We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Duke Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$684
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$437
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$390
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$380
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,094
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$598
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,640)
Filter reviews
1,640 results
Traveller rating
788
623
146
49
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
788
623
146
49
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle busshuttle servicepiazza del popoloresidential areasecret escapescentre of romevilla borghesethe hotel offerslovely hotelspanish stepssuperior roompastriesquiet locationwould recommend this hotel to anyonetrip to romebreakfast stafflarge bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
513 - 518 of 1,640 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was our honeymoon, and we had booked a suite, at the Duke , it didn't disappoint. Our accommodation was spacious,comfortable and very quiet... a welcome relief after negotiating the bustling streets of Rome. The staff were lovely...nothing too much trouble. We would advise using the free shuttle offered by the Duke , it is an excellent service and very reliable.
If we ever returned to Rome, we would definitely stay at the Duke.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JULIE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDukeHotel, Direttore at The Duke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Mrs. Julie,
The Duke Hotel would like to make you once again the best wishes for your marriage and wants to thank you for your kind review.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our 4* boutique hotel.

The Management
The Duke Hotel Roma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and couldn't have made a better choice. The hotel was stunning and had an amazing charm to it--definitely worthy of its star rating.

The Pros:

The breakfast had something for all appetites: cereal (3 varieties with 2 choices of milk), yogurt (fruit or plain), fresh fruit, pastries, eggs, meat (prosciutto and sausage), and bread. There was also coffee and fresh juice along with a prosecco or other sparkling-esque wine.

The staff was very attentive and spoke English well. They also allowed us to use a voltage converter free of charge by only paying a deposit.

The shuttle runs every half hour and is reliable although the timing can be a tad late. The shuttles also fill up quickly so definitely book the day before for your departing and returning shuttle.

The hotel is incredibly close to numerous bus stops so you are within 30-45 minutes of anything you'd need to get to. Termini station is a short bus ride away and from there you can basically get anywhere.

There is wireless internet which is incredibly useful for people from outside the country.

The Cons

The air conditioning doesn't get extremely cold but it's enough to be reasonably comfortable.

The internet requires a new password which is sent by text message daily.

The hotel isn't within walking distance to anything you'd want to see and is also fairly insulated from any great restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrspacudan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDukeHotel, Direttore at The Duke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Madame,
The Duke Hotel would like to make you once again the best wishes for your marriage and wants to thank you for your review.

The hotel is pleased to receive your positive comments and wants to reply your considerations:

We tried to do our best to guarantee a good air conditioning service during your stay, especially with so hot Italian summer month - August.

The free of charge WIFI password must be asked each 24 hours in order with Italian low of internet security but once you’ve get it, it’s fast and accessible everywhere in the hotel.

Nearby the hotel there are some non-touristic and high lever restaurants with great food and traditional Italian dishes. The reception have a list of all restaurants in the area and most of them are in the walking distance. Regarding the main Roma’s attraction in the walking distance from the hotel there are: Gallery of Modern and Contemporary Art (10 min), Galleria Borghese and Villa Borghese (10 min), Auditorium – Parco della Musica (5 min), Olympico Stadium (15 min) and many others. For Colloseum, Piazza di Spagna and other historical attractions, you can use our complimentary Mercedes Benz from 08.00 am till 11.30 pm - all week long.

The Duke Hotel looks forward to welcoming you again.

The Management
The Duke Hotel Roma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Arrived at hotel for three night stay - Sunday to Wednesday.
Room was on 4th floor and was dark and not inviting. I didn't feel the room was a superior room and was not really worth the money I'd paid through secret escapes.
The next morning I discussed my disappointment with the reception and I was offered another room in the 2nd floor.
I was very pleased as this room lived up to the expectations of a superior room.
Room service was very prompt for my morning coffee.
Breakfast room catered for all tastes.
Shuttle service was very welcomed and no problem booking outward and return journeys to Roma.
Last evening meal in the restaurant was delicious and so
tasty.....the fillet steak was amazing.
Overall, despite initial
disappointment The Duke is a relaxing place to stay with accommodating staff and a friendly service.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debidolitle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDukeHotel, Direttore at The Duke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,
first of all, we would like to thank you for your review and for the confidence shown.

The Duke Hotel tries every time to satisfy every client's needs in order to guarantee an excellent service and unforgettable holiday to every Guest.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel, we would like to thank you and to wish you all the best.

The Management
The Duke Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just returned from here and had a very enjoyable stay.The hotel is a bit further out than many others, but they do operate a shuttle service; the concierge couldn't have been more helpful arranging to collect us from Flaminio after our late evening arrival on the Sunday night. They also added an extra shuttle the next morning as the ones we wanted to use were fully booked.It is possible and relatively easy to walk back from Flaminio, in fact we did every day of our stay, albeit it a 20 min walk. The facilities were very good, the rooms spacious and comfortable, an issue with the air conditioning was resolved within half an hour. Buffet breakfast was impressive with wide variety of fruits, meats , cheese and cereals, along side cooked items.All the staff were most helpful and friendly , and there were no issues with our lack of Italian! My only complaint would be that during 4 days of our stay a large conference was taking place which meant the hotels lauded Polo Lounge was out of use for most of our stay, although this didn't impact on us too greatly I think advance warning would have been considerate. A great hotel , would def use again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alizon15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Bad service. Bad location. The concierge will treat you bad if you do not speak Italian. Find another hotel, unless you are willing to keep up with racism and unfriendliness. A very rude place. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dtobecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDukeHotel, Direttore generale at The Duke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Sir / Madam, we are very sorry for your comment and we will appreciate more detailed information in the matter.

The Duke Hotel has precise criteria of quality, professionalism and efficiency that are never missed, we try every time to overcome them in order to guarantee an excellent service and high client satisfaction to everyone, without any form of racism. Our staff is always courteous, helpful and friendly towards all Clients - the countless positive comments and ever-growing number of our loyal Customers can prove it.
The position of The Duke Hotel is approximately 10 min from Historic Centre of Rome, Termini train station and Stadio Olimpico; 5 min from Gallerea Borghese, Villa Borghese park, Auditorium, MAXXI and many other Rome’s attractions. Walking distance from the hotel there are many shops, cafés and typical Roman’s restaurants, as well as supermarkets, banks and pharmacy!
In addition, the hotel puts at disposition for its Guests a free of charge transfer to and from the Historical Centre of Rome in less than 5 min and 7 days on 7!.

For all mentioned above, We kindly ask you to explain better the situation and write to us with more detailed information to the: theduke@thedukehotel.com .

Best regards,
The Management
The Duke Hotel Roma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews