We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ranked #84 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The Sofitel here is really quite quaint and the service is outstanding. The rooms were very clean and we had a nice stay. Definitely recommend it. Its quietly tucked away and yet close by to town by taxi. Wonderful stay

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimeukhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are most glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We thank you for praising Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese! It is always a pleasure to hear how happy are our guests when they stay with us.

We love to indulge all of our guests and we do it in a genuine way.

We thank you again for choosing the Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese and we all look forward to welcoming you very soon.

Sincerely yours.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,463
    597
    159
    46
    25
See reviews for
444
1,250
64
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We absolutely loved the Sofitel Hotel in Rome. The hotel is incredible, amazing staff, wonderful room, gorgeous views, delicious food and more. It was easy to access the metro as well as the heart of the city. We'd highly recommend this hotel, it's now one of our most favorite across all of our vacations!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindylou97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

It was great to read such positive a feedback like yours. We thank you for pointing out our high standard of services in all areas of the hotel.

We do our utmost to enchant our guests and I am glad to hear that we have achieved our aim. Our utmost reward is to hear our guests satisfaction.

We all look forward to your next visit.

A bientot!

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

After a long stay I can recommend this hotel wholeheartedly. The staff is wonderful and helpful, the beds are comfortable, rooms are nicely appointed and clean, and the location is great, a couple of blocks from the via veneto and Borghese Park. It's also walking distance to The Spanish Steps.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a bit of a smoking odor although they're non smoking rooms. Be specific about bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest,

It is so pleasant to read such positive feedbacks as yours.

I thank for your pointing out many of our assets here at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese. The central yet quiet location is one of them but the one we are the most proud of is our high standard of services.

We do our utmost to enchant our guests and I am glad to hear that we have achieved our aim.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in near future!

And as you know, 'All roads lead to Rome!'.

We all look forward to welcome you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed for only one night before going on a cruise. Our room was not ready when we arrived, but we were early. No problem though. They directed us to the roof top bar and we relaxed with complimentary drinks and olives. The view on the patio is beautiful. The room was lovely with a very comfortable bed. That can be hard to find in Italy. An easy walk to Via Veneto for a stroll. Loved the location and the small boutique hotel feeling.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad to hear that you have had an enjoyable experience at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese. Thank you so much for your kind words!

We put a lot into satisfying all of our guests and we do it in a genuine way.

We then look forward to your second stay at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

A bientot!

Best regards.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Was unsure where to stay in Rome having not spent a lot of time there previously. We decided to stay with Sofitel as we had enjoyed their hotels in other cities. From the moment we arrived we were so happy with our choice. We booked a suite and were so impressed with the room with a breathtaking view and amazing attention to detail. The rooftop restaurant and bar was fantastic and the perfect way to finish busy days of being a tourist in Rome. The service overall was the best we received in Europe. Every staff member we encountered be it housekeeping, maintenance, reception, restaurant, concierge, even an admin person sharing a lift with us, were so incredibly friendly. It was also appreciated that concierge had printed off the days news off the internet and put it in with bottled water into our car on departure. The location of the hotel for us was perfect. We wandered down the Spanish Steps and into the shopping area very comfortably. I cannot wait to return to Rome and this hotel.

Room Tip: Borghese Suite on the top floor - worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMSL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I am extremely thankful to you for pointing Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese out as one of the best hotels you have ever been to.

It is such a praise to our high standards of service. Thank you so much for mentioning it.

We genuinely look after our guests and love to indulge them.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

A bientot! Sincerely,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Oooh la la...how French in the middle of Rome! The location of the hotel is SO very convenient to all the major sites (either by foot or by taxi). What we liked the most was the grand "old world" architecture mixed with modern decor, including a great collection of 1970's Italian papparazzi black-and-white photographs throughout the public areas.
The rooms were standard European-sized rooms...and the bath was very well appointed. We had a great view overlooking the gardens at the Villa Borghese.
The only thing that I personally think could have been a better choice was the venue for the breakfast. While located in a serene, quiet, and soothing basement area of the hotel, a morning person (such as me) prefer sunlight and views across the beautiful gardens.
We had a great lunch on the terrace with stunning views over Rome, and THIS would be a more appropriate place for breakfast.
But other than that, a great property!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clark-in-Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

We thank for your pointing out many of our assets here at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese. The central yet quiet location - minutes from mythical sites and lively neighborhoods - is one of them but the one we are the most proud of is our high standard of services.

We genuinely look after our guests and love to indulge them.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoy 'Magnifique Dolce Vita' Exhibition.

As an ambassador of French culture and elegance, the Sofitel brand makes it a matter of honour to celebrate this heritage through numerous events in fields like literature, fashion, music or photography. Until mid-March 2014, the Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese will host the 'Magnifique Dolce Vita' exhibition with sublime shots by the famous photographer Daniel Angeli, an emblematic figure of this art form, crowned “king of the paparazzi”. The exhibition will take us back to the heart of the Dolce Vita era, of which Daniel Angeli was a privileged onlooker. His work was able to capture the essence and effervescence of the sixties and seventies, the beauty of Virna Lisi, Sophia Loren, Catherine Deneuve, Alain Delon... Recognised for his talent, he was close to many legendary artists such as Marcello Mastroianni, Ugo Tognazzi, Gina Lollobrigida.

Thank you again for your kind words!

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The good: great location, nice rooftop bar with spectacular views, comfy bed (as usual at Sofitel).

The bad: small room (standard room), good luck with large suitcases..... Soundproofing to the corridor is not sufficient.

The ugly: housekeeping is definitely below standard! Our room was not made after a full day out. Upon request our room was cleaned but no replacement bottled water and no shower gel provided. After calling reception we got 1 bottle of water ( for two pax) and were told that another bottle would be 7 Euro. Are you serious????

Room Tip: Standard room is definitely too small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiger015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location - just a stone's throw from the poetic Villa Medici and the famed Spanish Steps - as well as the splendorous rooftop restaurant 'La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge' overlooking the Eternal City.

Rest assured that we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. Our daily main concern is to look after our guests offering them our undivided attention.

We are very sorry that the room size and the housekeeping service did not meet your full expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#60 of 1,261 in Rome
1,364 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#132 of 1,261 in Rome
928 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#108 of 1,261 in Rome
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#115 of 1,261 in Rome
857 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Property: Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Address: Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Rome
#54 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#59 Family Hotel in Rome
#77 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Bella Roma, overlooking the Villa Borghese gardens, Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese means an outstanding stay. French-style living and devoted personalized service a l’italienne. A haven of refinement celebrating a perpetually fascinating city. The Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese stands adjacent to its namesake, just a stone’s throw from the poetic Villa Medici and the famed Piazza di Spagna (Spanish Steps). 81 elegant guest rooms, including 3 penthouse suites with private terraces, overlook either the Villa Borghese gardens or the charming city streets. Flooded with light, decorated in Natural Chic style in warm jewel tones and accented with silken textiles. Relax in marble bathtub, awaken fully refreshed from a night in the Sofitel MyBed. Enjoy delightful drinks and divine Mediterranean cuisine at the splendorous rooftop restaurant La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge. Start the day with an energizing selection of French and Italian specialties at the elegant restaurant La Litterature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Roma
Sofitel Rome
Rome Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing