We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough for me”
Review of The Duke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Duke Hotel
Ranked #143 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good enough for me”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed here in January - decent hotel although maybe a little overpiced - shuttle service to the centre was ok but we did get stranded once, made worse because every taxi driver was on strike - would still return here though

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvo_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    582
    128
    47
    32
See reviews for
281
696
35
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I am pleased to say that our stay at the Duke was wonderful thanks to the staff. Two staff members stand out because of their friendliness and their helpful attitudes.

The front desk folks were, in general, very helpful. However, Alessandro Biavati was particularly helpful. He was very enthusiastic and friendly. He always had a smile on his face and made an enthusiastic effort to be helpful whenever we asked a question on any topic during our stay. ranging from printing maps to restaurants to helping with printing boarding passes for our flight out of Rome. Never once did I feel that he was annoyed by our requests or questions. He was eager to help.

Marco Di Pardo (I think), the staff person in the Polo Lounge for most of the week, was equally helpful and friendly. He also had no issues communicating with us in English. He gave us great advice and helpful hints on life in Rome in general.

Francesco, in the Polo Lounge at the end of the week, was also friendly, sincere and helpful. Again, no hesitation to communicate with us in English.

The breakfast staff was friendly and polite as well.

I do have some criticism of the hotel. The lack of patio furniture on the balconies. It would have been nice to sit out on the balcony with a glass of wine and reflect on what we had visited during the day. And, one of the front desk individuals, (not Massimo who was the reason we selected the hotel in the first place based on Internet reviews. He lived up to those glowing reviews), was not particularly friendly and I did not get his name. I didn’t see him anymore after midweek. Also, the immediate area around the hotel is a bit run down so to speak. Not the fault of the hotel. But, there's a nice little grocery two store fronts down which can provide nice cold cuts and cheeses, inexpensive wines, etc. for snacks and such. They too were friendly and helpful.

If any friends are traveling to Rome in the future, I would enthusiastically recommend The Duke. The rooms and property are very nice. The staff is the best that I’ve ever experienced in my travels. We were a group of Americans who could barely say “boungiorno,” much less communicate in any meaningful way in Italian with the staff in an unfamiliar big city. Yet, we were made to feel welcome by The Duke personnel. Thanks for making our trip to Rome such a positive experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jfw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlebellingham
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I have lived and stayed in Rome (and Italy) many times over 40 years. I am use to the laid back attitudes. I wrote seeking confirmation of deals with Duke Hotel reservations and at first all went well, till I checked what was being advertised and actually offered. I sent links to their own website showing the price discrepancies, which were as much as a few hundred euro. I received a very snotty email from the woman in reservations I had dealt with telling me she refused to book the hotel for me and if I wanted go to the website! rude and childish. I decided to contact hotel management but was told over several days, he is not here, another time he is on holiday, he will be here tomorrow. He (the general manager) was never available. After a while the front desk would just cut me off. I travel a lot (30-35 countries a year). I m well use to hotels but never came across such an amateur crew in my life. The owners I pity, profits are walking if this is the attitude of their operations team.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gallgbaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This is a really nice hotel, we had breakfast and lunch and it was really good. I think the hotel would benfit from having a proper bar instead of a table with drinks on. Be warned - a real let down for me and several members of my party was the fact that there were no tea and cofffe making facilities in the rooms. I really couldn't believe that and I have stayed in far more sub standard hotels that do have such facilities. It was a real shame that the hotel let itself down so badly in this aspect as it really spoilt my stay. If you are going to stay there then you need to pack a travel kettle. The restaurant and bar staff were very friendly, less so the reception staff, and we had to carry our own cases to the room,

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quireboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

It is an older hotel which is superbly run. Massimo and his team were fantastic. I would highly recommend this hotel. Peter and Des Nathaniel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desnathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Our stay in the Duke Hotel was really amazing. The hotel staff was really polite, offered a great service and all of them spoke english really well. It was really nice that we could leave our luggage at the reception at the day of our departure so we had an extra day in Rome. There was a well organized transfer from the hotel every half an hour and we never had to wait,the transfer was always right on time. Also the people from the transfer were really polite and kind to us all the time. The rooms were big, specially the bathroom and very clean. The housekeeping was also very satisfying, every day fresh towels and soap etc. The breakfast was really good with egg, fresh fruits, bacon, cake and much more too choose from. When we come back to Rome for sure we will go back to the same hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pimpa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Promises so much and fell short on so many counts. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RB4917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ostiense
Caravel Hotel
Caravel Hotel
#130 of 1,258 in Rome
910 reviews
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#115 of 1,258 in Rome
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flaminio
Villa Glori Hotel
Villa Glori Hotel
#223 of 1,258 in Rome
751 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#136 of 1,258 in Rome
1,196 reviews
Flaminio
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Best Western Hotel Astrid
#267 of 1,258 in Rome
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Hotel

Property: The Duke Hotel
Address: Via Archimede 69, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Rome
#82 Family Hotel in Rome
#85 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#101 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star boutique hotel The Duke Hotel allows you to enjoy the city at its best: art, culture, shopping and business. Nestled in the Villa Borghese area The Duke Hotel offers a quiet and private place to return to after a day of exploring the Eternal city's attractions or doing business. Just minutes away from the historical center, where the finest shops and historical sites can be found and nearby the new Auditorium Parco della Musica, Galleria Borghese, Olimpic Stadium and the Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art. The Duke Hotel will be an ideal place for single tourists, families and business travelers alike.The Duke Hotel has 86 comfortable rooms. The rooms are distributed over 6 floors and are different in shape and size. Some rooms have balcony or terraces. Several connected rooms. Four rooms are equipped for disabled guests. A smoking floor is also available. All these rooms are tastefully decorated with the furnishings further enhanced by coordinated flowers and offers all comforts and services of a 4* hotel. Authentic Italian cuisine is served in its restaurant "I Duchi". You may enjoy a variety of original menu creations and regional home-made pastries. The cuisine adds a touch of creativity to the traditional cooking with international specialties recommended by our Chef. The comfortable Polo Lounge Bar is a popular meeting place. The warm atmosphere makes it an ideal meeting point where you can relax, enjoy a large choice of cocktails and drinks and taste the traditional English Afternoon Tea. For business travelers or those hosting a social event while in the city The Duke's Meeting Rooms are equipped with all technical fittings as well as special technology for videoconferences such as ISDN lines. All the Meeting Spaces maintain the same taste for detail as the hotel with comfortable chairs and furnishings in delicate shades creating an elegant yet efficient atmosphere.If you are looking for a quality luxury hotel in Rome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Duke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Hotel Rome
Rome Hotel Duke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing