We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel was just what we needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Duke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duke Hotel
Ranked #136 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hotel was just what we needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just returned from 3 nights at this hotel. We found the staff very helpful and friendly without being over the top. Our room was large nicely furnished and very clean. The public areas were also spotless.We had breakfast every day where there was an excellent choice. Some people may find that being out of the main city by 10 mins a disadvantage. We found this to be an advantage as it gave us time out when we needed it, The shuttle bus service worked well. If it doesn't fit in with your timings the public transport system works well to the hotel with a short walk from the hotel to the station/metro. Thank you Hotel Duke for a comfortable stay..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scaryDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    559
    121
    46
    31
See reviews for
272
677
34
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was comfortable, luxurious and tranquil.

Pros: It is slightly far away from the city centre, however this didn't feel like an inconvenience as it has a complimentary shuttle to Piazza del Poppolo (which has a metro station) and actually it's distance from the city centre means that it is in a more peaceful area. The breakfast is great, the rooms are large and luxurious, the staff are very helpful and the area is nice and quiet.

Cons: The Wifi is a bit of a pain, you have to log in every time you turn on your phone/device but this isn't such a problem in the grand scheme of things. And the shuttle, you have to book it, it doesn't run automatically so you have to let the hotel know when you will be using it. This isn't an issue when travelling from the hotel to town but it is annoying the other way round, we didn't know exactly what time we would want to return each day so we would have to call the hotel (paying for overseas calls)

Overall it was a really pleasant experience and we would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessTheBugLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We loved our Superior room and breakfast buffet was great. The hotel shuttle was useful and reliable but remember to book in advance to avoid hanging around and disappointment.
The English Afternoon tea is just that ...a cup of tea NOT Afternoon Tea with sandwiches, etc so don't get excited!
The wifi was a pain in the butt it kept dropping out and certainly didnt last for more than 24 hours you need to register every device and do it every day. Funnily enough we found wifi across Rome dodgy and most places did not offer it so don't get wound up by it. There is no bar to speak of but a nice lounge if you want to sit around.
Reception were very helpful on the whole.

Room Tip: Go for a Superior Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

1st off, brilliant stay (4 nights) very comfortable, spacious room, quiet, and fantastic staff. The wifi was out of action for two nights but s*** happens, I'm in rome, they did have a computer to get online and print my flight tickets.... The shuttle was essential and the driver never wanted a tip... They drop you off in a good location. Their english is exceptional. Breakfast is very good and varied. They take pride in what they do.... For the tight folks (like me) there is a convenience store next door and do great hot chicken and herb potatoes if you want a cheap night..... If this comes up in your search... Book it. (€18 in a taxi from termini station)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank FloppyDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Quite an old school feel to the hotel and the staff were courteous and efficient and spoke good English (for those non italian speaking brits). We had a suite with a fold out double bed for our two young children which worked out well (didn't seem many hotels that could accommodate children or families in one room in Rome). Good free shuttle service from the non touristy location to and from Piazza del Popolo every half hour or so which was good and a convenient way to start the days exploring! It feels like it needs a makeover in decor (80's style) as its clean and well looked after but just old fashioned looking. But to be honest when you are in Rome you don't want to spend too much time in a hotel! It has a nice large meeting / sitting lounge type area where you can have drinks at night and it seems a very quiet hotel for its size (not sure if it gets busy in the summer months as we went over Feb half term) but the dining area is just a windowless room which saps any atmosphere from what was really well cooked and presented food. They will also make anything for younger children which was great such as simple pasta dishes etc. The food wasn't cheap but it was good quality. Overall I would recommend it for similar younger families or those looking for an easy stay in a quiet neighbourhood.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed at the Duke Hotel for four days.

I think that this hotel is welcoming and charming and I was really happy with my stay.

The hospitality was great: the staff was very nice, professional and friendly, and always available to help. The availability and the quality of the service were excellent.

Besides, my room was spacious and comfortable.

I recommend this hotel without any doubts.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank From_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Quite in Rome's confusion, yet perfectly central with good shuttle service. The breakfast is a feast and the food in the main restaurant "vaut le voyage". The chef is young so we can keep going back for a long while. Comfortable suites.

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bioarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#120 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Poggioverde
#114 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Ostiense
Caravel Hotel
Caravel Hotel
#125 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
H10 Roma Citta
#139 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Hotel

Property: Duke Hotel
Address: Via Archimede 69, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#79 Business Hotel in Rome
#82 Family Hotel in Rome
#101 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star boutique hotel The Duke Hotel allows you to enjoy the city at its best: art, culture, shopping and business. Nestled in the Villa Borghese area The Duke Hotel offers a quiet and private place to return to after a day of exploring the Eternal city's attractions or doing business. Just minutes away from the historical center, where the finest shops and historical sites can be found and nearby the new Auditorium Parco della Musica, Galleria Borghese, Olimpic Stadium and the Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art. The Duke Hotel will be an ideal place for single tourists, families and business travelers alike.The Duke Hotel has 86 comfortable rooms. The rooms are distributed over 6 floors and are different in shape and size. Some rooms have balcony or terraces. Several connected rooms. Four rooms are equipped for disabled guests. A smoking floor is also available. All these rooms are tastefully decorated with the furnishings further enhanced by coordinated flowers and offers all comforts and services of a 4* hotel. Authentic Italian cuisine is served in its restaurant "I Duchi". You may enjoy a variety of original menu creations and regional home-made pastries. The cuisine adds a touch of creativity to the traditional cooking with international specialties recommended by our Chef. The comfortable Polo Lounge Bar is a popular meeting place. The warm atmosphere makes it an ideal meeting point where you can relax, enjoy a large choice of cocktails and drinks and taste the traditional English Afternoon Tea. For business travelers or those hosting a social event while in the city The Duke's Meeting Rooms are equipped with all technical fittings as well as special technology for videoconferences such as ISDN lines. All the Meeting Spaces maintain the same taste for detail as the hotel with comfortable chairs and furnishings in delicate shades creating an elegant yet efficient atmosphere.If you are looking for a quality luxury hotel in Rome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Hotel Rome
Rome Hotel Duke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing