We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amalfi Hotel
Ranked #97 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice friendly place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for the rugby weekend just gone. Like all city centre hotels it is quite compact and bijoux but is a place to put your head of an evening. The room was comfortable and has the amenities you would expect. Breakfast was plentiful and varied. On the 3rd morning we could not get in at the time we wanted and concerned lady made every effort to get hold of us once a space was free. She gave us a pack up to take with us for our trouble.

The room had good shutters and double glazing. You could not hear much going on outside in the city streets.

Certainly we would go back there again when in Rome.......

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for sharing your review with Tripadvisor users.

We are happy to know about your satisfaction.

We hope to see you soon at the Amalfi Hotel!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    344
    67
    16
    3
See reviews for
161
460
68
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Very helpful staff at this family run hotel.

Small, dining area, but very homely, staffed for a continental breakfast by Natalie, who did not speak much English, but was excellent at looking after us.

Very comfortable bed in a smallish, but perfectly adequate room.

Small lift, but this is not uncommon, in hotels that may have been family homes prior to being hotels.

No trouble in recommending this hotel for a short. City break in Rome.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We wish to thankyou for reviewing us.

We're happy you had a nice stay in our Hotel.

We hope to host you again!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Amalfi hotel for 3 nights. The Hotel is located on Via Merulana and in the vicinity of the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore. Roma Train Station Is just over a 5 mins walk.
We were greeted on arrival and swiftly checked in. Many people saying about the size of room! yes it's small but this didn't bother us as it was clean and perfect for our stay and we would only be here for a comfortable sleep.
Continental breakfast is served from 0730-0930 and is a great start to the day. Croissants, ham, cheese, break, yogurts, and cake along with freshly served coffee.
The colosseum is just under 20 mins walk away and other attractions within walking distance. This makes a great base to explore. We were also able to store our luggage on the last day as our flight back was early evening. Be mindful of the city tax at the end of your stay as we weren't made aware of this. It's €2 per person per night.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate staying again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mw238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for leaving your opinion on TA.

We're happy that you appreciated our location.

We hope to host you again in our Hotel.

As you stressed there is a city tax in Rome:
at the moment is 2 Euro per person per night.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryport
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Amalfi on a last minute deal. The hotel is just down the road from Santa Maria Maggiore so is a good base to start from. The area is a little run down and although is fine in the day time, would be a little worrying at night for the older clientele. The hotel itself is clean and and comfortable, fantastic shower and pleasant English speaking hosts. The rooms are on the smaller side but that doesn't really matter as you will be out most of the time sampling what Rome has to offer. The walls are very thin so you can here what's going on in other rooms which can be a bit of a nuisance, but saying that it didn't stop us having a decent nights sleep. It's very near the Colliseum and not far from the nearest Metro station. A couple of good restaurants nearby, pricey but you are in Rome. Found an excellent bar at the end of the street called ipastichio or something similar, cocktails, pastrys etc all reasonably priced, do not go to the cafe on the corner of the basilica as very over priced, 6 euro for one coke, more fool them, never went back, all in all we had a great time, would I come back, probably, thank you Amalfi for a lovely stay.



Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob123Sing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for your kind feedback.

We're glad you had an enjoyable stay at the Hotel Amalfi.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stayed here over New Years Eve. the personnel was very friendly, the location good but the room was very small and had a view on a dead wall. It was kind of pricy but that could have been because of the holidays.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frans d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest;

We're sad that the size of the room didn't satisfy you.

If we had known we would have offered a more comfortable room.

We remind all customers that we are always available for any need :)

We hope to host you in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Hotel Amalfi was a small hotel a few minutes away from the station - very nice rooms and great service for the price paid. Breakfast was good, staff generally friendly and helpful, a relatively quick walk to the Colosseum and very close to the train station - but a little bit far away from the "heart" of Rome, which makes going out at night a little harder since it's a very far walk from the action. I would definitely still recommend it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Calvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I spent a night at the Hotel Amalfi in Rome last week. I was looking for a hotel with good reviews on Trip Advisor and a pleasant comfortable place to sleep. I definitely found it at the Hotel Amalfi. From the moment I was greeted by the charming and handsome Francesco to the moment I left I had a great experience!

The room was small-ish but completely spotless, and had everything I needed. The bathroom was also smallish (typical European) but also spotless. Although the hotel is as others have mentioned on a busy street it is well insulated and I had a lovely night of sleep. There are tons of restaurants and shopping nearby, and it is also located very near the Termine as well as a taxi stand for quick transport.. It is also within very close walking distance of the Colliseum and Forum which made for an interesting evening stroll.

I would definitely stay again. It was a very, affordable and comfortable place to stay--perhaps even to see the handsome Francesco again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#73 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#79 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#106 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#91 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#101 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#125 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Hotel

Property: Amalfi Hotel
Address: Via Merulana 278, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalfi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historic building just few minutes walking from the Colosseum and with views of the Basilica and piazza Santa Maria Maggiore, Hotel Amalfi is a familiar, charming 3-star hotel in the historic center of Rome that welcomes its guests with all the care and attention that a small hotel can provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Amalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing