We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Brand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ranked #80 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Brand”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I'm a little bias because the Sofitel NYC did a great job when I celebrated my 10th wedding anniversary. They did not disappoint in Rome. The front desk was great and really helpful. They helped us book tours, and recommended great restaurants. They also called us the night before we checked out to schedule a taxi (I loved that). The hotel is across the street from the Villa Borghese, where we walked through almost everyday. It's also a very short walk to the Spanish Steps.

Great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank My2Cents15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I was truly glad to hear about your great experience at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Indeed we are centrally located yet on the quiet Via Lombardia street which is an asset after a busy day of business or shopping in Rome.

Service wise we try our utmost to indulge all of our guests as we have a passion for them.

We then look forward to your next visit in the 'Eternal City'.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,465
    597
    159
    46
    25
See reviews for
445
1,251
64
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, Usa
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Not only are the rooms lovely with Hermes amenities but the service and attention to detail is phenomenal! We stayed for four nights on our way in and out of Rome. I would only stay at the Villa Borghese when in Rome. Massimo was a huge help to us with all our special requests. Thank you for a memorable time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I am most glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I thank you for mentioning Massimo in your feedback. It is extremely rewarding for our Ambassadors to get such gratitude from our guests.

We put a lot into satisfying all of our guests and we do it in a genuine way.

We then look forward to your next stay at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Best regards.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Upon arrival, at 4:00 PM, I asked the front desk for printed directions to the airport ( we had a rental ). Since the computers were down, they said later that evening we'd have them. After dinner, I stopped by the front desk and was told - stop by at 7:00 AM ( our departure time the next day) and they'd be ready. They weren't. They never were. And if this was so difficult to do, I'd have done this in the business section of the hotel. Logged on, printed directions, and never had the following experience. At 7:00 AM, what was produced was a tourist brochure (that doesn't contain all the streets) and a line drawn to the autostrada. Well, lets just say that this doesn't compare to printed directions. We, looking for the first right turn, missed the chicken scratch on the map, got caught in traffic due to an accident, missed the flight out and then subsequently spent an additional night in Rome. $6,000 later, we flew home.

This isn't the end. Upon arrival, I was advised by the concierge to park at the "safe" hotel garage at a cost of Euro 50 vs. the "unsafe" euro 20 down the street. So, thinking the garage was safe, I left my Serengeti drivers (which are hard to come by anymore) in the rental. Needless to say, when the rental was delivered the next day, the sunglasses were gone.

I have let the hotel know about their lousy staff. Their response was to "invite" me to their club with euro 40 as a "welcome" present. I asked them to keep it since I'd get more pleasure in writing this than euro 40.

Bottom line / moral: if you expect the staff to provide any more than the stark minimum, stay away. Pick an Orient Express hotel, you'll be happier. We stayed at the Villa Sant'Andrea in Sicily - an Orient Express hotel. If Sofitel had any smarts, they'd hire all the staff from this chain.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Viren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments.

We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get.

Rest assured that we are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. We have a passion for all of our guests and cannot help indulging them. Our utmost reward is to hear our guests satisfaction. This is the reason why my team and I were so disappointed to read your words illustrating your dissatisfaction.

We are very sorry to hear that you missed the flight due to traffic and that you had to pay a penalty. And we regret that you hold us responsible for the incident. Indeed, Rome is a quite complicated city to travel by car when you do not know it, especially if you do not have a GPS.

Moreover, we sincerely apologize for the glasses issue. We do understand your disappointment and we obviously remain at your complete disposal to discuss about it in order to try to understand what may have happened.

Please do not hesitate to contact us so we may address it with you directly.

Sincerely,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

the hotel staff was wonderful. The entire staff, from Concierge to maids were courteous and attentive. (Mario, one of our doorrmen, was just an absolute gentleman. He brought us chestnuts from his the trees on his property). The concierge set us up with a private tour guide and it was the highlight of our stay. the hotel is close to everything (Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon) and the rooftop bar give you a fantastic view of the Vatican. The rooms are clean, bed is very comfortable. if there is one complaint it is that the closet was on the other side of our room, but we got over that.
I would HIGHLY recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I was truly glad to hear about your great experience at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

I thank you for your kind words and for mentioning Mario in your feedback. It is extremely rewarding for our Ambassadors to get such gratitude from our guests.

We put a lot into satisfying all of our guests and we do it in a genuine way.

We were delighted to provide you with our undivided attention and look forward to your next stay in the 'Eternal City'!

As you know, 'All roads lead to Rome'!

Best regards.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I chose this hotel for its good location and roof top bar.
The hotel is close to the Spanish steps, Trevi fountain and Borghese Gallery.
I asked for a room on a high up floor, we were given one on the sixth floor which was very quiet.
The room was spacious for a central Rome location with a good sized bathroom.
You have to pay extra for breakfast - 30 euros a head which is quite expensive, but was good quality with plenty of choice.
We used the roof top bar every evening and took some good photos from it.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, giving advice and ordering taxis.
A lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high up room if you value peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I was truly glad to hear about your great experience at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Indeed we are centrally located yet on the quiet Via Lombardia street which is an asset after a busy day of business or shopping in Rome.

Service wise we try our utmost to indulge all of our guests as we have a passion for them.

Early in the morning, French and Italian cultures blend together to delight guests’ palates at breakfast. A grand buffet filled with the finest pastries and many different types of bread greets guests along the lines of a true French tradition: “croissant e pain au chocolat”, fresh-baked cakes and biscuits, fresh fruits, homemade yogurt, cold cuts and cheeses, biological eggs and a large selection of breads, the true flagship of the hotel, as well the best Italian ingredients for a vast selection of high quality tea and coffee blends.

We then look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The hotel provided excellent service from the free drink in the terrace bar when we arrived early right through to ordering us a taxi to the airport when we left at the end of a long day walking around Rome. We had dinner in the terrace restaurant the night before we left and the food was superb, just like the view over Rome as the sun set. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I love to read such positive feedbacks about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese and I am thankful to your kind words.

The Executive Chef and I were very proud to hear that you have had a great food experience at our restaurant La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge.

I also thank you for pointing out our high standard of services in all areas of the hotel. We genuinely look after our guests. We work with passion.

We then look forward to your next visit to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Kind regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#59 of 1,261 in Rome
1,364 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#129 of 1,261 in Rome
929 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#106 of 1,261 in Rome
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#117 of 1,261 in Rome
857 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Property: Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Address: Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Rome
#53 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#59 Family Hotel in Rome
#77 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Bella Roma, overlooking the Villa Borghese gardens, Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese means an outstanding stay. French-style living and devoted personalized service a l’italienne. A haven of refinement celebrating a perpetually fascinating city. The Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese stands adjacent to its namesake, just a stone’s throw from the poetic Villa Medici and the famed Piazza di Spagna (Spanish Steps). 81 elegant guest rooms, including 3 penthouse suites with private terraces, overlook either the Villa Borghese gardens or the charming city streets. Flooded with light, decorated in Natural Chic style in warm jewel tones and accented with silken textiles. Relax in marble bathtub, awaken fully refreshed from a night in the Sofitel MyBed. Enjoy delightful drinks and divine Mediterranean cuisine at the splendorous rooftop restaurant La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge. Start the day with an energizing selection of French and Italian specialties at the elegant restaurant La Litterature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Roma
Sofitel Rome
Rome Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing