We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”
Review of The Duke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Duke Hotel
Ranked #145 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Both my GF and I have stayed in genuine 5 star across the world, and
so we have quite high expectations. IF hotels claim to be of a certain
level, we look at all aspects that contribute to this. This hotel is a
bit of an enigma. Everything I have read on trip advisor is true;
staff can be abrupt and come across rude, a/c heating did not work and
at night we had to use the second duvet cover, breakfast was not the
greatest, the lifts were big enough for 2 people and the location was
out of the way.

However since we read quite bad reviews, we went there with absolutely
no expectations and hoped for the best. What we found surpised us, but
in a good way; the rooms were clean and large with seperate wardrobe,
the shuttle bus was excellent as long as you booked in advance, even
when it was booked up the front desk went out of their way to help you
i.e they would put an additional time on or drop you to another
location such as the Vatican, although we initially found front desk
to be rather rude, as the days went on, I put this down to their
inability to cope when it was hectic. When things were quieter, they
found time to help guide us, and look after us, which meant they were
consciencious about the guests although just couldn't handle it when
it was busy.
We both felt that for the money we paid (we got a deal off Voyage
Prive), the shuttle bus making up for the location, all in all we were
rather satisfied. Which is suprising because of my introduction on
this review.

Take this hotel as a bog standard 3 possible 4 star and try to catch
the staff on down time and make sure you plan with the shuttle bus
will make a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Aoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

607 - 613 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2011

My complaints about the Duke Hotel include: very rough bed linens, a very hard bed, only one cup in the bathroom when we were a party of two, you are unable to control room temperature in the room so you must ask the desk to do it for you, there are no English TV channels, they did not mention their free business center when I enquired about their expensive wifi, late or no wake up call even when I asked for it, no concierge service at all (the desk from promotional picture was empty), totally underwhelming breakfast, very rude, ill-mannered and lazy front desk staff, no shower curtain in the shower... 5 stars? Not very likely. Only stay here if you don't want to pay the money for something nicer.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lawbooks01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The hotel was warm and inviting. It isnt centrally located but the shuttle bus service provided made everything easy to access and meant that the location wasnt an issue. You do however need to make sure to book the service in advance.
The area itself is quiet and noise polution is not a problem. Our sleep however was interupted by a rude neighbour shouting in the corridors late at night and in the early hours of the morning. I dont blame the hotel for that, you get those people everywhere.
The staff were friendly and helpful - the bus driver Luigi was really lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shell2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

A beautiful room, not very large but with a walk-in-closet (!) and a spacious bathroom. Rich colours and patterns on the drapes and bedspread gave it a touch of elegance. Maybe a bit dated in detalis like faucets but still well kept. The lounges are huge for a hotel of this size and furnished in a traditional, cosy style. Great breakfast buffet (to be in southern Europe) with very tasy salami, lots of fresh fruit and pastries. And sparkling wine, if you want to start the day that way. The surrondings might not look very posh, but the fact that several embassies are situated there gives a hint of what kind of neighbourhood it is. A bit off from the main sights, but, on the other hand, very quiet and safe. Our room faced the street but there was no traffic at all. The shuttle bus is very convenient, and a metro station is only a few minutes walk away. One stop takes you to Piazza del Popolo, wirh walking distance to the Spanish steps etc. The staff is very polite and friendly - but a bit "overdressed"....

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

A great hotel, the staff are top nodge! Allessandro & Luigi are GREAT, and very very helpful. Luigi drives the shuttle as well, and is an entertaining man! The hotel shuttle makes it easy, as you can stay in luxury, and quite surroundings, yet can get to the heart of the Rome action in minutes. VERY good value for money! Breakfast are good, rooms are extremely clean and tidy!

Room Tip: From where the shuttle drops you off, you can walk ANYWHERE you want to to, it is easy and around ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pmeiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We have stayed all over, but this may have been the best and most professionally run hotel we have seen. A little off the beaten path, but they made up for it with service and a quiet home like environment. At the front desk, Massimo, Fabio? and ilna? were the best. Our Itaian was lacking and they jumped at the chance to help and made many of our travel plans for us. The breakfast was way over the top, the bar service, excellent and the dinners were exquisite. Fabrizio, the chef could have his own prime time cooking show in America and in a few weeks audiences would be saying "Emeril who".

Thanks again Duke!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michael157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a short trip staying at the fabulous Duke Hotel. I had stayed there previously but this time we chose to spend our 25th wedding anniversary in Rome - and the thought of returning to The Duke Hotel was a deciding factor in our choice of venue. They didn't let us down.... the staff were so welcoming and accommodating - they organised our transfers to/from Ciampino, made dinner reservations for us, gave us advice about how best to get around the city, and we took advantage of their excellent shuttle service to and from Piazza del Popolla (all complementary services!). Crisp bedlinen, fluffy white towels, luxurious robes and slippers, and lovely smellies in the bathroom all served to make the experience one we will never forget. Hopefully that coin I threw over my right shoulder at the Trevi Fountain will work it's magic and we will return to Rome - and The Duke Hotel - in the future. Thank you Massimo and all of your staff for a great stay!
Sue & Robin Richardson, Newmarket, England

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Best Western Hotel Astrid
#186 of 1,269 in Rome
712 reviews
Flaminio
Villa Glori Hotel
Villa Glori Hotel
#231 of 1,269 in Rome
770 reviews
Relais 6
#33 of 1,269 in Rome
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Hotel Villa Duse
Hotel Villa Duse
#197 of 1,269 in Rome
478 reviews
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#116 of 1,269 in Rome
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Hotel

Address: Via Archimede 69, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Rome
#82 Family Hotel in Rome
#88 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#101 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £56 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star boutique hotel The Duke Hotel allows you to enjoy the city at its best: art, culture, shopping and business. Nestled in the Villa Borghese area The Duke Hotel offers a quiet and private place to return to after a day of exploring the Eternal city's attractions or doing business. Just minutes away from the historical center, where the finest shops and historical sites can be found and nearby the new Auditorium Parco della Musica, Galleria Borghese, Olimpic Stadium and the Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art. The Duke Hotel will be an ideal place for single tourists, families and business travelers alike.The Duke Hotel has 86 comfortable rooms. The rooms are distributed over 6 floors and are different in shape and size. Some rooms have balcony or terraces. Several connected rooms. Four rooms are equipped for disabled guests. A smoking floor is also available. All these rooms are tastefully decorated with the furnishings further enhanced by coordinated flowers and offers all comforts and services of a 4* hotel. Authentic Italian cuisine is served in its restaurant "I Duchi". You may enjoy a variety of original menu creations and regional home-made pastries. The cuisine adds a touch of creativity to the traditional cooking with international specialties recommended by our Chef. The comfortable Polo Lounge Bar is a popular meeting place. The warm atmosphere makes it an ideal meeting point where you can relax, enjoy a large choice of cocktails and drinks and taste the traditional English Afternoon Tea. For business travelers or those hosting a social event while in the city The Duke's Meeting Rooms are equipped with all technical fittings as well as special technology for videoconferences such as ISDN lines. All the Meeting Spaces maintain the same taste for detail as the hotel with comfortable chairs and furnishings in delicate shades creating an elegant yet efficient atmosphere.If you are looking for a quality luxury hotel in Rome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Duke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Hotel Rome
Rome Hotel Duke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing