We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a place”
Review of Amalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amalfi Hotel
Ranked #84 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

What a smashing little hotel. Staff are fantastic & very helpful. Basic breakfast but really not an issue. We didn't fancy a huge meal as it was so hot when we were there.
Please remember, this is Rome! If you want entertainment & hotel bar then go elsewhere. Plenty of restaurants around the area. We usually ate out in the Monti area. Go down the backstreets rather than the main drags. Felt quite safe.
Our room was small & basic but spotlessly clean.
Hotel 10 mins walk from Termini. We booked a transfer through the hotel on return which worked out cheaper than the train.
About 15 mins from The Colosseum, which we went to every night for our "passeggiata".
Really can't fault this place. Would definitely return/recommend.
Grazie mille :)

Room Tip: We had room 424, quite small but we didn't mind, no view but as it's at the back of hotel, r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Atomicjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (982)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 982 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

If you are looking for a 5star fancy hotel then the Amalfi is not for you. But if you are looking for a lovely b&b style accommodation in a great central location then this is perfect. Was welcomed when we arrived to reception and directed up to our room. The staff were all very friendly. The room was basic but clean and perfectly comfortable. Restaurants and bars are located within easy walking distance and the reception staff were able to direct us to various places. Would definitely recommend. We got to the hotel using a shuttle transfer from the airport. It was 15euros each and dropped us right outside the hotel. The journey from the airport was about 40minutes. When leavin the Amalfi the receptionist kindly called us a taxi.

Room Tip: We had room 315 which was comfortable and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EnglandLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Amalfi Hotel was a great hotel for our first trip to Rome.

The rooms are clean and have everything you need. Our room had a view as in the hotel photo on this page (with the flags) and had a stunning view of the basilica Santa de Mary of Maggiore.

The breakfasts were great and there was plenty to choose from (hot and cold) to set you up for a busy day sightseeing! The lady who helped in the breakfast room was lovely and could not be more helpful as were all the staff.

All the major attractions (Colosseum, Roman Forum, Palatine, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain) are within half an hours walk (maximum) of the hotel.

Finally, we would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Rome and we hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The check in was easy and friendly. My room ( single #103) had very high ceiling with a skylight and remote which was awesome! Floors are marble and the room kept immaculate. Breakfast and the ladies were cheerful and friendly. Location is very close to the basilica Santa de Mary of Maggiore which is stunningly beautiful inside. However the neighborhood surrounding is pretty sketchy and after dark I wouldn't recommend strolling alone. It's a bit of a walk to any of the sights but can be done if you aren't trying to cram too much into your visit. There's a great little pizza and pasta shop a few doors down for take away food very reasonably priced

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RytNow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel is in a good location with both attractions and restaurants nearby, and a shortish walk from the railway station. The hotel is tastfully decorated although our bedroom was very small with only space to hang clothes with no drawers (but they do find space for a mini bar). The breakfast room isn't big but the food on offer was nice. The biggest plus for this familyrun hotel is the staff. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, even recommending a nearby restaurant and calling them to ensure we arrived ok!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Art M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest

We are happy to know you had a good time wih us!

Thanks for enjoying our service and the breakfast !

Looking forward to host you again the future!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

First class family run hotel. Rooms were excellent, cleanliness excellent. Facilities in bathrooms were also excellent. The lady who looked after breakfast was a really treasure. The owners were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble, they were always smiling. We would return with no hesitation.

Room Tip: We asked if we could have a large room when we booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MHarper2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We're glad that you liked our family Hotel!

We hope to see you again in the future!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Our first time in Rome was made all the more enjoyable because of the friendly welcome we received upon our arrival. The hotel is a family run hotel & the staff could not do enough for us.
My wife & I were given a smaller room than we had anticipated on arrival & when I asked if it would be possible to have a larger room it was done the same day with a fantastic view over looking the city. I forgot my adaptors & again I only had to enquire once & I was given 2 adaptors to use during our stay . lBreakfast was good & service again a high standard. The Hotel has been run for the last 30 years by the same family & we can fully recommend it .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for sharing such a beautiful review with TA users!

We do hope to host you again in the future!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#100 of 1,272 in Rome
1,028 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#81 of 1,272 in Rome
2,584 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#77 of 1,272 in Rome
2,747 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#226 of 1,272 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#72 of 1,272 in Rome
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Hotel

Address: Via Merulana 278, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £65 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalfi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historic building just few minutes walking from the Colosseum and with views of the Basilica and piazza Santa Maria Maggiore, Hotel Amalfi is a familiar, charming 3-star hotel in the historic center of Rome that welcomes its guests with all the care and attention that a small hotel can provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing