We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Ranked #54 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sprowston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A good location”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights following a cruise. Our room was not ready when we arrived but was soon made available. The staff and helpful, especially the concierge and the reception people. The rooms are kept to a high standard although I did notice some black mould around the edge of the bath and tiles in our room.

I would not recommend eating at the grill poolside on the lower level. The service is slow and the prices are high and the quality is not very good or attractively presented. We had better meals outside the hotel.

Rome was very hot and it was excellent to be able to come back to the hotel and lay on a sunbed by the pool and also enjoy the swimming pool. Towels are provided.

We were on the top floor at the front so we were not too disturbed by the noise of the traffic. However, I was awoken by the peacocks calling in the early morning.

Breakfast was a different matter. A very good selection, including sparking wine. Plenty of fresh fruit and also cooked food and the plates were warmed. A nice touch. Service was also a little slow in the breakfast room when ordering tea or coffee, everything else was self service. The setting for the breakfast room is good as it overlooks the garden at the back.

It is a nuisance than when you leave your room the electricity goes off but this is quite common in a lot of hotels. It might be worth seeing whether you can remove the charging key from the keyring so that you can leave it in when you leave the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    243
    106
    48
    23
See reviews for
240
695
51
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent 4 nights at The Aldronvandi Villa Borgese and enjoyed every minute of the stay. We were upgraded to a suite, which was lovely and also very quiet. The room was a good size with a lounge area attached, a walk in dressing room/wardrobe area and bathroom. Housekeeping kept the room to a high standard but we were left without face flannels on a couple of occasions.

We were in Rome to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary and upon our arrival the management had left us a bottle of wine and some nibbles complimentary. I thought this was a nice touch. However, no tea or coffee making facilities in the room which I find frustrating as I like a cup of tea first thing in the morning when I wake and this wasn't possible. On another occasion I fancied a cup of tea late afternoon and had to use room service. They were quick to bring the tea but I would have preferred to have the facility in room. A minor grumble though.

The best feature of the Aldrovandi is the pool. It is beautifully maintained as are the surrounding gardens and it is truly an oasis to come back to after a day of sightseeing. We had no issues with the service poolside but only ordered drinks, so can't comment on the quality of the food.

We did, however, have a meal at Oliver Glowig, the Michelin 2* restaurant situated within the hotel. This was definitely Fine Dinning with a price tag to match. Have eaten at other Michelin restaurants though and this compared well, was very enjoyable with excellent staff and food. They made us a lovely cake for our anniversary which was very thoughtful. Oliver Glowig came out personally to greet all of the diners, individually at their table, at the end of the meal.

We used the shuttle bus in and out of Rome every day and found this service excellent. We also got taxis a few times (inexpensive and convenient for getting to the Coloseum for an early morning tour) and used the trams to go to and from the Vatican. The reception staff organised whatever we needed. The reception staff were always very pleasant and helpful.

Breakfast overlooking the pool every morning was very pleasant. The choices on offer at breakfast were good and we found the service excellent.

Would we go back to the Aldrovandi? Yes, without a doubt. I liked the fact it was just outwith the city walls for the peace and tranquility it offered, the pool is a Godsend in the heat of the day, service was excellent, room was lovely and breakfast was super.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Afternoonteajenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
174 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights at the end of a cruise holiday. The hotel has a stylish reception area and breakfast room and the reception staff were very helpful. Our allocated room was not ready when we arrived but we only had to wait for a short while before we were given another room. The bedrooms are nicely appointed although the electricity supply switches off when the special key is removed from the socket (it is attached to the room door key) so it's only possible to charge phones, camera batteries, etc whilst you are actually in the room. The shower is over the bath and the sides of the bath are quite high so getting in and out of the shower is not easy for anyone with short legs or stiff hips. The base of the bath is also very smooth and slippery when it is wet - a rubber bathmat would be a good safety feature.
We ate in the poolside restaurant, but there was only a limited menu selection at higher prices than in other restaurants we ate at whilst in Italy. Drinks were also expensive (8 euros for a small bottle of water) and the service was very slow and seemed to lack any sort of organisation or direction. We waited for some considerable time before being given a menu and then waited again for a drinks order to be taken, with yet another long wait before the drinks arrived. Even after we had ordered our meals it took an age before the food appeared and then it was a very basic presentation and not anything out of the ordinary that would have justified the price. Whilst we were in no particular hurry, we felt that to spend considerably more than two hours on a meal of two courses and a round of drinks in a restaurant of about 40 covers was far too long.

Room Tip: The roadside rooms are quite noisy. Ask for one overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Winner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We got this room bidding on priceline, it is located on the northern end of the Villa Borghese which is like the central park of Rome.
They run a free shuttle every 30 minutes to the spanish steps which is nice.
The room was a good size, as well as the bathroom.
there is an above ground tram stop right outside the hotel which we took to the vatican.
Not a lot of restaurants within walking distance but the transportation is easy to get anywhere.
We would def stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gocanes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Aldrovandi for a long weekend in Rome. I misplaced and lost my diamond earrings and realized that minutes after check-out and just before leaving for the airport. Deborah from the front desk and the housekeeping head helped me go through the room first, and a huge bag of garbage later... We did not find them. I came back home very sad, but four days later Deborah called me to tell me they found my earrings inside the hoover's bag!!! They send them to me and now they are back in my ears.
The fact that they kept looking and went through all that trouble for me was very touching, their kindness and honesty left me feeling grateful beyond words.
Oh, and the hotel is gorgeous too!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We were recommended this hotel in Rome by a friend who travels a lot on business in Italy. Booking is easy on-line and rates favourable compared to other high-end hotels in Rome.
We called the hotel from the airport and they arranged a car to pick us up a few hours later.
The location is great, just outside of the major bustle of the city centre and the rooms (although nothing spectacular ) are well appointed and ours had a great view of the hotel garden and swimming pool.

Dinner in the poolside restaurant on out first night was rather hit and miss. It took some time to be offered a drink on being seated and there were repeated errors in what we were served. We got the impression that our waiter was inexperienced and struggling to manage. He was very affable and we offer him good luck!

Our main issue was on our 2nd morning. Breakfast in the restaurant or in-room does not start till 7am. However we were booked to see a Papal audience with our elderly parent (our main reason for being in Rome) and this means getting to the Vatican by just after 7pm. We made a special request to the concierge the night before wok did not offer to help but advised an early call to his colleague in the morning. On doing this we were told that even a cup of tea in our room before 7am was not possible. So much for the advertised 24 hour room service (in fact we called room service too but the phone was unanswered.) Our 80+ year old mother set off for the 4 hour Vatican audience with no refreshment at all apparently available at the Aldrovandi. We suggest the hotel (a "Leading a Hotel of the World" member teaches staff some flexibility or employs a few more in the early hours! Returning to our rooms at 2.30pm (Rome was 33 degrees on an exceptionally hot June day) we were also disappointed to find that our rooms (vacated some 7 hours before) were not mass up. Again we can only surmise that there are too few chamber maids employed at the hotel.

So a mixed experience. I would say that the reception team seemed very nice and the pool looked great. We are told the fine dining restaurant is excellent too.

On our previous Rome visit we stayed at the Rocco Forte Hotel de Russie which is more expensive but without any of the issues experienced at the Aldrovandi.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank ruby1leo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
186 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We love Rome and staying at the Aldrovandi has become a habit.

The situation of the hotel is, in our opinion, perfect - not in the claustrophobic centre of the city - but on the northern perimeter of the Villa Borghese which feels far more relaxed. The pool is lovely when the sun is out and the hotel is very refined.

One small negative - the mattress in our room was a poor standard and far too hard.

Many of the delightful staff remembered us and made our stay an absolute joy.

We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m1sog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#87 of 1,256 in Rome
1,353 reviews
Parioli
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldrovandi Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldrovandi Villa Borghese

Property: Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Address: Via Ulisse Aldrovandi 15, 00197 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Rome
#15 Business Hotel in Rome
#36 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#44 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldrovandi Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above the Eternal City in Rome's exclusive, residential Pinciano neighborhood, Aldrovandi Villa Borgheseis a palatial retreat that feels a world apart from the crowded piazzas of the Italian capital, although within walking distance of many highlights of the Eternal City. Overlooking the gorgeous greenery of Rome's Borghese Gardens, Aldrovandi Villa Borghese takes center stage in the Eternal City's poshest neighborhood. A former convent, this grand 19th-century ivory villa is dressed in marble and dripping in chandeliers. With its new SPA by LA MER and state-of-the-art fitness suite featuring the latest equipment, the two-Michelin-star restaurant Oliver Glowig, secluded garden with outdoor pool and palm tree-lined terrace, and a private shuttle to whisk guests straight to the Spanish Steps, this urban retreat offers all the perfect luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aldrovandi Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing