We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel beautiful rooms”
Review of Duke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duke Hotel
Ranked #140 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel beautiful rooms”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The Duke Hotel was a lovely place to stay while in Rome. Our room was lovely and quiet with a huge patio with potted plants where we sat and rested enjoyed the view of the neighborhood and ate breakfast from room service. There was a shuttle on a regular basis which took us to the Spanish steps, so we didn't have to use a taxi service very often. We only stayed a few nights as our main intention was to take a cooking class in Tuscany, but we would return to this elegant hotel if given the chance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nelcine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    568
    126
    46
    32
See reviews for
275
686
35
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

The Duke Hotel is a must. It is warm and welcoming, the rooms are cleaned with fresh towels daily, the service is excellent and the people are some of the nicest we have ever met. Laura and Luigi deserve a special mention as they are special people and made our stay 100%. We will definitely return. Oh and make sure you use the courtesy car...it is well worth it. THANK YOU.
Kim and Hughie from London, England.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank kimtd62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed for a week at the Duke and it was a pleasant experience. Great Italian atmosphere, very helpful staff and even if some small things needed to be fixed, they were immediately taken care of and in a professional way. Certainly a place to return to !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Knorretje2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I transferrred to this hotel after having an extremely unpleasant experience at the Atlante star hotel in Rome (I do not recommend staying there in the slightest). The Duke Hotel is wonderful. It is incredibly clean, it has free wifi, and best of all, it had great and pleasant staff. The staff gave us great recommendations for dinner and was overall very patient.

Also, many people complain about the bussing system but it isn't an issue at all. You can sign up for an early bus or wait around but the ride is short and getting picked up is very simple as well.

I personally love this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem quiet since it's a relatively residential area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sophia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Duke Hotel was a good experience, but was made better by the driver, hospitality guru Luigi. GOD has sent to earth individuals who have Light and he is such a person. He made our holiday a Vacation. Thank you. We pray to see you soon!

Also a mention to Antonio for his serene patience

Room Tip: Look at the web and compare realistically when one is at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Raymond A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We weren't sure what to expect at this hotel. But it was fabulous. Pricing was great. The service was amazing 120%. Each staff member looked after us and nothing was too much trouble. Nothing was too much trouble. A few quirky things to get use to like the hair dryer and bar fridge. But the rooms were beautiful like being back in a 5 star hotel in the 80's. Very clean and had all the extra's in the bathroom like shower cap. The only thing it is a little out of central Rome. Only a 7 Euro cab ride so not too bad. They do have a shuttle but it didn't always suit our times. There is a coop in the street and lovely restaurants too. Very handy. Room service was good. Would definitely recommend this hotel. It is also in a quiet location near residential and Intl Embassy's so nice to treat after a full busy day in Rome. Enjoy !

Room Tip: They have interconnecting which was great for us travelling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We has a wonderful time in Rome and at this hotel . The service was exceptional . The staff were very polite and helpful nothing was too much trouble. We ate in twice because the food was so good . The breakfasts were excellent . Met some lovely people too . Would definitely stay here again and can highly recommend it . The shuttle bus was a great bonus we used this everyday .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank armstrongness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#117 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Poggioverde
#122 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Ostiense
Caravel Hotel
Caravel Hotel
#130 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
H10 Roma Citta
#135 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Hotel

Property: Duke Hotel
Address: Via Archimede 69, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Rome
#82 Family Hotel in Rome
#85 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#101 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star boutique hotel The Duke Hotel allows you to enjoy the city at its best: art, culture, shopping and business. Nestled in the Villa Borghese area The Duke Hotel offers a quiet and private place to return to after a day of exploring the Eternal city's attractions or doing business. Just minutes away from the historical center, where the finest shops and historical sites can be found and nearby the new Auditorium Parco della Musica, Galleria Borghese, Olimpic Stadium and the Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art. The Duke Hotel will be an ideal place for single tourists, families and business travelers alike.The Duke Hotel has 86 comfortable rooms. The rooms are distributed over 6 floors and are different in shape and size. Some rooms have balcony or terraces. Several connected rooms. Four rooms are equipped for disabled guests. A smoking floor is also available. All these rooms are tastefully decorated with the furnishings further enhanced by coordinated flowers and offers all comforts and services of a 4* hotel. Authentic Italian cuisine is served in its restaurant "I Duchi". You may enjoy a variety of original menu creations and regional home-made pastries. The cuisine adds a touch of creativity to the traditional cooking with international specialties recommended by our Chef. The comfortable Polo Lounge Bar is a popular meeting place. The warm atmosphere makes it an ideal meeting point where you can relax, enjoy a large choice of cocktails and drinks and taste the traditional English Afternoon Tea. For business travelers or those hosting a social event while in the city The Duke's Meeting Rooms are equipped with all technical fittings as well as special technology for videoconferences such as ISDN lines. All the Meeting Spaces maintain the same taste for detail as the hotel with comfortable chairs and furnishings in delicate shades creating an elegant yet efficient atmosphere.If you are looking for a quality luxury hotel in Rome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Hotel Rome
Rome Hotel Duke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing