We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at lovely hotel:)”
Review of Amalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amalfi Hotel
Ranked #102 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Shoreham
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at lovely hotel:)”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights from 20th April. Rooms are small but no need for anything else on a short stay, very clean. Staff are so friendly and helpful even got heartshaped chocolate sprinkle on my morning capuccino! Francesco organised 2 of the restaurants we ate in and both very good. Wifi very easy to use and an excellent little safe to store anything you don't want to carry around everyday. I read in earlier feed backs about thin walls, but we only heard the odd door opening and occasional small chat. The view out to Santa Maria Maggiore is quite something and starts the day off well when you check out the weather in the morning! I recommend the Amalfi without hesitation if you are looking for a small friendly family run hotel. Colosseum only 10 minute walkaway.....all perfect:) Thank you all for our lovely stay! We'll be back:)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swenglish43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We're very happy that you had a nice stay with us and that you appreciated our suggestions and the location of the Hotel.

We really hope to see you again in the future!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    355
    70
    17
    4
See reviews for
169
479
72
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed four nights at the Amalfi. From the great breakfasts, the easy WiFi access to the small touches. We had followed instructions that no items should be placed in the room fridge bar and had put some milk in the sink to stay fresh. We came back from our first day in Rome and the milk had been put in the fridge.
Kettle and cups can be requested. And did I say how great the breakfasts were.
The lift is very cosy.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoat4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for your nice review!

We're happy you had a nice stay with us!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at hotel Amalfi on the first leg of our honeymoon. The staff were extremely welcoming and professional and we felt comfortable from the moment we arrived. The atmosphere is unlike that experienced at large hotel chains and it felt like a home from home. The breakfast did the job and the hotel is located close to the tube and a reasonable (10mins when you find your bearings) walk from the colosseum and other great attractions. The room was small but we both fit in and we weren't concerned about the room as we wanted to spend most of our time exploring the city. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CiaranMacGiolla86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We're glad you had a nice stay in our family hotel!

Hope to see you in the future!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Family-run hotel, with very pleasant, helpful staff who make you feel at home immediately. Our room was small-ish, but perfectly adequate, with an English TV channel, and kettle/cups/sachets of tea and biscuits free on request, as well as a safe and hair dryer. The bed was fine for me, perhaps a bit short for my 6-foot husband! And the lift is very small, but big enough for 2 people. Breakfast choice ok, breakfast coffee MAGNIFICENT! Made by Natasha, a really nice lady in the breakfast room. Would recommend, and will go back. Thank you for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Good sleep quality at back of hotel, not overlooking the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for reviewing us!

Looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Москва, Россия
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Small hotel with very good location is close to train station and all the sights. There was friendly stuff and good breakfast. We were in the winter and it was very hot due to the heating radiator. But please note that it's very noisy because of streets and roads

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia_Ponkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for you review!

We're happy you likes our Hotel and our Staff!

We're sad you didn't sleep very well cause of the street noise but we suggest, for everyone who likes to sleep with open windows (if is closed we have double glazed windows), to ask a room on the back side of the Hotel cause we're in the hearth of one of the biggest city in the world and there is traffic!

Next time advise us so we can give you another room!

Looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Amalfi while we were in Rome and enjoyed our stay. It's in a good location, convenient to the Termini which was wonderful in dealing with luggage.

The room was small but clean and neat. The beds were comfortable and we didn't have any problems with noise while sleeping. This seems basic, but after staying in other 3 star establishments in Italy and finding hair on the pillows/sheets, run down dirty floors and paper thin walls...well, the Amalfi does a fantastic job!

Breakfast was great! The woman who works in the breakfast room was so friendly and sweet! I just loved her! The food was plentiful, fresh and good--my husband enjoyed the sausage and cheese, I enjoyed the boiled eggs and applesauce (which weren't offered at any of the other 4 hotels we stayed at on this trip).

We had a mix up about being charged for breakfast because we had booked through a third party. The Amalfi website states that breakfast is complimentary and when we checked into the room we were told when breakfast was served but not about any pricing (confirming our belief that it was indeed complimentary). When checking out, we were surprised with a bill that was much larger than anticipated. The clerk was kind and knocked off a few Euro after explaining that we should look at the fine print. I agree with that assessment and I'm careful to do so, but if you stay here and are watching your funds, double check because the whole thing was misleading. The breakfast was delicious, but had we known we were paying for the service we probably would have found a different alternative.

In spite of this mix up, the Amalfi hotel was one of my favorite hotels in Italy. It was a very good value and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mensamouse85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you posting your personal opinion about the Hotel Amalfi.

I am happy to read your considerations about our breakfast buffet and our location.

The breakfast is always included in the price if you book directly with us.

In this case you book with a third part that didn't include the breakfast in the price.

I'm sorry you were not advised before.

Hope to see you in the future!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We had a very pleasant and comfortable stay in this friendly hotel. There was a very good choice for breakfast and the waitress was so cheery and welcoming always greeting everyone with a smile, I found the hotel to be very clean and the beds were comfortable, handy for the bus and train terminals and of course next to Santa Maria Maggiore

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anita1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting a review regarding your stay with us.

I am delighted to understand that you have enjoyed our hotel and the staff of the Hotel.

Looking forward to host you again the future!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#99 of 1,258 in Rome
841 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#59 of 1,258 in Rome
715 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#97 of 1,258 in Rome
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#90 of 1,258 in Rome
662 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#78 of 1,258 in Rome
2,452 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#113 of 1,258 in Rome
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Hotel

Property: Amalfi Hotel
Address: Via Merulana 278, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalfi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historic building just few minutes walking from the Colosseum and with views of the Basilica and piazza Santa Maria Maggiore, Hotel Amalfi is a familiar, charming 3-star hotel in the historic center of Rome that welcomes its guests with all the care and attention that a small hotel can provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Amalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing