We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY TOTALLY RUINED BY THEFT WITHIN 15 MINS OF ARRIVAL”
Review of The Duke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Duke Hotel
Ranked #133 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2009

Within 15 minutes of arrival my wallet was stolen from our room by a man who informed he needed to check the airconditioning. As our room was on the 5th floor, I would seriously question the security of this hotel before booking a stay there.
The staff were helpful with regard to cancelling the credit cards and promptly taking us to the police station to report the crime. We were also given an upgrade, as we no longer felt comfortable in our allocated room.
Location was a little out of the way from the centre but courtesy bus was very reliable and much needed. The hotel was very clean and rooms very comfortable. Thought given to extras such as bathrobe and slippers in the bathrooms. The staff were courteous at all times. The hotel itself was lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 706 of 1,588 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2009

Fantastic hotel, very clean. Great breakfast.
The hotel is quite far out from the main tourist areas, but the free shuttle bus is a great service.
The hours of the bus are 8.00 am to 10.00 pm and go every 45 minutes.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lebowski25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We had a lovely 6 night stay. The location is a short cab ride away from the center of Rome. The hotel was very luxurious but not stuffy. I liked the hotel being away from tourists in a quiet residential area. There were more Italians staying here and having meetings, than other tourists during our stay. The manager Massimo was especially helpful with calling to arrange reservations. The buffet breakfast was lovely and more than I expected. Our rooms (2 adjoining) were spacious and newly painted with large bathrooms especially by european standards. We had abalcony complete with lemon trees with fruit! It felt like a "nice" home awat from home in Rome.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connecticut-MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

We spent 4 nights in Rome. We liked the hotel, however, we're not sure we'd stay there again. Our main concern was the location of the hotel. Yes, they do offer a free shuttle service. But with some bad luck, the shuttle will leave without you and will keep you waiting for it for as long as you like. On the first night we booked it (the last shuttle which is 10pm), it simply left without us. We waited for almost 30 minutes before we called the hotel and asked what happened. We found out that the driver took someone else in our place, a couple who probably was late for the previous shuttle. And no, we weren't late, they simply left earier because the bus was full. They sent the guy back but it meant another 15 minutes of waiting in the parking lot. On the second night it almost happened again, as there was 1 person too much waiting for the shuttle. So had we come on time, they would have left without us but since we were there 10 minutes earlier we "got lucky"...
We also regreted that the last shuttle to the hotel left at 10pm, which meant that we always had to control the time during the dinner. Sure, you can take the metro and then walk from Flaminio station but seriously, after 10-12h walking we did every day, we didn't feel like it. The taxi from the center to the hotel costs app. 15-20 Euros. So the shuttle was the best option, but we didn't like being so dependent from it.

Other than that, the hotel was pleasant. We loved the breakfast, the delicious coffee, the fluffy, thick towels in the bathroom, the bed so huge you could get lost in it. The room was spotless and was cleaned every day. The marble bathroom was nice and large, I'm not a fan of the tub/shower combo though and disliked showering in the pretty narrow bathtub while touching that hanging cloth (well, at least it wasn't plastic) all the time. We booked a Superior Room and I really hoped for a normal shower. The water pressure was really good though.
The TV didn't offer too many chanels, and for those whose Italian is not fluent only 2 or 3 news channels in English and French.
I also had to get used to sleeping under the bedspread which in my eyes might be okay at home, but I really dislike it in hotels.

Last but not least: our impression on the last day was that the only free things in this hotel are the breakfast (unless you want it in your room), the shuttle and the candy on the pillows. Everything else, from the WiFi (6 Euros per hour) through the mini bar to the shuttle to Fiumicino (65 Euros) is pricey. Getting an iron is not possible, you need to use the washing/pressing service of the hotel.

We probably won't stay there again. The hotel is pleasant but we're sure that Rome offers many equally pleasant hotels that are much more central.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Mar7ini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

The Duke Hotel describes itself as ‘Your home in Rome’ and we were certainly made to feel very welcome during our stay. The hotel has beautiful public rooms, filled with antiques and paintings and our superior room was top notch too; plenty of space, a separate closet for our clothes and cases and good sized bathroom which was tastefully decorated with marble tiles.

Our booking was for our honeymoon and the hotel definitely contributed to us having a trip of a lifetime in Rome. All of the staff (even our chambermaid!) spoke excellent English and were very friendly. The breakfasts were of a very high quality with plenty to choose from; a buffet of traditional cooked items with an Italian inspired twist of course, continental cheeses and cold meets, delicious freshly baked breads, a great choice of fruit, yoghurts, cereals and yummy pastries and cakes! The Duke’s breakfasts certainly set up for our busy days of sight seeing.

We found the hotel’s Mercedes mini bus shuttle to be very convenient. We pre-booked each day and found the trips very entertaining thanks to our lovely driver Luigi. Although there aren’t any good places to eat or explore close to the hotel the free shuttle bus meant that the location wasn’t a problem and if anything was an advantage as the suburbs are very quiet and it was good to get away from the noise of the busy city.

We would definitely stay at The Duke Hotel again and hope to return to rekindle memories on future anniversaries.

We would also recommend pre-booking a transfer from the airport rather than trying to access public transport or chancing it with a taxi. We used www.airports-shuttle.com and a return trip was 80 euros which we thought was good value for a chauffeur driven executive car to collect us from the airport in style.

If you’re passionate about ice cream you must visit Giolitti, via Uffici del Vicario, 40 which is close to the Pantheon. You can whet your appetite before you travel at www.giolitti.it

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CornishLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2008

The hotel is in a great neighborhood but is a distance from the city center. The shuttle service they mention only holds 8 people and you must book well in advance. We waited 20 minutes for it to pick us up in the evening as it was late. It would be better to take the number 52 bus at the top of the hill, 5 minute walk. There is always some discussion as well when trying to book the shuttle if they have room for you. Just annoyance that one does not want to deal with when on vacation.

Service is uneducated as to restaurants in their neighborhood or anywhere else. Good at the normal day to day stuff one would expect.

Rooms are nice and clean with lovely balconies.

Besides breakfast food is TERRIBLE!!!

Look over your bill, I was charged for things I did not have from the bar as well as an extra 365 euros for a room night I had already paid for. They took it off the bill but was still unacceptable.

I would not stay here again, there are much better hotels in the city center with grand lobbies and better services.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
5  Thank NYC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

My wife and I stayed 5 nights in the Duke at the end of August. It is a fab hotel just a 5 minute walk from Euclide train station (not a metro station). The hotel runs a regular shuttle bus to and from the Spanish Steps which is very convenient. The breakfast was really nice and the staff were all very helpful and friendly.
The hotel is north of the Villa Borghese which is a must see (as is the Galleria)
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caseybecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Best Western Hotel Astrid
#191 of 1,273 in Rome
764 reviews
Flaminio
Villa Glori Hotel
Villa Glori Hotel
#245 of 1,273 in Rome
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#12 of 1,273 in Rome
430 reviews
Parioli
Hotel delle Muse
Hotel delle Muse
#174 of 1,273 in Rome
923 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Degli Aranci
Hotel Degli Aranci
#361 of 1,273 in Rome
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Hotel

Address: Via Archimede 69, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in Rome
#79 Business Hotel in Rome
#81 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#101 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £45 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star boutique hotel The Duke Hotel allows you to enjoy the city at its best: art, culture, shopping and business. Nestled in the Villa Borghese area The Duke Hotel offers a quiet and private place to return to after a day of exploring the Eternal city's attractions or doing business. Just minutes away from the historical center, where the finest shops and historical sites can be found and nearby the new Auditorium Parco della Musica, Galleria Borghese, Olimpic Stadium and the Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art. The Duke Hotel will be an ideal place for single tourists, families and business travelers alike.The Duke Hotel has 86 comfortable rooms. The rooms are distributed over 6 floors and are different in shape and size. Some rooms have balcony or terraces. Several connected rooms. Four rooms are equipped for disabled guests. A smoking floor is also available. All these rooms are tastefully decorated with the furnishings further enhanced by coordinated flowers and offers all comforts and services of a 4* hotel. Authentic Italian cuisine is served in its restaurant "I Duchi". You may enjoy a variety of original menu creations and regional home-made pastries. The cuisine adds a touch of creativity to the traditional cooking with international specialties recommended by our Chef. The comfortable Polo Lounge Bar is a popular meeting place. The warm atmosphere makes it an ideal meeting point where you can relax, enjoy a large choice of cocktails and drinks and taste the traditional English Afternoon Tea. For business travelers or those hosting a social event while in the city The Duke's Meeting Rooms are equipped with all technical fittings as well as special technology for videoconferences such as ISDN lines. All the Meeting Spaces maintain the same taste for detail as the hotel with comfortable chairs and furnishings in delicate shades creating an elegant yet efficient atmosphere.If you are looking for a quality luxury hotel in Rome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Duke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Hotel Rome
Rome Hotel Duke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing