We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Reviews (1,083)
    Filter reviews
    1,083 results
    Traveller rating
    478
    423
    105
    49
    28
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    478
    423
    105
    49
    28
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsminute walktiber riverpiazza del popoloresidential areawithin walking distancemetro stationelegant hotelspanish stepshotel barvatican cityquiet locationtwo blockspastriesgelatosmall balconybreakfast was excellentmajor sites
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    439 - 444 of 1,083 reviews
    Reviewed 22 August 2010

    We stayed at Giulio Cesare hotel at the end of July 2010 for 2 nights. I booked directly via hotel site at very low rate (for the centrally located Rome hotel) of 99 euros per night including breakfast. Our stay was dedicated to the celebration of my birthday which was on the second day of our stay. I wrote the letter to the hotel few days prior to arrival explaining this fact. They answered me very quickly and informed that they will be happy to provide us with on of the most beautiful Classic rooms they have, free early check in (which I asked for) and in addition with 2 free cocktails in the hotel bar – which they really did on arrival. Check in (as well as check out) procedure was very fast and efficient. Regarding hotel location – it’s almost perfect – hotel is situated on the Vatican bank of the Rome only 2 minutes by foot from Lepanto metro station (direct line to Termini) and only one stop or 10-15 minutes by foot to Vatican. On the other hand it’s only 50-100 meters from Tiber river and within easy walking access to Piazza del Popolo (5 minutes) and Spanish steps (10-15 minutes), in the meantime the latter one is only 2 metro stops away – so you have plenty of choice and in case of necessity can easily reach the hotel if you want to have the break in the middle of the hard day. The room itself was generously sized, with high ceilings, beautiful décor and all amenities you would expect from good 4 star hotel. The interiors of the hotel are beautiful with a lot of atmosphere and the inner courtyard with garden and small waterfall is really a find for escape from hot Rome weather. The breakfast is very good, especially by Italian standards with wide variety of fresh food to choose from, they even have their own honey on offer which they receiving form the family of the owner! By the way the owner is a very pleasant man which greeted us on arrival and said that we can fell like at home and that hotel staff will do their best in this way and they really did. On the day of my birthday after our return from long tour to Vatican Gardens and Museums we found the bottle of Champagne and appetizers in our room – gift from the hotel for my birthday – it was very nice.
    The cocktails which we ordered on the last night were very good and were served with smile even despite the fact that we asked for it exactly at midnight when the time when bar is closing!
    Summarizing I would definitely recommend this wonderful hotel for its perfect location, very friendly and efficient staff and very good overall quality.

    • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank VitaliyS
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 August 2010

    I went with a friend for a four day break to Rome, and we had an amazing time. We didn't arrive till around 11pm so we decided beforehand to pay the extra euros (hotel taxi costs 60 euros) so we had the comfort of knowing someone would be waiting for us when we arrive, as we are both 20 year old girls, who know little Italian and didnt wish to risk trying to make it from the airport alone! The taximan was waiting at the airport with his air conditioned Mercedes and we got to the hotel in just over half an hour.

    The receptionist was very welcoming, providing us with maps etc, and we settled into our room, next morning we had breakfast which is very good, lots and lots to choose from, cereals, cooked breakfast, cakes, fruit etc
    If you do go into the bar, make sure you meet the barman Emmanuel, he makes very good cocktails!

    The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the Piazza Del Popolo, although the streets around the hotel are very dimly lit, so we decided to not stay out too late, as I previously mentioned we are young girls and so came back around half ten/11 most evenings, but the hotel bar is open till around midnight so we went there after dinner for drinks.
    The hotel is in a good location for the sites, we walked to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and the Vatican with no trouble, although on the day we went to the Colosseum we did get the subway to the termini (only 1 euro) and then we walked from there.

    In terms of seeing the sites, I would definitely recommend prebooking tickets online for the colosseum and the Vatican, as otherwise you will have to queue! Also the rules about the Vatican dress code are very much enforced, we saw many people being turned away, as long as your skirt is below the knee and you have at least a pashmina to cover your shoulders and chest you should be fine.

    All in all we had a very enjoyable stay, nothing we asked was any trouble (for example we forgot toothpaste and within minutes some was brought up to our room). The room wasnt massive but plenty big enough as a base for our holiday. We had no complaints at all about the hotel. Rome is amazing, you should definitely go!

    One word of warning though, if you do use the subway, they have ticket machines which you can select English and are therefore very easy to use, but watch out for tramps who stand by the machines and try and help you as they will try and force money out of you, but as long as you are firm and tell them no thank you before they start to help, you should have no problems.

    • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Prego26
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 August 2010

    Excellent Hotel, located in a residential area away from the noise of the city yet close.
    Within walking distance to a metro sudway and if you want to walk a little more you'll find the vatican.
    The Hotel is very clean and the staff is very friendly and willing to help you.
    Great value for the money!!

    • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank MiamiViajantes
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 August 2010

    Beatifully restored and spacious hotel. Helpfull and correct staff that speaks good English. A bit outside the center but that makes it relaxed in the evening and there is plenty to see in short walking distance. The breakfast was extremely good and assorted.

    We recommend this hotel without doubt

    Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    Thank ahakemul
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 July 2010

    Pros:

    Clean rooms.
    Quiet hotel – no night noise.
    Black out blinds that actually black everything out.
    Decent buffet breakfast.
    Hotel bar serves basic things such as wine, beer, coffee.
    Close to metro station – 10 min walk
    Close to Vatican – 2 metro stops
    10 euro taxi ride away from most tourist spots – Piazza Navona/Spanish Steps/Via Del Corso.
    The metro is 4 euros for a one day pass per person for both lines – great value!
    Hotel in a very nice neighbourhood – no riff raff!

    Cons:

    No irons in rooms. The hotel has a policy against irons in rooms, but instead they offer an ironing service at 5 euros per shirt. Take a travel iron!

    Some of the staff can be very unhelpful.

    Watch out for dodgy taxi drivers. They try to overcharge you when picking you up from the airport. The maximum they are allowed to charge is 40 euros flat fee. – mayor of Rome made this law. We were lucky and had a lovely taxi driver who charged on the clock and it came to 35 euro – we tipped him 5 euro on top.

    When you hail a taxi down they already have a flat fee on the clock – daytime it’s 3.80 euros – evening it’s 5.80 euros. This is normal. But if you call a taxi to pick you up from the hotel they will charge you from wherever the taxi has to drive from the get to the hotel and then on to wherever you need to go. You can hail a taxi quite easily from the hotel, you just need to walk a couple of minutes down the road to the main road, and it will take you no more than 5 minutes to flag one down.

    You have to pay 5 euros to use the internet at the hotel (for 3hrs), but unfortunately the first time we tried to use it, it didn’t work so we had to use the computer on reception and the second time we tried to use it the hotel keep getting power cuts, so the computer kept turning itself off. If all else fails ask to borrow the computer on reception.

    Don’t ask the hotel to book you a car to the airport when you leave. They will get there friend to do it, he will overcharge you and give a cut to the hotel manager. Hail one from the street but make sure he knows which airport you’re going to as some just assume it’s Fiumicino.

    • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank holidayblueslondon
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews