We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Palace
Ranked #221 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel one week. When we checked in with platinum status with Marriott we were not offered an upgrade as the pamphlet from Marriott states. The hotel was NOT full. We were given a small basic room. The bed was very comfortable . There is a closet with just TWO drawers. There is no other place to put clothes in the basic room. The bathroom was beautiful . It was all tile and very clean. Our toilet seemed to leak and we tried to get them to fix it but said nothing was wrong. Since this was just a minor annoyance and it wasn't ever day we just put down a towel when it did....

The hotel was in a perfect location. The outside is beautiful. It was easy walk to gardens ,the Trevi Fountain and the Spanish steps. We loved the location. The front desk was hit or miss. Some days they were engaging and really seem to care(Andrea) if you were having a wonderful time. Other days it seemed robots were at the desk. The doormen were always wonderful. We had the breakfast and they was plenty of food and the staff pleasant.

I would recommend this hotel as long as you realize they will do nothing extra for you. We were celebrating our 30 anniversary and nothing extra -not even a note was given to us...

We were also told(by the staff) if you are using Marriott points expect the smallest ,basic room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank vpxtrastuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    220
    95
    34
    30
See reviews for
151
418
13
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma area
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed for three day is April at the Boscolo Place Roma. Great location in Roma. Nice hotel with big, clean modern rooms. Our only complaint was the rooms were a bit too modern for our tastes. The chair in the room was very modern and uncomfortable. The soap dish wouldn't hold wet soap, the drinking glasses were huge plastic things. Not bad things just a little annoying.
We also had a problem at the breakfast buffet on one day. No one had put warmer under the chaffing dishes so cold eggs and bacon :(. The next day everything was hot.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure to stay at the Boscolo Palace Roma for 5 days last week. This is a wonderful place to stay and in a great location. The hotel is highly rated and for very good reason. The rooms are very modern and very comfortable. The staff are very helpful and helped make our stay a very enjoyable experience! Our Italy vacation took us to many cities and hotels. This was the best hotel facility by far. I recommend this for anyone and everyone! Ciao

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frank s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Because we were using hard earned points for our most recent stay at this Marriott partner, we felt strongly that we were not very welcome guests. We had requested the lovely (upgraded) executive room that we had 2 years ago, and had a confirming email. We were given a small garret room on the 7th floor, with very slanted ceilings, twin beds, and black (!) walls. Upon expressing our dissatisfaction we were offered a larger, brighter room on the 2nd floor. Soon after moving to this room, the heat/air started making noises. We were advised that parts had been ordered to remedy the noise, but delivery time was unknown. Much to our dismay, we decided that we could sleep thru that noise. We were not advised that we were directly over the hotel dining room and that there was a party scheduled for that night. The live band that played until 10:30 was annoying, but acceptable. The head banging noise (chandelier shaking, ear piercing, heart pounding) that came after was not. When I called the front desk at 12:05 a.m. I was told that several other guests had also called and the hotel would stop the noise, which was for a party for hotel guests and employees! Next day we were moved to a 3rd location, a suite which miraculously became available. I attribute the entire fiasco to poor management, poor communication, and a negative attitude toward Marriott's Elite Members. The hotel's saving grace is its location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank oioi341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiorentini_Andrea, Manager at Grand Hotel Palace, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for having spent your time in sharing your experience because each feedback of our guests is always important to check and improve our standards.

Concerning the request about the room category, we can guarantee that we always assign the best rooms available, above all if there is a specific request from our guests. Anyway it depends on the occupancy of the hotel and the typologies already booked that have a priority before any kind of free upgrade.
As you referred in your review, we immediately found another accommodation for you and we are glad to know that you appreciated it. Unfortunately you had a problem with the air conditioning, but the maintenance is a daily routine and surely we would have solved the inconvenience if informed about it.

Our Front Desk staff is always available in order to satisfy any kind of request and we are deeply sorry if your stay did not meet your expectations.
Regarding the party, we would like to point out that it was open to all our guests and the only member of the staff who took part was our Event Manager. She had to manage the event and support the other departments during the night.

Please, on behalf of the entire staff, accept our apologizes for the inconvenience mentioned.

We hope you would visit again our Boscolo Palace.
Sincerely,
Alessandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
198 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We chose the Boscolo Palace for its location, Marriott brand and positive reviews. We were not disappointed. This was our first trip to Rome and we wanted to be within walking distance of most attractions. We also wanted a safe environment along with first class treatment. The Boscolo Palace met our expectations. The hotel architecture and decor are stunning. The staff were very attentive. My wife and I both highly recommend the Boscolo Palace.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MHirko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

My son and I spent 8 nights at the Boscolo Palace as part of a trip to celebrate his graduation. Like many others adding reviews for this property, I am a Marriott Platinum member and was using points for my stay.

Regarding the room, it was described as a superior room rather than a standard room and was decently sized by European standards, but we did not have a balcony. I tried to book a room with two beds, but wasn't able to confirm in advance. At check-in, they let me know that we had a room with a king, but that they would split it into two beds later that night. My only real complaint with the room was that there was no privacy in the shower/bath area. The shower had a clear glass panel that spanned about half the length of the tub, and there was no dividing door between the bedroom and the shower area. Probably OK for a romantic getaway, but less practical for staying with a family.

The staff was generally friendly, but probably not as engaging as I have seen at other hotels. I did find the doormen to be especially helpful.

Breakfast buffet was great, especially since it was included for free based on my Marriott status. Very good selection of cheese, cold cuts, pastries, fruit, and yogurt. The eggs were a bit spotty and inconsistent throughout the length of the stay.

For us, the location was great. It's a bit removed from all of the ancient Roman sites, but very accessible via taxi and Metro. There were a few restaurants nearby on the Via Veneto, but they seemed to cater exclusively to tourists. We had to travel farther afield to try and find better options. There is a small Carrefour store in the Spagna Metro station just up the hill from the hotel -- we found it very convenient for buying basic food supplies and drinks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DougH98012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

My mum and I stayed here on a recent trip to Rome. The hotel is beautiful and in a great location, the metro entrance is at the foot of the hotel and the hotel is very close to Termini. There are many bus stops near by that can take you to the tourist locations. The staff were excellent and every restaurant recommendation was fabulous. I definitely would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: we were in room 474 it did not have a view at all, but not a problem as we did not spend a lot of ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#105 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#108 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#149 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Sina Bernini Bristol
Sina Bernini Bristol
#285 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Palace

Property: Grand Hotel Palace
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 70, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Boscolo Palace Roma)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Rome
#76 Business Hotel in Rome
#123 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#153 Family Hotel in Rome
#186 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Palace Roma Hotel Rome
Boscolo Grand Palace Rome
Hotel Boscolo Grand Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing