We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and cozy hotel which could be better for business travel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Duke Hotel
Ranked #136 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy hotel which could be better for business travel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

I just had a day meeting at the Duke Hotel in Rome. The hotel is clearly meant for tourists and I'm sure I would have enjoyed it fully if that was the purpose."Unfortunately" I was there for a meeting and there it lacked some.

The meeting room was not built for meetings which meant bad sound in the room. It was difficult to hear what all were saying. There were no loud speakers available in the room so I could not show a movie clip that I had planned for my presentation. It was a very hot day and the aircondition in the meeting room was not fully functioning. The breakout room was a re-decorated room, which is also quite peculiar.

When that is said the rooms were very nice, the only thing missing was ironing equipment (I later found out that the house keeper could do this for me), the breakfast was really good for an Italian hotel. The staff were really friendly.

All in all I enjoyed my stay I can really recommend the hotel if you're going on any other kind of travel than business

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephphen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    552
    118
    46
    31
See reviews for
271
668
34
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

The hotel is in a nice part of town and close to a small gorcery store and a few nice restaurants. The staff are very attentive. I did have a hard time logging on to the free WiFi which for me was a moderate inconvenience. We got a junior suite which was spacious but hard to keep cool. Rooms were kept clean and linens fresh. The breakfast was the highlight for us. Good selection of food.

The shuttle to the city center is the key to your stay here. It will take you to the closest Metro and train station and several major sites are in walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrJay71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hod hasharon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

i fully recommend this lovely and pleasant hotel in rome. the rooms are well-kept and well-provided, the service is excellent, and the included breakfast is outstanding.

the only "problem" is that the hotel is a bit out of the city center, but it provides a shuttle - at regular hours, but it needs to be reserved in advance because there are only 7 places - to piazza di popolo, at a reasonable distance from most city center attractions.

if you plan your hours in advance and are willing to forego an option to go back to the hotel spontaneously at any time, it gives a great value for your money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Great hotel for a family of 4. It's not walking distance to any major attraction and You can take the shuttle into town. One computer near lobby for internet access and WIFI for in-room service completely free of charge. Breakfast was good. Rooms compared nicely to a Marriott in the US. 2 flat screens, very helpful staff. We recommend staying at the duke, especially if you are a light sleeper. Small shop 3 doors down is great for water and necesseties. We bought our dinner from here one night and it was great

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marco_italy_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Lovely, quiet hotel on the outskirts of Rome! Shuttle bus service makes up for it being further out. Runs every half hour from 8am to 11pm! Always on time! Lots of choice for breakfast

Room Tip: 6th floor room vith balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avellino_ItalyAnti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

The duke hotel is a nice hotel with big room and a very friendly staff.
The location is not the best, but the shuttle to piazza del Popolo helps a lot! Anyway if you want to go out for a quick bite, you'll have herd time, but if you're looking for a small place to stay and feel a bit like home, this might be the one (at a good price).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rabat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

My husband and i just arrived home this morning from our trip to Rome, after a 4 day break to celebrate our 32nd Wedding Anniversary, and to be truthfully honest we could'nt wait to get back home and away from the Duke Hotel.

On our arrival to the Hotel, the staff on duty in reception sadly all looked like they had just returned from a funeral, no one helped us with our baggage, plus no real hint of a welcome to us. Our room was ok, but very depressing, dark, with terrible views of other dirty looking apartments, we had bars on our window which i hated, but the worse was to come and that was the bed, it was awful, i have a bruised hip right now sitting here writing this, i could not sleep sound because of the pain caused in my hip from the hardness of this bed, twinned with the noise at night from the hotel, I also have eye bags on bags tonight to go with my poorly hip.

We were disgusted that we could'nt get a English channel on the TV apart from the World News, that really annoyed us, how un-welcoming to guests visiting from other countries. We did ask about how to get a few of the films on payview from Sky, but we were told they do not have them, even though they have booklets in your room that indicate that they do.

My husband booked this trip without me knowing as a lovely surprise, so the evening before we left i had a quick peek online at a couple of reviews, they frightend me a little bit, but i didnt say much to my husband incase he thought i was being ungrateful.

Thank god i did take a look, because of other guests reviews, i read that there were no tea/coffee facilities, and with a tea-aholic husband, we were able to pack a travel kettle, mugs & teabags! Thank you other guests your reviews helped us out more than you know.
We have travelled a lot and have never been anywhere that didnt offer this service, again very bad.

Breakfast was also a bit of a let down, two mornings no bacon, the coffee was disgusting, but i overheard some other guests ordering nice coffee, so we also asked for nice coffee too, staff were unhelpful to the point of looking moody, but we got the coffee. No toast unless you ask for it, again i heard a guest ask for 2 toast, so again without hearing this we would'nt of had toast. Iv'e had more fun at my dentists than in that room in the mornings, there was just a painful silence, it really needs some background music, it might help lighten the mood to start your day, just saying, after all if your in holiday mood, a nice little melody in the background may help the staff to feel happier in there work, which could rub off on the guests.

Shuttle bus was a big help if you can get on it, we were lucky most of the time booking it, apart from last night, so it was a quick visit to the local shop to buy hams & Cheeses, then we had a little picnic in our room instead of eating out whilst watching the world news (again) you are stuck really to do anything else in that area because there is nothing around you.

The shuttle bus should really be bigger, like a small coach instead of seating just 7 people, or maybe two or 3 mini vehicles would help matters.

Luigi was a delight when he drove the shuttle bus, a really lovely man, funny, friendly and a big asset to the hotel, he was the only friendly member of staff we met in the time we were there.

Not all was lost, we had a lovely time outside the hotel, visiting all of the wonderful places in Rome, but if like i us you would have wished for the whole of your day to feel great, then dont stay at this place, we wont ever go back. But enjoy Rome it is great.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Diane2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#130 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#77 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
H10 Roma Citta
#139 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#126 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Hotel

Property: Duke Hotel
Address: Via Archimede 69, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#79 Business Hotel in Rome
#82 Family Hotel in Rome
#101 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star boutique hotel The Duke Hotel allows you to enjoy the city at its best: art, culture, shopping and business. Nestled in the Villa Borghese area The Duke Hotel offers a quiet and private place to return to after a day of exploring the Eternal city's attractions or doing business. Just minutes away from the historical center, where the finest shops and historical sites can be found and nearby the new Auditorium Parco della Musica, Galleria Borghese, Olimpic Stadium and the Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art. The Duke Hotel will be an ideal place for single tourists, families and business travelers alike.The Duke Hotel has 86 comfortable rooms. The rooms are distributed over 6 floors and are different in shape and size. Some rooms have balcony or terraces. Several connected rooms. Four rooms are equipped for disabled guests. A smoking floor is also available. All these rooms are tastefully decorated with the furnishings further enhanced by coordinated flowers and offers all comforts and services of a 4* hotel. Authentic Italian cuisine is served in its restaurant "I Duchi". You may enjoy a variety of original menu creations and regional home-made pastries. The cuisine adds a touch of creativity to the traditional cooking with international specialties recommended by our Chef. The comfortable Polo Lounge Bar is a popular meeting place. The warm atmosphere makes it an ideal meeting point where you can relax, enjoy a large choice of cocktails and drinks and taste the traditional English Afternoon Tea. For business travelers or those hosting a social event while in the city The Duke's Meeting Rooms are equipped with all technical fittings as well as special technology for videoconferences such as ISDN lines. All the Meeting Spaces maintain the same taste for detail as the hotel with comfortable chairs and furnishings in delicate shades creating an elegant yet efficient atmosphere.If you are looking for a quality luxury hotel in Rome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Duke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Hotel Rome
Rome Hotel Duke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing