We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Ranked #54 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“It's a beautiful place”
Reviewed 28 June 2010

First of all, I disagree with many of the things the dubai reviewer said about this hotel. It sounds like this reviewer has never been to places like New York City, where smallish rooms are the norm. We thought the hotel was very beautiful and our rooms were lovely. It is definitely worth it to ask for a room facing the pool/courtyard as the main road is right at the front of the hotel. It is a very expensive, old-school elegance hotel - much like the Del Coronado in California (which also has very small rooms, BTW). If you stay at a place like this, you can expect to pay a lot for everything. While we weren't exactly charging up the pool drinks and room service because of this, we still really enjoyed the beauty and elegance of the hotel. We thought the staff was very friendly, especially the doormen. The front desk staff is a little more reserved but also very helpful. The location of this hotel is the biggest downside - you can't really walk anywhere from here. If you need to find a store, take a left from the front entrance and follow the train tracks until you reach civilization - my husband and I found a great grocery store finally so we could have some snacks in our room one day. However, if I were you, I would pick up what you need before you return to the hotel. The shuttle is a nice amenity - you have to reserve your space so be prepared to take cabs if you can't get on one and are ready to go somewhere. I would recommend this hotel, but would not stay there again ONLY because of the location. It would be more fun to be on the Via Venetta or other place within close walking of Spanish steps or at least a subway stop.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JazzgirlWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    247
    106
    50
    25
See reviews for
254
708
51
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

The stay was expensive and hotel rated high so I expected to get value for money. BUT, the hotel is very old fashioned and room needed a face lift. When we went to the room and put the air conditioning on, it made terrible smell to the room as it was not cleaned or used for a while. Room had a carpet floor, which created untidy impression. Quite busy street was right under our window which made the stay a bit noisy. Location is not the most convenient to see the major sights - on the other hand Borghese park right next to the hotel is good for jogging and relaxing. Breakfast was luxorious. I felt it was bad service that we did not get iron and ironboard to the room even though we requested but were forced to utilize the expensive ironing services from hotel. I'm type of person who wants to do it myself. All in all, maybe some old fashioned people like this hotel but not for me.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hepu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Wonderful hotel. As noted by others, the rooms are a little small. But they contain everything necessary for comfort. The staff do all they can to help, including calling our restaurant to say we were running late, finding vases and helping to trim flowers, offering to show us various rooms we might find comfortabe. The breakfast buffet is fantastic and set us up for the day. The free shuttle, every 15 minutes, to and from the Spanish Steps was a huge help.

The only suggestion I would make is this: When we went the hotel was far from full and it seemed obvious that the better rooms on the higher floors were probably unoccupied. It would have been smart for the hotel to offer free upgrades to these rooms, as many hotels would have done.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soma_Sengupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaca
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

This hotel offers fantastic service, the staff go out of the way to help, standard rooms are a little small considering the amount you pay and as one other guest wrote, the internet connection is far too expensive, as a 5 Star hotel they should consider including this.

Apart from that my family and I would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekLarnaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2010

i would like to be reasonable and fair for this hotel so i will mention all
the hotel is classy and clean but not very impressive ,
nothing walking distance close
no shop to buy anything
no water or coffee or tea facilities in room
the concierge are very pushy to take your bag even if it is a wallet to grasp tip
the room are so small ( maybe the smallest in the world ) the chair for the desk is sticking to the bed it is less than 9 square meter space
the food is the poorest ever in the world , i dont imagine how stingy a 5 star hotel server 1 main dish pasta only , i stayed 5 days in hotel i didnt see no fish , no meat no chicken , i felt whole italy are vegetarian , one of the days the main dish was plain yellow rice boiled with yellow cheese
the dinner and lunch were soooooooo poooooor they even filled preset salad disheds filled in order to fill the huge empty pooor table , i never thought what stingy means till i saw this hotel
the business room is very small 2 PC's one only is working
the hotel rate is one of the most expensive hotels rate was 500 euro and the special discounted was 450 unbelievable expensive , internet rate is ridiculous expensive
if you dare to order from the room service , try to save 200 euro for a burger or compatible meal
drink is outrageously priced specially cocktails
i have been traveling extensively around the worlld and i spent 20 years in hotel and airline business and was among hotel judges for several years i can rate this hotel of 3 stars and the room rate not to exceed 130 euro
i recommend to fire the chef for his stinginess and poor taste and lousy food actually there was no food
i do not recommend anyone to stay in this hotel
i regret having such a bad experience in rome that will never forget
im willing to send pictures to prove what i m saying
i recommend tripadvisor to lower their rating and making among the worse ones or even take them out of your ranking

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank european_tourist_sad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

This is a lovely hotel about 25 minute walk to the Spanish steps. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Gorgeous bathroom although I felt the decor was slightly dated in the room. Lovely breakfast (continental and cooked) but it's a bit expensive if not included in the price - 33 euros! Drinks were also a little pricey in the lounge bar, 9 euros for a small beer. One small quibble, we asked for an iron and were told laundry could only be sent away, it cost 20 euros to have a dress pressed, so pack your travel iron! Very nice pool area with attentive service. A lovely stay in Rome away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ainthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Excellent stay with very helpful staff. Request a room overlooking the garden / pool and facing the inside area. Ground floor might be a bit close to the road. Staff very helpful and an excellent Michelin star restaurant which is surprising good value (for Rome). Very pleasant stay and would definitely return. But its not cheap.....

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#92 of 1,261 in Rome
1,410 reviews
Parioli
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#50 of 1,261 in Rome
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldrovandi Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldrovandi Villa Borghese

Property: Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Address: Via Ulisse Aldrovandi 15, 00197 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Rome
#15 Business Hotel in Rome
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#44 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldrovandi Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above the Eternal City in Rome's exclusive, residential Pinciano neighborhood, Aldrovandi Villa Borgheseis a palatial retreat that feels a world apart from the crowded piazzas of the Italian capital, although within walking distance of many highlights of the Eternal City. Overlooking the gorgeous greenery of Rome's Borghese Gardens, Aldrovandi Villa Borghese takes center stage in the Eternal City's poshest neighborhood. A former convent, this grand 19th-century ivory villa is dressed in marble and dripping in chandeliers. With its new SPA by LA MER and state-of-the-art fitness suite featuring the latest equipment, the two-Michelin-star restaurant Oliver Glowig, secluded garden with outdoor pool and palm tree-lined terrace, and a private shuttle to whisk guests straight to the Spanish Steps, this urban retreat offers all the perfect luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aldrovandi Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing