We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ranked #87 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_Rome, General Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 2,380 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We are huge fans of the Sofitel chain, and we loved our stay at the Sofitel Rome. The location is excellent, a short walk uphill from the Spanish steps. You feel welcome from the moment you step into the cool and scented interior, which was a real oasis of calm in the hot and frantic city. The staff could not have been more helpful, and they all greet you with a warm smile, however busy they are. We travelled as a family and our 2 rooms (interconnecting from a short private corridor) were perfect for our needs. Decor was immaculate throughout, bedrooms/bathrooms large (surprisingly so for a hotel in a historic building) and luxurious, with supremely comfortable beds and good showers. Breakfast was not included in our package, but we were able to negotiate a good value breakfast deal on arrival and the extra is well worth it. A Sofitel breakfast will set you up for the day, you won't need lunch. Best croissants I have ever eaten, including in Paris. The rooftop restaurant and open-air terrace is well worth a visit - despite the fact that they advertise a smart dress code, we went for drinks one evening and were welcomed with the usual Sofitel courtesy and led to the best table, despite being in shorts and looking rather scruffy compared to the other (very smart) diners. Guests are even offered blankets if a breath of wind picked up. The only downside is that the cost of drinks is very high and the portions tiny, barely enough wine to cover the bottom of the glass - but it's worth going at least once for the stunning view of Rome by night. My only really negative comment about the hotel is their choice of pictures in the downstairs lounge - there were some large and disturbing colour photographs framed and displayed on the walls, including one of a frightened woman seemingly tied to a radiator and another of a woman lying in a box, clutching a large knife. I wasn't sure whether the images were permanent decor or a temporary exhibition but they seemed very inappropriate for a family hotel. Our daughter was quite upset by them. Fortunately the lounge is usually deserted and is not readily visible from the entrance, so it is easy to avoid. We only happened to go into it after we had checked out, whilst waiting for our taxi to the airport - I'm therefore not taking a star from my 5 star review but I would urge the manager to reconsider what is on the walls.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank traveller_constant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, General Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest,

I am extremely thankful to you for this wonderful feedback!

We were truly glad to provide you with our high level of services.

We love to indulge all of our guests and we do it in a genuine way.

I am so sorry however to hear that photographs in the downstairs lounge was not to your full satisfaction.

Sofitel makes it a point of honor to celebrate its French heritage via numerous cultural events, linked to literature, fashion and art.

The passion for Art has always been the heart of many refined initiatives of the Roman hotel.

Since 1st April 2014, the Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese hosts the photographic exhibition «Women under the Light» with a selection of pictures taken by the famous photographer Riccardo Ghilardi, an emblematic figure of this art. From Isabella Ferrari to Paola Cortellesi, thirty beautiful Italian actresses immortalized in various places of Rome, including the old Istituto Luce’s seat, a place discovered by chance, abandoned and destroyed by fire, but which still retaining darkrooms and machinery for the movies development.

From November, we will host a new photographic exhibition dedicated to the beautiful Fench Diva Brigitte Bardot.

As you know, 'All roads lead to Rome!'.

We then look forward to your next visit to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Kind regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

After a hectic, exhausting day of travel, my husband and I arrived at the golden doors of Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese greeted by a doorman quite well-educated in the art of welcoming travellers. With my first step into the elegant lobby I knew that our wants and needs would be catered to by the attentive staff. The gents at the desk wore exquisite suits, and had broad smiles while informing us of the accoutrements of the hotel. The Concierge suggested a dinner at the rooftop restaurant later that evening, to which we weary tourists agreed would be both convenient and exciting.
Our room was small, but very well appointed. The garnet colored walls, and fringed drapes were a very elegant touch. The bathroom was all marble, and had Hermes amenities. We were thrilled that the Hotel Manager had put a bottle of Prosecco on ice in our room as a gift for our anniversary! Nice touch!
The evening was warm, and the sky was star-filled. The rooftop bar and restaurant had incredible views of Rome, especially the dome of St. Peters. The food, wine and service were all top notch! There were other guests at a few tables, but the wait staff treated us like we were in a private dining room.
The location of Sofitel is terrific! A block away from the classy Via Venetto, and the Villa Borghese. A few more blocks in the opposite direction leads you directly to the Spanish Steps and incredible shopping. From The Spanish Steps you can stroll through beautiful neighborhoods, see the Pantheon, and the Trevi Fountain.
The concierge also recommended other restaurants throughout the city which were superb! Each one a home run! Eleanora, Tuna, Harry's...
I must mention the delicious breakfast in the downstairs dining room of Sofitel. Delicious cappuccino, pastries, fruits, cheeses, etc...with the fabulous service expected at this pinnacle of Roman destinations.
Sofitel is a must! Thank you once again to the incredible staff! Grazie!

Room Tip: We had a standard room - and we were very satisfied!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RADandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, General Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I could not feel prouder of my whole team when reading your feedback. It is such a praise to our high standards of service. Thank you so much for mentioning it.

We love to indulge all of our guests and we do it in a genuine way.

Thank you for pointing out the lovely breakfast served to you in our restaurant Le Caravage. We proud ourselves in offering the freshiest seasonal products on the market.

As you will know, 'All roads lead to Rome!'.

We then look forward to your next visit to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Kind regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Wow! Stayed for 5 nights. Great hotel with a staff that knows how to make you feel at home in their hotel. A little issue with a late driver pick up. Staff addressed it immediately with no questions. The concierge is excellent, welcoming you back each day and made very good restaurant recommendations. The room (a suite) was superb. Clean, comfortable and very good size. Toiletries provided by the hotel were amazing. Very nice rooftop bar and restaurant. View of Rome is to die for but it is very expensive. I would recommend going up for a drink then decide whether you want to eat there. You will need to make reservations ahead of time. I would also skip the breakfast at 30 euro charge per person. Nearby outside options are much less expensive.

The location is walkable to all of Rome (15 minutes to the Spanish steps, 30 minutes to the Coleseum, Pantheon and Trevi fountain, 45 minutes to the Vatican) A few hills but nothing this aging 56 year old could not handle. Get a Roma Pass to cut lines and costs to sites. Hotel can also arrange a Vatican tour that is very good. Bourguese (sp?) Park right next door is very nice to get away from the hustle of the city.

Several restaurants right on Lombardia are excellent and inexpensive - Bocca (sp?) (100 euro for dinner for 2 and wine). Another was more of a lower end but still good food for around 45 Euro for dinner for 2 and wine. Excellent family owned coffee shop on Aurora street (not the first one but the second one you come to). Good people. Great coffee, croissants lunch salads and sandwiches.

Could not be more pleased with this hotel - great service, excellent facility, perfect location for the price.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the suites in the front of the hotel. Huge rooms with small standup balconies and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, General Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I am really glad to hear that you have enjoyed so much your stay at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Indeed our central yet quiet location is one of our asset as well as the attentive and genuinely caring staff.

I thank you for mentioning our Concierge in your feedback. It is extremely rewarding for the team to get such gratitude from our guests.

Concerning your feedback about breakfast and restaurant, kindly allow me to mention that we have aligned our offering to other five star hotels in the area. Nevertheless please rest assured that I have taken note of your comments and will review these with the F&B Director.

You will know the famous legend that if you throw a coin into the Trevi Fountain you will ensure a return trip to the Eternal City.

We look forward to your next visit for a new unforgettable experience.

Au revoir!

Kind regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our family spent 3 nights at the hotel. Situated within walking distance from the Spanish Steps, and shopping area. Service was impeccable form the check-in to the breakfast, with special compliments to the latter. The staff at the check in counter gave us invaluable information and tips regarding our visits to the main tourist attractions, thereby avoiding long queues. The room was very comfortable in size and the linen was top notch. The rooftop bar definitely a highlight.
This is not a cheap hotel, but one where our money was well spent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoinette14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, General Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear guest,

I am extremely thankful to you for this wonderful feedback!

I thank you for mentioning into details you very satisfactory experience throughout the different departments in the hotel.

We were delighted to provide you with our undivided attention.

Thank you again for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back soon with your family,

Best regards.

Llaurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in July. The room was a little small but the bed was very comfortable and the Hermes bathroom amenities were great. A highlight was definitely the rooftop bar/restaurant. We had drinks here every evening and the staff was very accommodating and the view is unparalleled! The location was perfect! You were near the Spanish Steps but away from the crowds and hassle which made it a nice escape after a day of sightseeing in Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mer94549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, General Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I am really glad to hear that you have enjoyed so much your stay at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Indeed our central yet quiet location is one of our asset as well as the attentive and genuinely caring staff.

We look forward to your next visits.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Although the room was a little small we didn't spend much time in it but the exceptional service of all the staff at the Sofitel more than made up for it. They could not have been more helpful with their answers to our questions and confirming our onward travel details for us.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Rome, General Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese and thank you very much for the positive review of our hotel.

We do our utmost to enchant our guests and I am glad to hear that we have achieved our aim.

Our utmost reward is to hear our guests satisfaction!

Thank you again very much for your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#54 of 1,272 in Rome
1,440 reviews
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#89 of 1,272 in Rome
1,499 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#114 of 1,272 in Rome
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Aleph Rome Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Address: Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Rome
#46 Family Hotel in Rome
#57 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#77 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £190 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Bella Roma, overlooking the Villa Borghese gardens, Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese means an outstanding stay. French-style living and devoted personalized service a l’italienne. A haven of refinement celebrating a perpetually fascinating city. The Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese stands adjacent to its namesake, just a stone’s throw from the poetic Villa Medici and the famed Piazza di Spagna (Spanish Steps). 81 elegant guest rooms, including 3 penthouse suites with private terraces, overlook either the Villa Borghese gardens or the charming city streets. Flooded with light, decorated in Natural Chic style in warm jewel tones and accented with silken textiles. Relax in marble bathtub, awaken fully refreshed from a night in the Sofitel MyBed. Enjoy delightful drinks and divine Mediterranean cuisine at the splendorous rooftop restaurant La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge. Start the day with an energizing selection of French and Italian specialties at the elegant restaurant La Litterature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Roma
Sofitel Rome
Rome Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing