We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place for a special nights stay in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ranked #79 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant place for a special nights stay in Rome”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The hotel provided excellent service from the free drink in the terrace bar when we arrived early right through to ordering us a taxi to the airport when we left at the end of a long day walking around Rome. We had dinner in the terrace restaurant the night before we left and the food was superb, just like the view over Rome as the sun set. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I love to read such positive feedbacks about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese and I am thankful to your kind words.

The Executive Chef and I were very proud to hear that you have had a great food experience at our restaurant La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge.

I also thank you for pointing out our high standard of services in all areas of the hotel. We genuinely look after our guests. We work with passion.

We then look forward to your next visit to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Kind regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,443
    591
    156
    45
    25
See reviews for
438
1,231
64
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Sofitel Villa Borghese is a beautiful hotel, with very comfortable and well appointed rooms. The staff is wonderful and provides top level service and assistance. The terrace bar/restaurant is WONDERFUL. The view is stunning, the food is excellent and the staff simply top off the experience. We were greeted warmly each time we visited and always had wonderful service. This was our second time at this hotel, and we have no reason to every stay anywhere else in Rome.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1vitelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for praising Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese! It is always a pleasure to hear how happy are our guests when they stay with us.

We put a lot into satisfying all of our guests and we do it in a genuine way.

We then look forward to welcoming you.

Best regards.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We are presently in our second day at the hotel. We arrived early but had to wait until 2pm to check in. We had booked a superior room with a double bed -no smoking. First problem we got a smoking room which smelled heavily of smoke. It also has twin beds not a double bed.
We called the concierge and were told we had a no smoking room so I asked why was there an ashtray and matches in the room? At this we were told they could put a machine in the room when we were away to clear the smell but this has not happened. We just got back in and we bought a bottle of wine around the corner. The room has no wine bottle opener so we called to borrow an opener. 3 phone calls and over 15 minues later we got an opener. Went up to the level 7 restaurant last night for a pre dinner drink. We asked to sit outside since it was beautiful night and there were empty tables. It took 10 minutes of asking why we could not sit outside for 20 minutes since we were only having a glass of wine
Well we are having dinner in the restaurant tonight so fingers crossed. Finally don't expect a coffee machine in your room as normal in the USA
So far this is far from a 5 star hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We spent three nights here in a ‘Luxury’ room on a short break to Rome with friends. Transfer from the airport was arranged with the hotel, and worked very smoothly – particularly considering the long delay to clear passport control. We arrived about an hour before check in time so went to the hotels rooftop terrace for lunch. On returning to reception two hours later neither room was ready. The first room was ready one and a half hours after check in time and the second room a further half hour later. All very poor considering we were actually in the hotel and clearly filling in time. Dinner on that first night was pre-booked in the rooftop restaurant. When it came to ordering wine the bar tender, certainly not a sommelier, asked what type of wine we normally drank, but then recommended the three most expensive wines on the list. I asked him to leave us alone why I considered it, but we were soon joined by another waiter who moved her unsolicited recommendations down the price scale - slightly. Neither considered our food order in their recommendations. The food itself was good and the view and atmosphere excellent. The room delays and the ‘overselling’ of the wine didn’t sit well with us. We didn’t eat again in the hotel, even taking breakfast elsewhere. The initial impression was probably unfortunate as we noted other blatant attempts at ‘fast practice’ around the city, and the more we dealt with the staff in the hotel the better they seemed – the concierge was particularly helpful. The rooms themselves were situated on an inside light-well and generally excellent, albeit with some extractor noise from public areas below. Overall this is a very good hotel and what we noted on the first day is possibly the ‘Rome Experience’.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your positive feedback detailing your overall enjoyable stay at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your transfer from airport, the Concierge service and the elegance of rooms.

I am very sorry however to hear that your dinner experience did not meet your full expectations. Our daily main concern is to look after our guests offering them our undivided attention. Please rest assured that I have taken note of your comments and will review these with the F&B Director.

Moreover I apologize for the inconvenience met during your check in. The hotel was indeed fully booked and your room was not ready in time.

Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

I am glad to see that the rest of your experience was satisfactory and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon!

A bientot!

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Hotel was not too far from the city centre and it took about 10 minutes to to walk to the main areas. Note It took an hour if you got lost. The rooms were excellent as to was room service. Checkin and checkout were efficient as well. The rooftop restaurant and bar was great for sundowners and staff went out of their way to look after our younger kids who wanted to have a snack at the rooftop bar.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeff1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese on your visit to the “Eternal City”.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

As a matter of fact our daily main aim is to make our guests happy and we genuinely put a lot into it to provide the highest standard of services.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Rome.

Sincerely,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#57 of 1,257 in Rome
1,343 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#124 of 1,257 in Rome
918 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#102 of 1,257 in Rome
1,085 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Property: Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Address: Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Rome
#52 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#59 Family Hotel in Rome
#77 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Bella Roma, overlooking the Villa Borghese gardens, Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese means an outstanding stay. French-style living and devoted personalized service a l’italienne. A haven of refinement celebrating a perpetually fascinating city. The Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese stands adjacent to its namesake, just a stone’s throw from the poetic Villa Medici and the famed Piazza di Spagna (Spanish Steps). 81 elegant guest rooms, including 3 penthouse suites with private terraces, overlook either the Villa Borghese gardens or the charming city streets. Flooded with light, decorated in Natural Chic style in warm jewel tones and accented with silken textiles. Relax in marble bathtub, awaken fully refreshed from a night in the Sofitel MyBed. Enjoy delightful drinks and divine Mediterranean cuisine at the splendorous rooftop restaurant La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge. Start the day with an energizing selection of French and Italian specialties at the elegant restaurant La Litterature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Roma
Sofitel Rome
Rome Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing