We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Contemporary Chic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Palace
Ranked #221 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Contemporary Chic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night using points on an anniversary trip to Paris and Italy. It was a very chic hotel which usually isn't our style but were quite pleased with our stay there. It was convenient to some great restaurants as well as to some landmarks (Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps). The Metro was also a short walk away. We had a free breakfast in the lounge and it offered a great selection of food items including a hot menu. Service was great. My only complaint was that the wi fi was unreliable. The signal kept dropping every 5-10 minutes and I'd have to log back in again. Probably not a problem if on vacation but would be a nuisance on a business trip. This is the only negative thing I have to say about our stay and we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    220
    95
    34
    30
See reviews for
151
418
13
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

There should be a new classification awarded to this hotel because 5* does not do it justice! From the top (roof top terrace) to the bottom (luxury spa) this hotel oozed with sophistication and style. Plus, the location was perfect as it was roughly a 10 minute walk to the notorious Trevi Fountain.

The rooms were very spacious, clean and modern, but with a touch of authentic Italian style. The bathroom was reminiscent of the Roman baths with the mosaic tiling and the staff had provided various different toiletries to cater for all needs, along with a dressing gown and slippers, to accompany you on a trip to the spa. The spa was beautiful however, it was only available to us one out of the four days we stayed there and even then the pool was freezing cold. We had previously complained to the staff about the fact that they had chosen to clean the pool over three out of the four days we were staying at the hotel and so they allowed us access to the pool on the last day but the staff weren't able to actually heat the pool in time. This was very disheartening considering this was a key feature of the hotel but nevertheless we still jumped in! Therefore I would recommend that you find out when the spa will be cleaned prior to booking.

The food at the hotel was, as you can imagine, amazing but a one off as the price for breakfast alone was extortionate. The drinks were also quite pricey but the atmosphere on the roof top terrace was well worth a few extra euros. The terrace was perfect for unwinding after a long day of sightseeing! We would definitely go back but would first ensure that the pool would be available and also we'd make sure that we have plenty of money for an abundance of piña coladas on the terrace!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

This is an above average hotel in a good location. Only drawbacks are room was very warm and food/drink ridiculously expensive. Need a mortgage for cup of coffee, although we got a free tiramisu and prosecco delivered to the room for the wife's birthday! Very friendly and helpful staff.

Helpful?
2 Thank itsgottobegood
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fiorentini_Andrea, Direttore at Grand Hotel Palace, responded to this review, 24 February 2015
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review.

We are truly glad to know that you enjoyed our gift. We usually provide a nice amenity to our valuable guests, above all for a special event. We use this occasion to inform you that since October 10th 2014 our hotel has become a Millennium property, therefore we would be really pleased to host you again for you to see all the improvements made.

Best Regards,
Andrea Fiorentini
General Manager
Grand Hotel Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
106 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

The overall experience, especially the first impressions is of style and 5 star service. It's certainly quite distinguished and dining in the breakfast rooms or being greeted by top hatted door men gives you the feeling of living in more graceful times. I think I had bad luck with room however as it was very small and overlooked and smelt of the restaurants and kitchen. In addition, the room was quite impractical - with no real usable desk and electric sockets which easily came lose from the wall - same for the phone who's cabling fell apart as soon as you picked it up. My colleagues raved about their rooms however and I was one of only a few who had issues. Breakfast was very limited although cheese and ham lovers will enjoy it. There is also prosecco available if you want an early morning bucks fizz. One pet hate was the lack of clear signage around the hotel. Meeting room was also quite uncomfortable. So all in all it has alot of promise but is probably better suited to couples on vacation rather than business folks who have little time to enjoy its quaintness. Staff were however very attentive and professional.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morts109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiorentini_Andrea, Direttore at Grand Hotel Palace, responded to this review, 24 February 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting your comment and sharing your experience with the other travelers.

We were disappointed to read that you were unhappy due to certain aspects of your stay. Since 10th October 2014, the hotel has become a Millennium & Copthorne property, and therefore we would like to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in order to show you all the improvements made.

We really hope you would visit again our property to demonstrate our care and wish you a more enjoyable stay.
Best Regards,
Andrea Fiorentini
General Manager
Grand Hotel Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

All in all the staff tried really hard to make it okay.
Everything went wrong but I must say they foiled it with a smile.
As a platinum Marriott member I was given a choice of welcome gifts. Bi ordered fruit platter I got cheese.
My only true complaint was breakfast. We were given menus my daughter ordered pancakes and was told they were out. Out of pancakes just seemed odd to me. We had seats facing the kitchen so I knew they were lying. After I questioned it we got our pancakes. After that I saw the chef making them for more guests. My poached eggs were hard and it was supposed to be over vegetables which they clearly took off the buffet. It was unappetizing.
However for all the little mishaps the hotel is nice
I thought the bed was uncomfortable (rock hard and not in a supportive way) I would probable give it another shot.
Nice location. We walked from train.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Beautiful Hotel and comfortable and spacious and attractive room. Bed was comfortable but not a Marriott mattress. Bathroom was large and modern. Staff was helpful and friendly. Everyone spoke English very well. Only had Breakfast in the hotel. It was excellent with a wide variety of choices including a hot selection from the menu. Very helpful and friendly with good service.Julia was especially pleasant and helpful. The location to sights is well positioned. Metro is a short distance away and provides excellent service to just about any place you want to go in the city. Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain are a short walk away, and numerous restaurants and good shopping is located in both of those areas. We felt very safe walking in the city just about any time of day. Lots of police out and visible. Seems like the gypsies have disappeared. Quite different since we were here three years ago. We made a good choice with this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Secured this reservation through Marriott points. The bathroom was huge! Great size shower & very unexpected especially for Europe. Very close to multiple attractions. Staff secured us a great reservation for dinner. Lots of great restaurants nearby as well. If your legs are tired from non-stop traveling it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shem M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#105 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#108 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#149 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Sina Bernini Bristol
Sina Bernini Bristol
#285 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Palace

Property: Grand Hotel Palace
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 70, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Boscolo Palace Roma)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Rome
#76 Business Hotel in Rome
#123 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#153 Family Hotel in Rome
#186 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Palace Roma Hotel Rome
Boscolo Grand Palace Rome
Hotel Boscolo Grand Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing