We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centralt beläget hotell”
Review of Amalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amalfi Hotel
Ranked #94 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The location of the hotel is very good for visiting Rome. All the major places are within a walking distance. Also the train station was a walking distance. The staff was very friendly and forthcoming. They gladly helped us with information regarding museums, distances, transport, restaurants etc. The rooms were small but even if we stayed for 5 nights it was not a problem. Normally you do not spend that much time in the rooms anyway. The bathroom was ok except the space between the toilette chair and the shower panel. There was simply no room for your legs. The shower had very poor pressure. The breakfast, which was included in the price, was of a standard type. The size of the breakfast room was too small. You had to wait to get a table every morning. The hotel was very clean.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StudioK187241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014
Google Translation

Kära gäst,

Tack för att du kommenterar.

Vi är glada för dina fina ord.

Vi planerar att göra några förändringar till det mått av frukostrummet inom en snar framtid!

Hälsningar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located, 10 mins walk from the station, 15 mins walk from the Colosseum and the forum, and within easy reach by Metro of the Vatican (probably the only site you wouldn't walk to from the hotel). There are lots of cafes and restaurants locally, many of them really well priced. The hotel is clean, comfortable and the staff are welcoming and helpful.

Thank Bigfrank49
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at the Amalfi Hotel.

It is a pleasure to hear that your time spent with us was enjoyable.

Looking forward in welcoming you back at the Amalfi Hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the end of February having been impressed by the reviews on TA
We travelled down to Naples for the Swansea city v Napoli game.
Couldn't fault the hotel.
Lovely welcoming people good breakfast
Central location minimal noise despite being on busy Main Street
Wouldn't hesitate booking again if we visit Rome in the future.
Would recommend to friends and family

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank YogibearandBooBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time for reviewing us!

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Amalfi Hotel and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for the rugby weekend just gone. Like all city centre hotels it is quite compact and bijoux but is a place to put your head of an evening. The room was comfortable and has the amenities you would expect. Breakfast was plentiful and varied. On the 3rd morning we could not get in at the time we wanted and concerned lady made every effort to get hold of us once a space was free. She gave us a pack up to take with us for our trouble.

The room had good shutters and double glazing. You could not hear much going on outside in the city streets.

Certainly we would go back there again when in Rome.......

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for sharing your review with Tripadvisor users.

We are happy to know about your satisfaction.

We hope to see you soon at the Amalfi Hotel!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Very helpful staff at this family run hotel.

Small, dining area, but very homely, staffed for a continental breakfast by Natalie, who did not speak much English, but was excellent at looking after us.

Very comfortable bed in a smallish, but perfectly adequate room.

Small lift, but this is not uncommon, in hotels that may have been family homes prior to being hotels.

No trouble in recommending this hotel for a short. City break in Rome.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We wish to thankyou for reviewing us.

We're happy you had a nice stay in our Hotel.

We hope to host you again!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed at the Amalfi hotel for 3 nights. The Hotel is located on Via Merulana and in the vicinity of the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore. Roma Train Station Is just over a 5 mins walk.
We were greeted on arrival and swiftly checked in. Many people saying about the size of room! yes it's small but this didn't bother us as it was clean and perfect for our stay and we would only be here for a comfortable sleep.
Continental breakfast is served from 0730-0930 and is a great start to the day. Croissants, ham, cheese, break, yogurts, and cake along with freshly served coffee.
The colosseum is just under 20 mins walk away and other attractions within walking distance. This makes a great base to explore. We were also able to store our luggage on the last day as our flight back was early evening. Be mindful of the city tax at the end of your stay as we weren't made aware of this. It's €2 per person per night.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate staying again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mw238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for leaving your opinion on TA.

We're happy that you appreciated our location.

We hope to host you again in our Hotel.

As you stressed there is a city tax in Rome:
at the moment is 2 Euro per person per night.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed at the Amalfi on a last minute deal. The hotel is just down the road from Santa Maria Maggiore so is a good base to start from. The area is a little run down and although is fine in the day time, would be a little worrying at night for the older clientele. The hotel itself is clean and and comfortable, fantastic shower and pleasant English speaking hosts. The rooms are on the smaller side but that doesn't really matter as you will be out most of the time sampling what Rome has to offer. The walls are very thin so you can here what's going on in other rooms which can be a bit of a nuisance, but saying that it didn't stop us having a decent nights sleep. It's very near the Colliseum and not far from the nearest Metro station. A couple of good restaurants nearby, pricey but you are in Rome. Found an excellent bar at the end of the street called ipastichio or something similar, cocktails, pastrys etc all reasonably priced, do not go to the cafe on the corner of the basilica as very over priced, 6 euro for one coke, more fool them, never went back, all in all we had a great time, would I come back, probably, thank you Amalfi for a lovely stay.



Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bob123Sing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for your kind feedback.

We're glad you had an enjoyable stay at the Hotel Amalfi.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#98 of 1,271 in Rome
983 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#84 of 1,271 in Rome
2,540 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#68 of 1,271 in Rome
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#148 of 1,271 in Rome
678 reviews
Esquilino
Mecenate Palace
Mecenate Palace
#167 of 1,271 in Rome
1,749 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,271 in Rome
2,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Hotel

Address: Via Merulana 278, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £50 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalfi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historic building just few minutes walking from the Colosseum and with views of the Basilica and piazza Santa Maria Maggiore, Hotel Amalfi is a familiar, charming 3-star hotel in the historic center of Rome that welcomes its guests with all the care and attention that a small hotel can provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing