband had finished eating-cardinal sin !!. We arrived at 6.15 and order was taken at 7.45. We eventually sat at 8.30 in an empty restaurant !. We had to leave when dessert was served. Truly and disgracefully poor standard of a dried out cake slither (€20). For a one night stay and one grill meal ( Not their fine dining menu) - €450. You decide !!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Morag49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#87 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Parioli
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldrovandi Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldrovandi Villa Borghese

Property: Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Address: Via Ulisse Aldrovandi 15, 00197 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Rome
#15 Business Hotel in Rome
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#44 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldrovandi Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above the Eternal City in Rome's exclusive, residential Pinciano neighborhood, Aldrovandi Villa Borgheseis a palatial retreat that feels a world apart from the crowded piazzas of the Italian capital, although within walking distance of many highlights of the Eternal City. Overlooking the gorgeous greenery of Rome's Borghese Gardens, Aldrovandi Villa Borghese takes center stage in the Eternal City's poshest neighborhood. A former convent, this grand 19th-century ivory villa is dressed in marble and dripping in chandeliers. With its new SPA by LA MER and state-of-the-art fitness suite featuring the latest equipment, the two-Michelin-star restaurant Oliver Glowig, secluded garden with outdoor pool and palm tree-lined terrace, and a private shuttle to whisk guests straight to the Spanish Steps, this urban retreat offers all the perfect luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aldrovandi Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing