We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Wendy H
Toddington, United Kingdom

Well placed hotel

Review of Hotel Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Feb 2020
This hotel is great if you want to be within walking distance of a multitude of nice restaurants and historical sites (also close to station). The rooms are pretty small and the shower was tiny with a rather weak flow of water. I also found the bed incredibly hard although my husband was Ok with it! The frescos on the ceilings of all the rooms are a nice touch and the staff were lovely. Breakfast was adequate but nothing fancy.
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francesco Nigro, Direttore generale at Hotel Amalfi, responded to this review
Responded 29 Feb 2020
Dear Wendy H,

Thanks for reviewing us!

We are pleased you enjoyed the excellent location in front of Santa Maria Maggiore (whose ceiling is adorned with the first gold from the new world), near the central station and a few steps from the Colosseo.

The frescoes that decorate our historic structure (there are only 176 historic hotels in Rome) are a feature that makes the Amalfi Hotel unique in Italy.

In every room there is an orthopedic beds the could be hard for people used to very soft mattress.
But just advise us and we can change with a softer mattress or use a soft topper!

Rest is very important and we are able, if advised, to meet different needs. Unfortunately, there is no a mattress suitable for everyone!

We really hope to host you again in the future!

Do not forget to contact us before arrival via email for the best offers, the free breakfast and to organize your stay in all details (internal / external room, shower / bathtub, soft / hard mattress, high floor / low floor etc. ).

We are here for you!

Regards
Hotel Amalfi
Francesco Nigro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£357
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £359
  • Skyscanner.com
    £306
  • Hotels.com
    £359
0.4 miles from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£345
  • Expedia.com
    £994
  • Skyscanner.com
    £253
  • Hotels.com
    £950
0.2 miles from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
Room service
£270
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £263
  • Skyscanner.com
    £233
  • Priceline
    £270
0.5 miles from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
Room service
£111
  • Expedia.com
    £99
  • Vio.com
    £94
  • Priceline
    £103
4.7 miles from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
Free parking
£150
  • Expedia.com
    £160
  • Vio.com
    £135
  • Hotels.com
    £160
2.2 miles from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
£313
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £297
  • Expedia.com
    £300
  • Hotels.com
    £329
0.9 miles from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£109
  • Priceline
    £97
  • Expedia.com
    £128
  • Hotels.com
    £128
0.7 miles from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
£204
  • Expedia.com
    £204
  • travelup.com
    £199
  • Priceline
    £224
3.8 miles from Hotel Amalfi
Free parking
Pool
£189
  • Agoda.com
    £147
  • Booking.com
  • Official Hotel Site
1.3 miles from Hotel Amalfi
Free Wifi
£101
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £106
  • Vio.com
    £89
  • Hotels.com
    £106
5.2 miles from Hotel Amalfi
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Rome
Reviews (1,280)
Filter reviews
1,280 results
Traveller rating
712
450
91
23
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
712
450
91
23
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews termini station small hotel minute walk walking distance convenient location friendly hotel roman forum main attractions spanish steps vatican maggiore sights bus minibar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 1,280 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2020

Like most inner-city hotels in older buildings the room is on the 'bijou' side and en suite is also very 'compact' but the location, service and value more than make up for this. Everything was clean and it decent order, and the staff were all friendly and helpful. There are brilliant bars and restaurants with a short staggering distances and beautiful historic sites within metres. Grazie mille to everyone at the Amalfi Hotel.

Date of stay: February 2020
2  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francesco Nigro, Direttore generale at Hotel Amalfi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2020

Dear Chris T,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review!

We're glad you have enjoyed our fantastic location that allow to visit all the historic sites very easily.

The Staff is always available before, during and after your stay!

Cannot wait to see you again in sunny Roma!

Regards
Hotel Amalfi
Francesco Nigro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2020

I chose the Amalfi for it being very good value in a convenient location. I appreciated the old fashioned style, friendliness and cosiness. My single room was pretty tiny but that’s fine with me and the bathroom was actually quite roomy, updated and very clean. It just bothered me a little that I couldn’t control the room temperature; it was a bit chilly one evening. The wifi in my room was terrible, but later I learned that there were all sorts of boosters or adaptors I could have asked for at reception. There was enough selection in the cheery breakfast room to have a good breakfast before heading out each day. I would happily stay at the Amalfi again.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Escapade10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francesco Nigro, General Manager at Hotel Amalfi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2020

Dear Escapade10,

Thank you for sharing your feedback!

We're glad you enjoyed the central location (10 minutes walking from the Colosseum) of our historical hotel!

I'm sorry for the temperuture a bit chilly but I confirm that we have independent heaters available for those who do not consider general heating sufficient.

We are sorry that you had problems with the wifi and we confirm that we can solve the problem easily if notified.

We look forward to seeing you at the next visit, remembering to contact us directly via email for the best special offer!

Regards
Hotel Amalfi
Francesco Nigro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2020

Perfect location. Near to train station with Leonardo express to airport. All historical buildings also near - less then hour walking to Vatican! Perfect breakfast. Special thank for Natalja! Delicious coffe!

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ArtyomsIvanovs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francesco Nigro, General Manager at Hotel Amalfi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2020

Dear ArtyomsIvanovs,

Thank you for your beautiful post and for appreciating our location near the Colosseum and the breakfast!

Do not forget the next time in Rome to email us!

Regards
Hotel Amalfi
Francesco Nigro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2020

Our stay at the Amalfi was wonderful. The room was great, clean and we love the Italian flair. The staff was great and really made us feel at home. The food was amazing. Everyone was so kind and helpful

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
fran076, Direttore at Hotel Amalfi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2020

Deat stevenamith52,

Thank you for taking the time for reviewing us!

We're really happy you had a nice stay with us and you have enjoyed the staff and the italian flair of our historical hotel!

We wait for your next stay in your home in Rome!

Regards
Hotel Amalfi
Fra N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2020

walking distance to all must see objects,clean and cosy rooms. Very welcoming receptionists and also the lady during the breakfast time,cheered us up for the rest of the day. Would come back for sure!

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 806karolinaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
fran076, Direttore at Hotel Amalfi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2020

Dear 806karolinaj,

Thank you so much for taking the time for sharing your opinion!

We're really glad you ahd a great stay with us.

We wait for your next stay in Roma!

Do not forget to contact us by eamil to get the best offer.

Regards
Hotel Amalfi
Fra N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews