We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ranked #85 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We arrived in Rome after taking an overnight flight from NYC. My husband and I were warmly welcomed by the staff at the front desk. We planned our day of sight seeing and we were off to explore Rome. When we got back to the hotel for check in time, there were some issues with our room. One staff was going to move us to a room that was not nearly as nice as the one we reserved. Luca, a friendly and helpful manager, stepped in and asked us to please wait a bit longer, he would see that everything was settled. He escorted us to the rooftop bar for a drink and he made sure that we got what we paid for. Luca took us to our room which was great, very large and spacious. He talked to us about restaurant recommendations and made sure all was ok before leaving! Luca was the nicest employee that we came across during our three day stay at the Sofitel. We stated at the Sofitel in Cartagena where ALL of the employees were great so this was a shock.

If you are going to have breakfast at the hotel, the wait staff are kind and pleasant and do the best they can to teach you quick Italian. The cappucino is yummy and the breakfast is adequate. Dinner on the roof restaurant was great...although we sat for 30 minutes at the table before anyone came over to us (we were staring at the view of the Vatican and didn't even notice the time), the food was gourmet and fantastic. It was getting chilly so the maitre d' brought out woolen blankets and wrapped us up so we could stay out and enjoy the fresh air and the fantastic view.

Overall, nice clean hotel in a nice area that is easy to get to all parts of Rome.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solerita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,

It is so pleasant to read such positive feedbacks as yours. Thank you!

As a matter of fact our daily main aim is to make our guests happy and we genuinely put a lot into it to provide the highest standard of services.

I thank you for mentioning our Ambassador Luca in your feedback. It is extremely rewarding for the team to get such gratitude from our guests.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,407
    579
    153
    43
    25
See reviews for
427
1,204
64
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stay 7 days in Rome in this hotel. Overall the stay was very pleasant. The hotel manager - Theresa - was especially helpful.

We stayed in the corner room 309 - which is Deluxe Room. It has a good size (for central Rome) and is very light as it is a corner room. So all x09 rooms are like this - highly recommended.

Breakfast is of very high quality.

The location of this hotel is very good for a long stay in Rome. It is not centre-centre so it takes 10 mins by taxi to reach the attractions, so it is still quite central but it is as crowded as the very centre of Rome. It is close to Villa Borghese, which is very pleasant park to visit.

The main reason I did not give 5 points is because the free WiFi service was of unacceptable quality. It was far too slow so I used my mobile phone's 3G instead.

Room Tip: Corner rooms 309 or other x09 - higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elnur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad to hear that you have had a pleasant experience at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Our daily main concern is to look after our guests offering them our undivided attention. I can tell that we have reached our aim.

I thank you for pointing out our high standard of services at breakfast and for mentioning our Guest Relation Maria Teresa. Our utmost reward is to hear our guests satisfaction!

I am sorry however to hear that internet service was not to your full satisfaction. Please rest assured that we are working seriously on this issue with the Engineering Director to avoid future occurence.

Thank you again for your kind words!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I'm a little bias because the Sofitel NYC did a great job when I celebrated my 10th wedding anniversary. They did not disappoint in Rome. The front desk was great and really helpful. They helped us book tours, and recommended great restaurants. They also called us the night before we checked out to schedule a taxi (I loved that). The hotel is across the street from the Villa Borghese, where we walked through almost everyday. It's also a very short walk to the Spanish Steps.

Great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank My2Cents15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I was truly glad to hear about your great experience at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Indeed we are centrally located yet on the quiet Via Lombardia street which is an asset after a busy day of business or shopping in Rome.

Service wise we try our utmost to indulge all of our guests as we have a passion for them.

We then look forward to your next visit in the 'Eternal City'.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, Usa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Not only are the rooms lovely with Hermes amenities but the service and attention to detail is phenomenal! We stayed for four nights on our way in and out of Rome. I would only stay at the Villa Borghese when in Rome. Massimo was a huge help to us with all our special requests. Thank you for a memorable time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I am most glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I thank you for mentioning Massimo in your feedback. It is extremely rewarding for our Ambassadors to get such gratitude from our guests.

We put a lot into satisfying all of our guests and we do it in a genuine way.

We then look forward to your next stay at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Best regards.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Upon arrival, at 4:00 PM, I asked the front desk for printed directions to the airport ( we had a rental ). Since the computers were down, they said later that evening we'd have them. After dinner, I stopped by the front desk and was told - stop by at 7:00 AM ( our departure time the next day) and they'd be ready. They weren't. They never were. And if this was so difficult to do, I'd have done this in the business section of the hotel. Logged on, printed directions, and never had the following experience. At 7:00 AM, what was produced was a tourist brochure (that doesn't contain all the streets) and a line drawn to the autostrada. Well, lets just say that this doesn't compare to printed directions. We, looking for the first right turn, missed the chicken scratch on the map, got caught in traffic due to an accident, missed the flight out and then subsequently spent an additional night in Rome. $6,000 later, we flew home.

This isn't the end. Upon arrival, I was advised by the concierge to park at the "safe" hotel garage at a cost of Euro 50 vs. the "unsafe" euro 20 down the street. So, thinking the garage was safe, I left my Serengeti drivers (which are hard to come by anymore) in the rental. Needless to say, when the rental was delivered the next day, the sunglasses were gone.

I have let the hotel know about their lousy staff. Their response was to "invite" me to their club with euro 40 as a "welcome" present. I asked them to keep it since I'd get more pleasure in writing this than euro 40.

Bottom line / moral: if you expect the staff to provide any more than the stark minimum, stay away. Pick an Orient Express hotel, you'll be happier. We stayed at the Villa Sant'Andrea in Sicily - an Orient Express hotel. If Sofitel had any smarts, they'd hire all the staff from this chain.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Viren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments.

We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get.

Rest assured that we are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. We have a passion for all of our guests and cannot help indulging them. Our utmost reward is to hear our guests satisfaction. This is the reason why my team and I were so disappointed to read your words illustrating your dissatisfaction.

We are very sorry to hear that you missed the flight due to traffic and that you had to pay a penalty. And we regret that you hold us responsible for the incident. Indeed, Rome is a quite complicated city to travel by car when you do not know it, especially if you do not have a GPS.

Moreover, we sincerely apologize for the glasses issue. We do understand your disappointment and we obviously remain at your complete disposal to discuss about it in order to try to understand what may have happened.

Please do not hesitate to contact us so we may address it with you directly.

Sincerely,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

the hotel staff was wonderful. The entire staff, from Concierge to maids were courteous and attentive. (Mario, one of our doorrmen, was just an absolute gentleman. He brought us chestnuts from his the trees on his property). The concierge set us up with a private tour guide and it was the highlight of our stay. the hotel is close to everything (Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon) and the rooftop bar give you a fantastic view of the Vatican. The rooms are clean, bed is very comfortable. if there is one complaint it is that the closet was on the other side of our room, but we got over that.
I would HIGHLY recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I was truly glad to hear about your great experience at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

I thank you for your kind words and for mentioning Mario in your feedback. It is extremely rewarding for our Ambassadors to get such gratitude from our guests.

We put a lot into satisfying all of our guests and we do it in a genuine way.

We were delighted to provide you with our undivided attention and look forward to your next stay in the 'Eternal City'!

As you know, 'All roads lead to Rome'!

Best regards.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#58 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#107 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#80 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Property: Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Address: Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Rome
#52 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#59 Family Hotel in Rome
#77 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Bella Roma, overlooking the Villa Borghese gardens, Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese means an outstanding stay. French-style living and devoted personalized service a l’italienne. A haven of refinement celebrating a perpetually fascinating city. The Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese stands adjacent to its namesake, just a stone’s throw from the poetic Villa Medici and the famed Piazza di Spagna (Spanish Steps). 81 elegant guest rooms, including 3 penthouse suites with private terraces, overlook either the Villa Borghese gardens or the charming city streets. Flooded with light, decorated in Natural Chic style in warm jewel tones and accented with silken textiles. Relax in marble bathtub, awaken fully refreshed from a night in the Sofitel MyBed. Enjoy delightful drinks and divine Mediterranean cuisine at the splendorous rooftop restaurant La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge. Start the day with an energizing selection of French and Italian specialties at the elegant restaurant La Litterature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Roma
Sofitel Rome
Rome Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing