We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Duke Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Hiberia(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Adriano(Rome)
US$200
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa San Pio(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$323
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$351
US$342
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel des Artistes(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$160
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Raffaello(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$223
US$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vatican View(Rome)
US$274
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$223
US$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$263
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,624)
Filter reviews
1,624 results
Traveller rating
782
618
143
49
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
782
618
143
49
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle busshuttle servicepiazza del popoloresidential areasecret escapescentre of romevilla borghesethe hotel offerslovely hotelspanish stepssuperior roompastriesquiet locationwould recommend this hotel to anyonetrip to romebreakfast stafflarge bathroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
611 - 616 of 1,624 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Travelled to Rome with a friend for short weekend break. Hotel is in a quiet suburb of Rome, just a short metro ride from the centre. Arrived at hotel quite late due to a flight delay, staff very welcoming advising us where to find nearest restaurants etc. We were given a good room on the 5th floor, very spacious with a nice balcony. Breakfast was included and was more than adequate. All in all we were impressed with the quality of the hotel and the free shuttle bus thery provided was an added bonus. Would definately recommend to friends and hopefully return one day too!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staffs-couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We had a family suite. Rooms 512 & 514. Rooms are nice. Hardwood floors, granite in the bathrooms. Bidet next to the toilet. Large patio.

Only issues:
- WiFi was hit and miss. Password changes every 24hrs. Front Desk helped with work around.

- Free shuttle only picks up/drops off at two locations in town, neither are near major sites, but are near the metro.

- Our room had an ant problem in both bathrooms. Wasn't horrible, but certainly noticeable.

- No pool or gym onsite.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 404AdamB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Booked this as a backup for our Easter break in Rome, and unfortunately was unable to find anything else given the short time we had to find something.

The location is not great, and the neighbouring area is very uninspiring. The shuttlebus which was at least an attempt to mitigate this was too often full. They should either have a larger vehicle or have an extra one to increase the frequency (perhaps to another drop off point as well??). We ended up having to use taxis 80% of the time regardless. The rooms are not great, very tired looking and small.

Breakfast was a non-event, stale bread and cakes from previous day always available. The high chair we used always came back to us every morning filthy from previous use, they couldn't even bother to wipe it down after others had used it. We would it clean it before and after using it and it would always come back dirty... very lazy service. Coffee is dreadful, juice is from a carton. Unfortunately nowhere obvious to go nearby as an alternative, only positive was that breakfast was incl in the rate

Receptionist quality varied. Some where helpful some seemed greatly disinterested. On check out we arrived 30mins before our car pick up to settle the bill, but there was no recpetionist 'qualified' to do the check out "back in 5mins" we were told.... 20mins later we ask what's going on, and she calls the guy who was just next door! We then have issues with the payment due to the card and we are suddenly stressing to leave on time as planned, all because of this. There should ALWAYS be someone to do checkouts at a hotel reception 24/7

We booked a car to take us to the airport (EUR65 service) who when we arrived had a child seat for our baby daughter. When we left however we also booked a car, but the recpetionists couldn't be bothered to call us and confirm the booking had been made. Despite reminding them we had a daughter and needed a child seat (most hotels know if you have a child with you regardless either by looking at your booking or by being just the slightest bit attentive when they see you everyday), however the hotel had not remebered to add the child seat to the booking for the 40min drive to the airport. We were furious, but at this time we were already late and had to leave in the car quickly.

avoid avoid avoid....

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suanderez07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I have received several emails from various sites -- FamilyGetaway, SniqueAway, all touting this hotel. Can't understand why. We ended up booking a Family Room through Hotels.com, which on their site claims there are two double beds and two twin beds, and "Rich red furnishings on the 6th floor room." When we arrived, we were booked into the very dark 4th floor rooms (next to a screaming child), where we discovered two beds in the two adjoining rooms -- no twins. When I discussed this with the front desk, they claimed that there was no such room at the hotel.

Taking this up with Hotels.com ( if anyone has ever tried to resolve something with them, I feel your pain) on the third call they said they were in contact with the hotel, and the hotel would not release us from the booking without charging us for 2 nights.

So terrible service aside, let me comment about the rooms. Small. Dark. With a bathroom that is so small you have to turn sideways to get past the sink. The location -- way out of town, in a modern, charmless residential neighborhood.

I hope the sites touting this hotel actually come visit the Duke, and take a test drive. Or try to walk through the bathroom. It's a mystery to me why they like this place so much.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lanedomain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Excellent hotel with high service level. The suit was fantastic and room service fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristerN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews