We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Choice.”
Review of Mecenate Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mecenate Palace
Ranked #167 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Choice.”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I choose this hotel as a "treat" for my last night after traveling in Italy for 4 weeks. I booked and prepaid through the hotels website a few months in advance. I booked the Presidential Suite which was amazing. Top floor, HUGE terrace and big rooms. A great way to end an amazing trip to Italy. My only critique on the room is to install a proper shower attachment to the wall and the wifi was a little spotty, which for the price of this room should have been spot on. I had dinner in the rooftop restaurant and the food was amazing. My only critique is on the restaurant is they didn't serve non alcoholic beer (as I don't drink alcohol) which I found odd for the caliber of this restaurant (and bar downstairs). Most other places restaurants I went to in Italy offered non alcoholic beer. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suitetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    653
    176
    59
    55
See reviews for
359
703
52
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I had the best Roman experience, it's located in one of the best locations in Rome. Everything i needed was close by. (Architecture, transport, entertainment, piazzas, and restaurants)

The hotel is beautiful.
It has a very antique roman feeling to it, it is like entering in a time machine.
I loved my room, it was clean, comfortable, and it had a great window view.
Furthermore, the food service was excellent and the Roof lounge is just spectacular. Situated on the highest hill in Rome you get one of the best vistas.

The staff is really friendly and very helpful.
I will definitely come back.
I had an incredible experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Memo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was my first visit to Rome and this hotel was an excellent place to stay. The location was great, the staff was friendly and helpful. The view from our room was beautiful and the hotel was very clean and quiet.The roof top restaurant was the best thing about the hotel,it was great for the morning breakfasts and also after a long day fighting the crowds of Rome dinner their was relaxing and the food was excellent. I ordered a spicy pasta that wasn't even on the menu and it was great. After dinner the chef came and showed my the chilies he used to make the dish. If I go back to Rome I will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the church
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

I have been several times to Mecenate Palace in Rome and I will for sure stay there next time I'll go back to the ethernal city. It is not only very well located on top of Rome's highest hill, Esquilino, but it also offers great food and very comfortable rooms. Rooms are clean and very comfortable, some of them offering spectacular view over the adjacent Basilica S. Maria Maggiore, one of Rome's most famous churches where even the Pope goes a couple of times a year. The view from the terrace is stunning and all the very friendly staff serve great drinks and superb food. Their famous "aperitivo" at sunset is just an unforgettable experience that everybody should try at least once in a lifetime!!! Francesco and Andrea are just amazing chefs who are able to surprise guests with a great variety of top-quality Italian dishes, both classic and sophisticated ones. But never end a dinner without their authentic Limoncello from Amalfi, absolutely the best in town!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Francsp73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
english
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was our second visit to this Hotel, as before we had superior rooms overlooking the basilica Santa Maria Magiore ,lovely views and within easy walking distance to the colusseum and other places of interest,there are lots of little cafés and plenty of places to eat very close by. Hotel cannot be beaten for cleanliness, sheets and towels changed daily, the staff are all helpful . Very good choice and selection for self serve breakfast,cereal ,toast,fresh breads,hot dog style sausages,hard boiled eggs,yoghurt,meats and cheeses, and lots of pastries and cake, fresh juices and bottled water.With coffee pots and tea pots brought piping hot to your table,
Our beds were over six feet wide, and very comfortable, with extra pillows and covers in the wardrobe,
The safe worked fine,
Bedside tables, a table , two chairs sideboard/dressing table and TV
Dressing gowns and slippers were provided,along with bathroom essentials.
Air con quiet

Room Tip: Superior rooms overlook The Bascilica
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mummy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
163 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

This is a beatiful old style hotel with a breathtaking view from the roof top restaurant were you also have breakfast. The rooms are very small but ok, but the bed (for two) is narrow and very hard, there are need for refurbation. The location is a bit off, there are no really nice places to eat around, we walked a lot to get to all attractions except the coliseum.
I would recommend to book a hotel more around fontana di trevi or piazza navone.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SwedenMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We just came back from 2 days rome and picked me engage palace because of location since we arrived by train and its only 10 min walk from trainstation at a beautiful piazza with lots of cafe.s and shops
Room was small but we upgraded to a bigger room and that was fine
Clean free wifi and good bed what more do u want
Breakfast on the rooftop was fine could have some more fresh fruit but overall good
I want to give a special thanks to the rooftop bar tender Francesco he was great band the chef also who made us a delicious spicy pasta on request drinks are amazing and food delicious you definitely have to go up there in the evening!
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend if you arrive by train
Also the limo from the hotel took us to the airport very nice service and not much more than taxi

Room Tip: Check your room before they have different sizes
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josee309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#92 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#176 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#130 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#157 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,578 reviews
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#168 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mecenate Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mecenate Palace

Property: Mecenate Palace
Address: Via Carlo Alberto 3, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#163 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#181 Family Hotel in Rome
#195 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mecenate Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a 4-star luxury hotel, located in the historical centre of Rome, near by Colosseum and Roman Forum, overlooking the breathtaking façade of Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore and the Eternal City's unique skyline.Dimora dell'800 confort del 2000. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mecenate Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome
Mecenate Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing