We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel in quiet part of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Ranked #221 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel in quiet part of town”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a typical, italian, luxe hotel. It is located in a quiet neighborhood, far from the crazy tourist attractions but an easy walk to the Spanish Steps, the Vatican, the Lepanto metro stop. Rooms are adequate size for two people. The a/c is central so we were quite warm when the temperatures topped 90 degrees. Breakfast is nothing special but certainly adequate. Wi-fi went in and out but when available, good strength. Ask for the fourth or fifth floor for nice views, but one can also go up to the roof. Also, ask to be as far as possible from the elevator. An electronic voice announces every time it comes to the floor, which was annoying when one wanted to sleep. Small bar with minimal food offerings, but plenty of neighborhood restaurants around.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank cookielover54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    384
    88
    42
    23
See reviews for
205
433
27
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
River Vale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Spent 3 nights with here with Central Holiday Tour and were extremely disappointed! Hotel website is extremely misleading-flags on exterior all dirty and worn-hotel entrance dirty and all rooms on first floor emit a stale, moldy and musty odor. Carpeting worn, torn and dirty. 4th floor rooms offer better amenities and 5th floor offers hidden surprise with spectacular view. Hotel day time staff non-accommodating and rather cold-evening staff was superb! One very slow elevator that only accommodates four .Handicap beware! Absolutely no Wi-Fi service. Bar & food service hours limited with offerings even more limited. Lounge furniture and upholstery in major need of cleaning and refurbishing. Images of alfresco dining totally misrepresented on website. Garden and surrounding area not maintained. Visible areas of garden debris and garbage. No television in bar area-while all of Italy was watching the World Cup cheering on their home team we were relegated to watching it on our computers in the lobby!
Beware-Central Holiday Tour Groups-General Public-Stay Away

Room Tip: Avoid 1st floor rooms-choose 4th or 5th floor Make sure air conditioning is functioning properly
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eileent2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGiulioCesare, Proprietario at Hotel Giulio Cesare, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for spending your time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor.
I am very sorry to hear that your stay has been disappointing and that Central Holiday Tour hasn't met your expectations. Reading your review it really seems that you wanted underline your dissatisfaction with the tour you had booked. Concerning your complaint about different rooms we have inside hotel, please let me inform you that we offer our guests several room types with different sizes and categories (classic, superior, economy) depending their needs and budget,and all participants of your group have been accommodate in beautiful classic rooms as per Central Holiday request. In Rome, as most people know, most of hotels in the citycentre are located inside historical buildings, therefore sometimes all rooms may not be of the exact size The only differences among our rooms are: sizes, categories and types of room ( 1,2,3,4 persons) infact all of our rooms from 1st to the 5th floor are equal ones in cleaning and amenities.We are always very careful to the cleaning service as you can read in ALL other guests reviews. We do take our guests comments very seriously, as you well know web reputation has become a very important matter during last 5 years, but we find that bringing down a hotel's reputation for your personal gain isn't behaviour we wish to encourage.Concerning your complaint about lack of TV in yhe Lounge Area, we remember you that Hotel Giulio Cesare is a 4 stars hotel located in the heart of Rome and it isn't a Public Pub. All of our rooms are furnished of television LCD, therefore guests can comfortably watch the television in their own rooms. We apologize for the inconvenience with wi-fi connection but during your stay we had some technical issues, due to network updates in all Hotel's area and 1 month ago we have put a better speedy line with optics fiber and now connection is excellent. We are really astonished of your complaint about bar service and limited offerings as we receive only positive reviews about it. We therefore believe that your review is totally false.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I have only good things to say about this hotel, we loved it.

Location is excellent. Hotel is little out of the way in quieter part of town but still within walking distance from Vatican and Spanish Stairs. Subway station is within 200m as are major bus stops so you can get to any place in Rome fast and easily. Area is also lot better for shopping than the more 'touristy' parts of Rome.

Staff in this hotel are really friendly and helpful, breakfast buffet was great and we really loved the 'look and feel' of rooms.

Overall great hotel, fully recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tero77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

What an amazing hotel! On a 15 day tour of Italy and Malta, I never felt more welcome or more better situated than in this hotel. The staff are so friendly, the deep soaking bath tub is amazing, I had a view of St. Peter's from my room but everyone can have the same view from the rooftop - afterall, you're only about 10 blocks away. If you're going on USO tours, it's also only about 10 blocks from the USO office. From here, even Piramide station at the very south of the city was only an hour, very leisurely walk. But most tours either started or ended nearby, so it was such a convenient location.

And the breakfast is amazing! The waiters will make you any coffee drink you want, the selection is amazing, and it is all so delicious! I don't have enough good to say about this place. This is so beyond a 4 star hotel - probably because they don't have a spa and a bank like the 5 stars, but the service is the best I received on this trip so far. I wish I had stayed longer in Rome and at this hotel.

Room Tip: Request room 309 - it's a king bed or 2 double beds if that's okay, but it is a beautiful ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whiterose1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel has some real character and a beautiful, peaceful garden, perfect for an evening sundowner. It's a little way out of the centre of Rome in a very quiet district, but there is a Metro stop nearby if you don't fancy walking. Our room was quite small (on the 5th floor, where there is also a roof terrace), but perfectly adequate. Breakfast was good and all in all it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starburst08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We loved this hotel! Friendly staff! Lovely hotel! We were late one morning for breakfast and even though they were cleaning up and putting things away, the waiter went out of his way to get us some coffee and cakes which he still hadn't put away, he even wanted to make us some toast. We were very touched by his behavior. The hotel bartender is quite a character! We usually never have a drink at the bar but we laughed so much the first night that we ended up going back a couple of times just to see him. Advice to the hotel: Keep him!! The hotel is perfectly situated, walking distance to the Vatican, the old city, the shopping area and metro station but very quiet. Our room was great! Very clean and comfortable. We have recommended this hotel to our friends and we will go back next time we are in Rome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I've put a low rating for this hotel because it doesnt deserve a 4 star.
The main reason behind is the unacceptable attitude of the receptionists (I had the "chance" to meet 4 different of them) and they were ALL rude, never even said good morning sir or a fake smile.
However they become very reactive when it comes into sending you to their "recommended" over priced restaurants. We ordered a taxi to go to Termini station (less than 10 mns drive), I asked the price to make sure that we don't get trapped like at the "restaurant" - I have been told by the guy that it will cost between 25 - 30 eurs! Almost the price to go to the airport which is an hour drive away!
We declined and luckily we found a taxi in the street who took us there for 8.50 eur.
Rome is a nice city but quite dirty and stinky. I will certainly not go back, mainly because of the attitude of people who continuously try to abuse tourists.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluemarley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGiulioCesare, Direttore at Hotel Giulio Cesare, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Madame,
thank you for spending your time for your review on tripadvisor.
We are very sorry to read that your experience in Rome didn't meet your expectations and also
to read such a bad comment regarding our Reception Staff who has always been really appreciated by our guests for kindness and efficiency as you can read in all the other reviews.
ALL of our Receptionists work hard every day to make our guests' stay at Hotel Giulio Cesare the best ever. Your complaint seems indeed very strange because you haven't told me this attitude of the staff when I asked you if you was satisfied about your stay when I met you during your check-out.We believe that you were disappointed only for the misunderstanding with the Receptionist about the presumed rate of € 20,00 (and not € 25/30 as you wrote) he told you to pay for reaching Termini Station after your question. The Receptionist called one of the public taxi companies of Rome as usual and these taxis don't have fixed rates for passengers transportation, they have a taximeter and the price changes in relashionship to the time taxi takes to reach destination. He preferred to point out to you a maximum rate because once a guest made us a complaint because he paid more than the price that Receptionist supposed he had to pay due to heavy traffic during the trip . We also inform you that if you take a taxi from the Hotel you pay a bit more than if you catch it directly in the street because drivers apply an extra charge after being called. We offer that service to all our guests free of charge and Reception Staff doesn't receive any money from taxi companies. We hope that you can appreciate our hotel for the hospitality and services you've received during your stay
and hope as well that our explanation is clear enough to let you understand the situation.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Farnese
Hotel Farnese
#109 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Prati
Twentyone Hotel
Twentyone Hotel
#198 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Gerber
Hotel Gerber
#373 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#74 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Prati
Le Meridien Visconti Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giulio Cesare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giulio Cesare

Property: Hotel Giulio Cesare
Address: Via Degli Scipioni 287, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in Rome
#126 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#129 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#148 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giulio Cesare 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Giulio Cesare is the dream of every tourist: located in a quiet, pleasant street and yet within walking distance from St. Peter's Basilica, the Vatican Museum, Piazza del Popolo and the Spanish Steps, as well as all the fashionable shopping areas, like via Condotti.The building was once a patrician villa. While preserving the flavour and charm of the old times, all its facilities are designed to meet the needs of the most demanding guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Giulio Cesare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giulio Cesare Hotel
Giulio Cesare Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing