We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“probably not staying there next time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Duke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Duke Hotel
Ranked #137 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“probably not staying there next time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2008

We spent 4 nights in Rome. We liked the hotel, however, we're not sure we'd stay there again. Our main concern was the location of the hotel. Yes, they do offer a free shuttle service. But with some bad luck, the shuttle will leave without you and will keep you waiting for it for as long as you like. On the first night we booked it (the last shuttle which is 10pm), it simply left without us. We waited for almost 30 minutes before we called the hotel and asked what happened. We found out that the driver took someone else in our place, a couple who probably was late for the previous shuttle. And no, we weren't late, they simply left earier because the bus was full. They sent the guy back but it meant another 15 minutes of waiting in the parking lot. On the second night it almost happened again, as there was 1 person too much waiting for the shuttle. So had we come on time, they would have left without us but since we were there 10 minutes earlier we "got lucky"...
We also regreted that the last shuttle to the hotel left at 10pm, which meant that we always had to control the time during the dinner. Sure, you can take the metro and then walk from Flaminio station but seriously, after 10-12h walking we did every day, we didn't feel like it. The taxi from the center to the hotel costs app. 15-20 Euros. So the shuttle was the best option, but we didn't like being so dependent from it.

Other than that, the hotel was pleasant. We loved the breakfast, the delicious coffee, the fluffy, thick towels in the bathroom, the bed so huge you could get lost in it. The room was spotless and was cleaned every day. The marble bathroom was nice and large, I'm not a fan of the tub/shower combo though and disliked showering in the pretty narrow bathtub while touching that hanging cloth (well, at least it wasn't plastic) all the time. We booked a Superior Room and I really hoped for a normal shower. The water pressure was really good though.
The TV didn't offer too many chanels, and for those whose Italian is not fluent only 2 or 3 news channels in English and French.
I also had to get used to sleeping under the bedspread which in my eyes might be okay at home, but I really dislike it in hotels.

Last but not least: our impression on the last day was that the only free things in this hotel are the breakfast (unless you want it in your room), the shuttle and the candy on the pillows. Everything else, from the WiFi (6 Euros per hour) through the mini bar to the shuttle to Fiumicino (65 Euros) is pricey. Getting an iron is not possible, you need to use the washing/pressing service of the hotel.

We probably won't stay there again. The hotel is pleasant but we're sure that Rome offers many equally pleasant hotels that are much more central.

  • Liked — breakfast, bed, towels
  • Disliked — the location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Mar7ini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    560
    121
    46
    31
See reviews for
272
678
34
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2008

The Duke Hotel describes itself as ‘Your home in Rome’ and we were certainly made to feel very welcome during our stay. The hotel has beautiful public rooms, filled with antiques and paintings and our superior room was top notch too; plenty of space, a separate closet for our clothes and cases and good sized bathroom which was tastefully decorated with marble tiles.

Our booking was for our honeymoon and the hotel definitely contributed to us having a trip of a lifetime in Rome. All of the staff (even our chambermaid!) spoke excellent English and were very friendly. The breakfasts were of a very high quality with plenty to choose from; a buffet of traditional cooked items with an Italian inspired twist of course, continental cheeses and cold meets, delicious freshly baked breads, a great choice of fruit, yoghurts, cereals and yummy pastries and cakes! The Duke’s breakfasts certainly set up for our busy days of sight seeing.

We found the hotel’s Mercedes mini bus shuttle to be very convenient. We pre-booked each day and found the trips very entertaining thanks to our lovely driver Luigi. Although there aren’t any good places to eat or explore close to the hotel the free shuttle bus meant that the location wasn’t a problem and if anything was an advantage as the suburbs are very quiet and it was good to get away from the noise of the busy city.

We would definitely stay at The Duke Hotel again and hope to return to rekindle memories on future anniversaries.

We would also recommend pre-booking a transfer from the airport rather than trying to access public transport or chancing it with a taxi. We used www.airports-shuttle.com and a return trip was 80 euros which we thought was good value for a chauffeur driven executive car to collect us from the airport in style.

If you’re passionate about ice cream you must visit Giolitti, via Uffici del Vicario, 40 which is close to the Pantheon. You can whet your appetite before you travel at www.giolitti.it

  • Liked — Friendly staff, attention to detail
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CornishLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2008

The hotel is in a great neighborhood but is a distance from the city center. The shuttle service they mention only holds 8 people and you must book well in advance. We waited 20 minutes for it to pick us up in the evening as it was late. It would be better to take the number 52 bus at the top of the hill, 5 minute walk. There is always some discussion as well when trying to book the shuttle if they have room for you. Just annoyance that one does not want to deal with when on vacation.

Service is uneducated as to restaurants in their neighborhood or anywhere else. Good at the normal day to day stuff one would expect.

Rooms are nice and clean with lovely balconies.

Besides breakfast food is TERRIBLE!!!

Look over your bill, I was charged for things I did not have from the bar as well as an extra 365 euros for a room night I had already paid for. They took it off the bill but was still unacceptable.

I would not stay here again, there are much better hotels in the city center with grand lobbies and better services.

  • Liked — Balcony off of our room
  • Disliked — Everything else, especially the food
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
5 Thank NYC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2008

My wife and I stayed 5 nights in the Duke at the end of August. It is a fab hotel just a 5 minute walk from Euclide train station (not a metro station). The hotel runs a regular shuttle bus to and from the Spanish Steps which is very convenient. The breakfast was really nice and the staff were all very helpful and friendly.
The hotel is north of the Villa Borghese which is a must see (as is the Galleria)
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caseybecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2008

After reading the reviews here and hearing others I know who have stayed at the Duke and loved it, I contacted the hotel directly for a reservation. My email was answered within minutes with two great options for what we were seeking (two rooms adjoining). It only got better from there.

Upon arrival at the hotel (early in the morning), our room was made available to us even though we arrived 8 hours before check in time. The front desk staff was incredibly helpful, offering maps, shuttle reservations and advice on when/were/how to see Rome.

Our adjoining rooms were gorgeous - hardwood floors, marble bathrooms, satellite TV (we even were able to watch a Red Sox game one night!).

Breakfast was very good - the house made granola was wonderful. Service was very attentive, good (not great) food, nice selection.

The Duke has made it to my list of favorite out-of-the-way boutique hotels in Europe!

  • Liked — Excellent service, beautiful rooms, breakfast included
  • Disliked — Expensive mini-bar, location a little out of the way, but managable.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CapeCod64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2008

We went to The Duke Hotel for our honeymoon and thoroughly enjoyed the whole trip. Rome was amazing and the hotel was really good. We booked our holiday through expedia and all of the information and photos provided about the hotel were accurate. The rooms were confortable and very clean, breakfast was brilliant and all of the staff were very helpful and nice. Virtually all of the staff speak english so you have to wait until you get into Rome to practice your Italian!

The one drawback was that it is a little out of the way, although it is in a residential area. We found that it was quite quiet and tended to eat out by the Spanish Steps as it was a bit more lively. However, it is only a short trip on the metro, and the hotel does offer a free bus service to and from the Spanish Steps. This would not stop us from staying at the hotel again and we would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

  • Liked — Breakfast!!
  • Disliked — Walking from the train station after a long day!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Chilly79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2008

We stayed for a week in late July. It is a very nice and well kept property in a quiet neighborhood. You do need to get accustomed to scheduling the shuttle rides but once you get over that it is very manageable. I also recommend taking a 10-15 minute walk down the hill (you pass the supermercato street which is down hill 2 blocks and then a right turn). There is an inexpensive restaurant as well as a good wine bar, very, very fine gelato location, and good but more expensive/better restaurant at the base of the hill. Simon, an outstanding staff member, was kind enough to drop us at one eatery and speak to the manager to ensure fine service.

Also recommend a drink off the lobby, the house Red was excellent and I was the recipient of several "stout pours" by the staff. Regardless of the genorosity of the pour, the drinks room is extremely civilized.

The hotel is definitely on the quiet side and the staff is very professional. A minor complaint was we coudn't control the AC from our room and no matter how much the desk turned it up it never really got particularly cool.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sean49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#121 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Poggioverde
#116 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Ostiense
Caravel Hotel
Caravel Hotel
#125 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
H10 Roma Citta
#141 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Hotel

Property: Duke Hotel
Address: Via Archimede 69, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Rome
#79 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#82 Family Hotel in Rome
#101 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star boutique hotel The Duke Hotel allows you to enjoy the city at its best: art, culture, shopping and business. Nestled in the Villa Borghese area The Duke Hotel offers a quiet and private place to return to after a day of exploring the Eternal city's attractions or doing business. Just minutes away from the historical center, where the finest shops and historical sites can be found and nearby the new Auditorium Parco della Musica, Galleria Borghese, Olimpic Stadium and the Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art. The Duke Hotel will be an ideal place for single tourists, families and business travelers alike.The Duke Hotel has 86 comfortable rooms. The rooms are distributed over 6 floors and are different in shape and size. Some rooms have balcony or terraces. Several connected rooms. Four rooms are equipped for disabled guests. A smoking floor is also available. All these rooms are tastefully decorated with the furnishings further enhanced by coordinated flowers and offers all comforts and services of a 4* hotel. Authentic Italian cuisine is served in its restaurant "I Duchi". You may enjoy a variety of original menu creations and regional home-made pastries. The cuisine adds a touch of creativity to the traditional cooking with international specialties recommended by our Chef. The comfortable Polo Lounge Bar is a popular meeting place. The warm atmosphere makes it an ideal meeting point where you can relax, enjoy a large choice of cocktails and drinks and taste the traditional English Afternoon Tea. For business travelers or those hosting a social event while in the city The Duke's Meeting Rooms are equipped with all technical fittings as well as special technology for videoconferences such as ISDN lines. All the Meeting Spaces maintain the same taste for detail as the hotel with comfortable chairs and furnishings in delicate shades creating an elegant yet efficient atmosphere.If you are looking for a quality luxury hotel in Rome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Hotel Rome
Rome Hotel Duke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing