We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location, Helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ranked #88 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Helpful staff”
Reviewed 16 May 2010

I stayed at this hotel during my last trip to Rome, I was staying there with my wife during our first trip to Italy and this is a summary for my experience there:

Pros.:
Location is great the hotel is very near to most of the city attractions like:spanish steps, quadro fontane, vatican city and two underground stations in addition to two car rental agencies.
The hotel is in "via lombardia" which is a very quiet street and luckily there are a lot of parking spaces available especially in the evening " a very important thing if you're hiring a car in the very congested Rome.
The rooms are clean, cozy and quiet.
The staff is friendly.
Room service is OK.

Cons:
Compared to hotels where I'm living "Dubai"; this hotel would definitely get a 4 star rating not a "5 stars" one, its not that luxorious hotel.
Wall papers are old and decoration in general is a little bit "sad".
Business centre is very poor; two PCs with a very slow internet connection.
To summarise; Sofitelvilla borghese is a nice combination of location, value for money, comfort stay and nice staff

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kareem-shalaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,421
    589
    155
    43
    25
See reviews for
433
1,217
64
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DuBois, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

The Sofitel Hotel in Rome was a terrific place to stay on our trip to Rome. The staff was great. An especially nice person was the doorman, Ezio deLuca. He helped us out a lot. He was very kind. It was a great hotel. a nice place to come back to after touring around the city. very relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makers33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Stayed for 4 nights in April 2010. Rooms are good size for Rome with good sized bathrooms and huge comfortable beds. Staff were all extremely welcoming and helpful. Food is pretty expensive but there are plenty of restaurants close buy though these part of Rome is not cheap. Location is good 5 mins to Spanish Steps, and 10-15 mins to historic centre.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlasGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
203 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

My family of 5 just stayed here over Easter weekend for 4 nights. We arrived early in the morning and they had the rooms available. We received a wonderful friendly greeting from the front desk. They gave us maps and were helpful with directions, to book tours, etc. We had two rooms and they were lovely-spacious, clean, and quiet. Sofitel Roma is located off a quiet side street, near Villla Borghese, 5 minutes to Spanish Steps, and close to Via Veneto. It had a lovely lobby, soothing music, plenty of places to sit with a drink, read, or catch up with others. We slept with the windows open-it was pretty quiet until I heard some church bells and birds singing. The beds were comfortable, windows were double-glazed, bathroom was great (except tub was a little deep, bit tricky to get out of). We had breakfast twice - great quality, choice, staff serving very professional and friendly. We had a package deal (for families: pay for one room, second is half-off, and children eat breakfast for free) Upon leaving Sofitel, we rented a car at Europcar (through Auto Europe)-great experience too) and it is only a block away and easy exit out of Rome. But the highlight of the Sofitel, for me, as well as my children, was the kindness and friendliness of Ezio (doorman) and Luigi (Bellman, I guess) Loved seeing their smiling faces in the morning and Ezio always had a couple of tips for us on how to do Rome well - (what bus to take, trick to avoid lines at a sight, etc.) When my children were talking about what they liked best about our trip to Italy, these were the things that made the list: hiking up Mt. Vesuvius, gondola ride in Venice, St. Peter's Basilica, and EZIO! Believe it or not.
Highly recommend Sofitel, would definitely stay there again for quiet, location, and comfort.

Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank steady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2010

2 ad, 4 children age 7-14, 3 nights. Beautiful hotel, quiet well appointed rooms, with an extra bed fitted no problem. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Trips booked, enquiries made on our behalf, and internet access granted all at no extra charge. Food expensive, but that's Rome. Excellent location - can walk to central Rome easily.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyManHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

This is a typical roman hotel which means threadbare carpets, smelly smoky room, chipped and cracked furniture, no gym, no room service along with noisy construction going on during the day..... thankfully the company was paying for this dump.

Most disappointing was the rooftop bar La Bella Vista was closed until the summer months even though it was brilliant spring weather.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrlNxtDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon in March.

The hotel is on a quiet street off Via Veneto and about 5 minutes walk (downhill) to the top of the Spanish Steps. The public areas of the hotel are top quality and the staff are all attentive, helpful and friendly. We were greeted at the hotel by the staff who had obvbiously been made aware on the booking that this was our honeymoon and they offered congratulations. There was a card and bottle of Prosecco waiting for us in our room from the manager which was a lovely touch.

Our room was on the 5th floor overlooking the Borghese Gardens and was furnished to a high standard. The only criticism of the room is that there were no tea and coffee making facilities. On arrival there was a small bottle of water in the room, but this was never replaced after the first day. Toiletries were also not replaced during our stay, but as they hadn't run out this wasn't really a problem - it just seemed unusual that a 5* hotel wouldn't replace any used items daily.

The bar and restaurant are fiercely expensive but this is to be expected of an establishment such as this in Rome. We ordered room service one night and the presentation and food were very good, although not worth the high price tag! Breakfast was a continental and "American" buffet. The choice was good but at 32 euro per person it was hugely overpriced. Luckily, we had booked a package including breakfast otherwise we would have eaten somewhere else!

There is a room where guests are able to use the internet free for 1 hour each day - a code must be obtained from reception. This was very convenient and another nice touch.

The only reason I have given the hotel 4 out of 5 is that the roof terrace was closed during our stay (and will be until late April). I had read a previous TA review hinting at this and emailed the hotel for confirmation. I never received a reply. There was a sign in the hotel lift informing of the closure which was very disappointing. The terrace had been one of the reasons we chose to book Sofitel so felt a bit cheated.

Overall the hotel is a classy establishment on the outskirts of the city. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it but be prepared to pay the price.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernSoutherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#56 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#105 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#86 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Property: Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Address: Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Rome
#58 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#59 Family Hotel in Rome
#77 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Bella Roma, overlooking the Villa Borghese gardens, Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese means an outstanding stay. French-style living and devoted personalized service a l’italienne. A haven of refinement celebrating a perpetually fascinating city. The Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese stands adjacent to its namesake, just a stone’s throw from the poetic Villa Medici and the famed Piazza di Spagna (Spanish Steps). 81 elegant guest rooms, including 3 penthouse suites with private terraces, overlook either the Villa Borghese gardens or the charming city streets. Flooded with light, decorated in Natural Chic style in warm jewel tones and accented with silken textiles. Relax in marble bathtub, awaken fully refreshed from a night in the Sofitel MyBed. Enjoy delightful drinks and divine Mediterranean cuisine at the splendorous rooftop restaurant La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge. Start the day with an energizing selection of French and Italian specialties at the elegant restaurant La Litterature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Roma
Sofitel Rome
Rome Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing