We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, But Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ranked #88 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Location, But Disappointed”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

After reading all the great reviews, we booked two rooms for our party of four for two nights in mid-June. I don't know what happened with this hotel, but our experience was definitely not five star. Having previously stayed at the St Regis Rome, I had a certain expectation of service which was not matched. First off, we pull up in a taxi, no one comes out to open our door. An employee is outside on his cell-phone ignoring us. Finally, someone comes out to assist with the luggage, and then the employee gets off his phone and welcomes us. Everytime we entered or exited the front door, no employee was present. Seriously, at $600/night? The front desk check-in went smoothly, however, there was a huge disparity between the two rooms, so we requested a deifferent room. They were kind enough to give us a Junior Suite to replace the one room, however, it had an old mattress and wool blanket. It was not a Sofitel Bed (the hotel actually prides itself on these beds and linens and has a brochure on the desk). Before dinner, I asked the front desk to have the bed made up for us. When we came back three hours later, it had not been made up. I then had to approach the night clerk, who I can only describe as brutish. He told the teenage bell boy to take care of it (did not speak a word of English). The poor kid did not know what to do, brought a twin size feather bed, and returned to the front desk clerk for help. I could hear the clerk yelling at the bell boy from our room, which was just up a flight of stairs from the front desk. Anyway, we only ended up with a flat comforter to replace the old wool blanket. As the air conditioner did not work well, we didn't need much in the way of coverings. The concierge staff at this hotel disappeared around 5:30 or 6:00, which I have never observed before in a nice hotel. It seemed like the hotel was understaffed to me.
This hotel is in a good location for seeing the sights. People have complained about the walk up the hill, but it was nothing. The hotel breakfast is in the basement which I did not like at all--no windows. The Terrace Restaurant is lovely. We ate there one evening and had a nice meal with a spectacular view of the sunset over Rome and the dome of St Peter's. Yes, it was pricey, but the view was unbelievable. Definitely go for the view.
All in all, this hotel fell short for me. At $600/night, I expect exceptional service, and we did not receive it. I did not find the hotel staff warm at all. Most of them were professional, yes, but not warm. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you get a "Deluxe" room, ask for one with more than one window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,421
    589
    155
    43
    25
See reviews for
433
1,217
64
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed here for just one night before a return trip to the US. We really liked this hotel. Very good location where you can walk to just about everything, yet on a small street that seems quiet. We thought the staff was very helpful and accomodating including a late check out request, etc. Our room was indeed on the small side, but I think we booked a pretty simple room. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samanthab195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
244 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed here for one night to break a journey. Our welcome was warm and friendly, the room well equipped and spacious considering the constraints of converting an historic property.
Rome is quite compact, so we weren't far from any of the major sights, or indeed the shopping, and enjoyed a very pleasant afternoon wandering the streets before returning for dinner on the terrace.
The food at the terrace restaurant is excellent, (beware the large portions), the wine list is a good one and the views are spectacular. When it grew chilly as the sun went down and I was starting to think about going back to the room for a wrap, a waiter brought out a pile of beautiful shawls for all the ladies' shoulders. That's what I call attention to detail!

Room Tip: Book one of the rooms with a small dressing/daybed area, the space will make a difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012 via mobile

This was our third stay at the Sofitel Villa Borghese and as with our previous visits, was most enjoyable. We were fortunate to be given a room upgrade this time which made this stay even more special. The staff and service were faultless, both warm and professional. We look forward to coming back, hopefully sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JezMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sofitel for a total of 4 nights during our 6 week wedding/honeymoon trip around Europe.

Rome was our first stop, however we have been to Italy many times as we used to live in Europe for several years.

We booked a Superior Room with double bed, the room was well appointed; however a little small which is the norm for hotels in Italy. The room also had a window overlooking the park(Villa Borghese).

Staff at the front desk was very helpful & recommended a few nice places for dinner. Also, since we travelled to Italy to get married and stopped in Rome to complete our paperwork before heading to the Amalfi Coast, we had to use some of the business centre facilities(i.e. complementary internet, printing and faxing). The whole process was very smooth. The concierge also organised a tour to the Vatican, which was amazing!!!

The hotel location is very central(near the spanish steps), you can basically walk to all the main attractions from the hotel(if you enjoy walking). The main shopping area is about 10 min walk from the hotel.

The roof top restaurant/bar in the hotel was very good. Service was attentive & food was very good. It’s on the expensive side but that’s Rome in general.

One evening we walked from the hotel across Villa Borghese to the other side of the park to a lovely upmarket residential area with small family restaurants with amazing food, no tourist! but you need to speak Italian as no one speaks English.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel. We’ll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gia24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Located right above the spanish steps! Friendly staff + nice room with comfortable bed.
Highly recommend.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mvl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The hotel is located on the top of the Spanish steps, in a very upscale neibourhood. Close to every where. Via Venetia just five minutes walk. Staff is very helpfully. Breakfast a little expensive.
Rooms are nice very clean. We are going back in September and will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomieast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#56 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#105 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#86 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Property: Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Address: Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Rome
#44 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#59 Family Hotel in Rome
#77 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Bella Roma, overlooking the Villa Borghese gardens, Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese means an outstanding stay. French-style living and devoted personalized service a l’italienne. A haven of refinement celebrating a perpetually fascinating city. The Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese stands adjacent to its namesake, just a stone’s throw from the poetic Villa Medici and the famed Piazza di Spagna (Spanish Steps). 81 elegant guest rooms, including 3 penthouse suites with private terraces, overlook either the Villa Borghese gardens or the charming city streets. Flooded with light, decorated in Natural Chic style in warm jewel tones and accented with silken textiles. Relax in marble bathtub, awaken fully refreshed from a night in the Sofitel MyBed. Enjoy delightful drinks and divine Mediterranean cuisine at the splendorous rooftop restaurant La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge. Start the day with an energizing selection of French and Italian specialties at the elegant restaurant La Litterature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Roma
Sofitel Rome
Rome Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing