We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Ranked #221 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel Great Location”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here while spending a couple of days in Rome. Located in Prati near a metro station, can walk to the Vatican as well as Dal Toscano (See earlier review). Nice old hotel with quiet courtyard. Bartender was fantastic and very friendly. Breakfast buffet included. Our room had a balcony overlooking courtyard. We plan on staying there again when we are in Rome.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KABC1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    384
    88
    42
    23
See reviews for
205
433
27
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This was our 5th stay in Giulio Cesare and we are already looking forward to return back to Rome.
The hotel in conveniently located on a quiet side street. Just few minutes walk from Piazza del Popolo and Corso, there is also only a short walk to the Vatican as well. Via Cola di Rienzo an other great shopping street is just around the corner.
The Rooms are good in size (well above average size of hotel rooms in Rome), well cleaned and cozy. The staff at front desk are all extremely nice and always eager to help and the same applies with the staff at breakfast room as well. The breakfast is also very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Max2014FIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The Hotel Giulio Cesare was the perfect place for us! It is located in a very safe neighborhood and within easy walking distance of the Vatican. The rooms were small and the beds firm, but overall very clean and well-appointed. The morning breakfast buffet (complimentary!) was plentiful and truly delicious!! We also enjoyed the friendly staff, especially the bartender who made us feel right at home. I would certainly stay here again and would recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m5girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupont, Washington
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We have stayed numerous times throughout Rome. We decided to stay on this side of town for Christmas as we planned to attend Mass at the Vatican. It was indeed a very good choice. The staff is very professional and will provide great recommendations for restaurants to shopping options. The breakfast crew is on the mark with a great wake up meal and a smile or two. Our room was very quiet and had plenty of room to move about in and was cleaned daily. Within a five minute walk is the Lepanto underground station and you can get a day pass from the machine and travel to all the popular sites from there. We also walked from the hotel to Via del Corso within 10 minutes. This hotel was ideal for it's use as a rest spot. There are some fantastic restaurants within a few minutes walk through some very quiet neighborhoods. Please enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank williamg907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The first time I stayed in this hotel was in 1987; I was booked there by my hosts from Rome. It was a business trip and the hotel was within walking distance from the meeting place - an old palazzo. I remembered fondly that it was elegant with period furniture and very helpful staff. And that it was within walking distance from most of the sites in Rome including the Vatican. So, on this trip with my wife, I booked our stay and hoped that things had not changed after all these years. They had not. The hotel is very well maintained, everything worked very well, the breakfasts were excellent with different Italian cakes and specialties each day. My wife loved it; the public areas were very comfortable and inviting and the staff went out of its way to help us. Their recommendations for places to dine in the area turned out to be exceptional. We walked for hours and hours in Rome and it was a pleasure to return to the hotel and relax before going out for dinner.

Room Tip: We asked for a superior room; we were on the top floor and we had a great view from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahl7300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This hotel is small, older, very well maintained, and well located, with a very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are quiet, even at street level. Breakfast was quite nice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCD-onthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusby, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This was my second visit -- the first with my thirty something son several years ago and now my thirty something daughter. We both enjoyed coming back to a clean quiet room after hectic days looking at ruins. Yes, it's old and yes, the rooms are not large, but isn't that what Rome is all about - the charm of the old and sometimes quirky. If you are looking for modern, hip and bright - this will not be your cup of tea. The staff was great,everyone was pleasant and happy to assist you. The restaurant was charming and clean and breakfast was very good although figuring out the coffee was a bit different. I like the location; it's just enough off the beaten path that late night noise isn't a problem. If you don't mind walking, the bridge at the end of the street takes you into the oldest part of Rome. Walking in the oposite direction you're not too far from the Vatican, Castle St. Angelo and the Hop on Hop Off buses. The metro is one block over and there are some nice restaurants within walking distance. For two women alone it felt very safe. And, the price made my pocketbook happy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swanfilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Farnese
Hotel Farnese
#109 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Prati
Twentyone Hotel
Twentyone Hotel
#198 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Gerber
Hotel Gerber
#373 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#74 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Prati
Le Meridien Visconti Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giulio Cesare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giulio Cesare

Property: Hotel Giulio Cesare
Address: Via Degli Scipioni 287, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in Rome
#126 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#129 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#148 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giulio Cesare 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Giulio Cesare is the dream of every tourist: located in a quiet, pleasant street and yet within walking distance from St. Peter's Basilica, the Vatican Museum, Piazza del Popolo and the Spanish Steps, as well as all the fashionable shopping areas, like via Condotti.The building was once a patrician villa. While preserving the flavour and charm of the old times, all its facilities are designed to meet the needs of the most demanding guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Giulio Cesare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giulio Cesare Hotel
Giulio Cesare Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing