We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"First class in every aspect"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Ranked #54 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"First class in every aspect"”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Aldrovandi for 4 nights from May 20th 2014.I cannot recommend this hotel more highly the ambiance, location and quality of the Hotel is first class in every aspect.The staff provided excellent and welcoming service throughout our stay.The room was a good size very comfortably furnished and decorated with a large luxury bathroom.The breakfast was excellent and served in a lovely reception room overlooking the pool and gardens.The location was very convenient and just a few minutes away from the city center and sights but provided a more serene experience on the edge of the Borghese park.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a special experience when staying in Rome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    244
    106
    49
    24
See reviews for
246
703
51
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed there over a week end back in february 2013

The hotel in itself is very nice and corresponds to what you'd expect from an hotel of that class. The room was nice and comfy and the service perfect at reception desk, restaurant and room service. The breakfast really really left its mark on our stay, the restaurant room was sensationnal, the food was awesome with great quality, lot of choice and capucinos reaching perfection !

Another very handy point was the drop off / pick up service to the spanish steps. The hotel is not too far from downtown rome and quite easy to reach with public transportation yet the shuttle service was very convenient and easy to organize. Gave us even more time to enjoy all the history and charm that rome has to offer.

Overall, great stay at the aldrovandi, would totally recommand it :)

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank snagah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I've just stayed at this beautiful hotel for a 3 day conference and had a wonderful time. Admittedly it is expensive and so I was expecting a superior experience, and the hotel lived up to expectations. The building feels grand and the spaciousness of reception and the furniture and flowers add to a feeling of luxury. The welcome on arrival was friendly and very helpful with a full explanation of all the facilities. My room was extremely comfortable with everything I needed and despite overlooking a busy road and the zoo opposite I was not at all bothered by traffic noise.
The breakfast was excellent, and the bar by the pool in the evening a lovely and relaxing place to be. I did not have the chance to try the Michelin starred restaurant but it looked as if it would not disappoint.
Throughout my stay the staff were all very friendly and accommodating. The free shuttle bus into the centre is a bonus but actually a 15 minute walk through the Borghese gardens will also bring you into town.
All in all a very nice experience with good memories.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Darryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Perfect location, very close to the center yet just out of the city hassle. Excellent service compliments one of the best examples of Italian cuisine. We had our breakfast in one of the most elegant ballrooms overlooking the greenest hotel garden and best hotel pools. Our stay was a true treat. Next time I'd love to pick one of hotel's bicycles and pedal through Villa Borghese gardens, neighbouring the hotel and the city attractions as well as pay a long visit to national fine art museum which I missed this time due to lack of time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ErcumentSener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Fab hotel..with a pool which is heated..pool service excellent ..pool area beautiful trees and plants and very clean..hotel easily deserves 5 starts..service is faultless and everyone extremely kind and helpful. There were bikes for guests and lovely huge Borghese gardens are 5 mins away..also modern art and Etruscan art galleries which are super..hotel has great fitness room and steam and whirlpool ..
Breakfast looking on to trees and gardens was a delight..sad to check out..

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are quieter as hotel is on a main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

" We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act but a habit". This famous quote by Aristotle is the essence of our experience at the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese and we can add that there are many things in Life that will catch your eye, bt only a few will catch your heart....Our holiday at the Aldrovandi was great !!! (starting from the warm welcome, wonderful room, good food, and the superlative SPA). The shuttle which connect you to Piazza di Spagna make you feel like the luxury shopping and the fabulous square is just outside the door of you room.
For sure.....We will be back soon !!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have never written a review before, but am pleased to do so for the first time given our experience at Aldrovandi Villa Borghese. Truly, as others report, the hotel is a very beautiful place, filled with flowers, lovely furniture , an attentive staff and is a jewel in busy wonderful Rome. We enjoyed excellent breakfasts each morning, offering a wide variety of foods. Our room was picture perfect postcard lovely overlooking gardens and a pool. It is, however, for more than these features that I am inclined to write a review. Inadvertently, on the Boston to London flight leg, I left my ipad and iphone in the footlocker under my airplane seat. The hotel concierge and front desk staff at the Aldrovandi assisted me right away in trying to locate my devices, contacting Lost Property at Heathrow. They continued to make inquiry after we departed Rome, ultimately getting the lead which led to our being able to recover these devices when we passed back through London on the way home. Notably , my own efforts in dealing directly with Lost Property at Heathrow failed; they told me my property was not there. This hotel has everything a couple could seek and, in particular from my experience, I know it is staffed with an extraordinarily friendly and competent concierge and front desk personnel.

Room Tip: Our room loverlooked the gardens and pool and was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Potter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#89 of 1,258 in Rome
1,382 reviews
Parioli
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#52 of 1,258 in Rome
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldrovandi Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldrovandi Villa Borghese

Property: Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Address: Via Ulisse Aldrovandi 15, 00197 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Rome
#15 Business Hotel in Rome
#36 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#44 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldrovandi Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above the Eternal City in Rome's exclusive, residential Pinciano neighborhood, Aldrovandi Villa Borgheseis a palatial retreat that feels a world apart from the crowded piazzas of the Italian capital, although within walking distance of many highlights of the Eternal City. Overlooking the gorgeous greenery of Rome's Borghese Gardens, Aldrovandi Villa Borghese takes center stage in the Eternal City's poshest neighborhood. A former convent, this grand 19th-century ivory villa is dressed in marble and dripping in chandeliers. With its new SPA by LA MER and state-of-the-art fitness suite featuring the latest equipment, the two-Michelin-star restaurant Oliver Glowig, secluded garden with outdoor pool and palm tree-lined terrace, and a private shuttle to whisk guests straight to the Spanish Steps, this urban retreat offers all the perfect luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aldrovandi Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing