We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 stars at best, definitely not 4 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Ranked #218 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“3 stars at best, definitely not 4 stars”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My objective opinion: Staff is excellent but hotel rooms are a bit old and beat up, definitely not 3 stars. NO IRONING ALLOWED in any rooms. For many, this won't be an issue, but I travel with many dress shirts as I like to dress well while on vacation and was unable to iron. They do offer ironing services, but I'd rather do it myself. Aside from that it's a bit difficult to find due to the map picture not being totally accurate. The free breakfast is great though, very good food.

Verdict: Great staff, great breakfast, poor room quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    390
    91
    45
    23
See reviews for
209
441
28
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel has wonderful staff, but the location/rooms/costs are not of 'value.'

Located along the river North of Piazza Navona, the hotels sits in on the edge of the residential and tourist section. A bit far from all the key spots, eg. not centrally located. 40 minutes to the Vatican, 25 to Piazza Navona, 40 to the Colosseum, 10 to the Spanish Steps...

The rooms were very small, very. While nicely appointed, Our room had severe water damage that a faint attempt to be temporarily masked.

the bed - ouch - soft and lumpy.

We had 3 rooms and all had similar problems. Again, very nicely appointed.

Value: A week earlier we stayed near Piazza Navona at 1/2 the price. Twice the size room and a lot better location. Not as chic, but no water damage, very clean, safe, great staff and fantastic breakfast - a review is posted

Why did we stay here? A tour group we were with had it as the last hotel and we decided to go with the flow.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

There’s what I liked about this hotel: by far this hotel had the best breakfast – hot & cold choices. The rooms were nice, clean and spacious. There is a patio bar/restaurant that serves food although the menu is limited, but you can get sandwiches and pasta. It is in walking distance to the Metro station (2 – 3 blocks). If you REALLY like to walk you can walk to Vatican City and many other landmarks i.e. Trevi fountains, Spanish steps, Pantheon and lots more. The neighborhood seems more residential than commercial.

The cons: - although the Wi-Fi is free however it disconnects within seconds of inactivity (like going to the bathroom) and you have to reenter the password again. Only 1 key per room, so if you have a roommate better to leave the key at the front desk when leaving the hotel – first person back can pick-up. To find a restaurant near the hotel, will need to walk a few blocks to the main street. Not a far walk but if walking back late you may not see another on the street as you near the hotel because it’s mostly residential.

Overall, I liked this hotel very much. Recommended to a friend who did stay there and liked it as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhillaryg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Enjoyed recent stay here with a biking group. Generous breakfast buffet spread with eggs, "real" coffee, excellent fruit, juice, and assorted cheeses & meat samplers. The most friendly and accessible staff during our entire stay in Italy. The hotel manager or front desk concierge went out of his way to assist us with directions, restaurant choices, cab assistance, and general information about Rome sights. We observed him being unusually patient and accommodating with some extremely nervy and needy guests! Very close proximity to the Metro, which can take you straight to the Coliseum. Also close walking distance to various plazas, gelato choices, pizzeries, trattorias, restaurants, & other must-see sights (the Castle, the Vatican, etc). After a day of exploring, there's a relaxing outdoor garden area for enjoying afternoon wine and "happy hour" snacks. The server at the hotel bar is outgoing, cheerful, and just plain exceptional --- he consistently extended himself to make sure we had everything we needed; a true gem of an employee. Easy wi-fi access from the lobby, breakfast area, or garden. Highly recommend this hotel for good value & excellent service in Rome.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollisJ_dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Please disregard all the good reviews for this hotel. The nice and clean pictures are probably from 10-15 years ago.
The carpets were so dirty with disgusting stains on them. The free internet was slower than ancient dial ups and the bathroom had mold growing on the ceiling. Although, I should say the bathrooms were renovated and clean. My only problem was I paid and booked a so called "clean" 4 star hotel and had to sleep in a semi-clean 3 star. It wasn't too bad if it was listed as 2.5 or 3. Will not stay there again for sure as there are plenty of better options as I learned later.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelenthusiast87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandnes, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Nice looking hotel with close walking distance to city centre. Still we were very amazed there was no internet in the hotel room nor any english tv channles for non italian speaking tourists(!). Also one night we wanted to order in pizza but was not given any assistance from the front desk and had to fix it ourselves. Rome itself is a very overprized city and especially hotels - hence we did not feel to receive our value for our money at this hotel.

to conclude the pros:
- nice and quiet location
- beautifully decorated rooms (if you are into that stuff)
- good breakfast

cons:
- no internet in rooms
- inadequate service from staff
- no english tv channels

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We found this hotel by using one of the travel websites. It turned out to be a very excellent choice. The hotel is located on a side street in Rome, which makes it a nice, quiet neighborhood. However, it is only a ten-minute walk from the Piazza del Popolo where we found two of the best sidewalk restaurants we have ever eaten in, the Caffe' Rosati and the Ristorante Canova. The hotel is also about a 15-20 minute walk from the Vatican. Need a taxi? All the front desk has to do is click on the computer and a taxi will arrive at the front door within 5 minutes.

We stayed in what's known as a double superior room. It has more space in it than a regular room, free room service, free breakfast, and places to sit other than the bed. The room is kept exceptionally immaculate by a caring staff. The room is decorated in an old Italian style that is both beautiful and comfortable. It's not your sterile, chain hotel room. There is also a beautiful garden eating area in the back of the hotel where you can relax over a glass of wine and some light delicacies. One "negative" about the room is that the TV, which has a large number of cable channels available, only carries Italian-language programming. A few English language channels might have been nice, but it was fun to watch old American TV shows in Italian. The other "negative" is that the travel website (not the hotel's website) advertises free airport shuttle service. This is not true. The hotel will arrange a car service for you for only 60 Euros each way, or you can take a taxi to and from the airport for only 48 Euros.

If you visit Rome, and want to truly immerse yourself in Italian culture. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you choose the double superior room, you will get a larger space and more seating options than a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Farnese
Hotel Farnese
#103 of 1,258 in Rome
874 reviews
Prati
Twentyone Hotel
Twentyone Hotel
#201 of 1,258 in Rome
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Hotel Relais dei Papi
#217 of 1,258 in Rome
626 reviews
Prati
Hotel Diplomatic
Hotel Diplomatic
#225 of 1,258 in Rome
793 reviews
Prati
Hotel Cicerone
Hotel Cicerone
#543 of 1,258 in Rome
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giulio Cesare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giulio Cesare

Property: Hotel Giulio Cesare
Address: Via Degli Scipioni 287, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in Rome
#122 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#129 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#148 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giulio Cesare 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Giulio Cesare is the dream of every tourist: located in a quiet, pleasant street and yet within walking distance from St. Peter's Basilica, the Vatican Museum, Piazza del Popolo and the Spanish Steps, as well as all the fashionable shopping areas, like via Condotti.The building was once a patrician villa. While preserving the flavour and charm of the old times, all its facilities are designed to meet the needs of the most demanding guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Giulio Cesare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giulio Cesare Hotel
Giulio Cesare Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing