We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent. Great location, staff and rooms. Very luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ranked #81 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent. Great location, staff and rooms. Very luxurious”
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Very nice hotel. Luxurious lobby and rooms. Rooms large, great beds, good air conditioning, large bathroom, high celings, clean and updated. Top notch. Nice rooftop lounge overlooking the city.

Neighborhood is very nice and high end, just next to the Villa Borghese. 5-10 min walk to spanish steps, 15 min to Trevi Fountain, 20-25 min to Pizza Navona. Easy to use as a hub for tourist Rom. Good places to eat in neighborhood, but tend to be more pricey.

Staff is very friendly and very knowledgeable. They did screw up my car pick up at Roma Termini, but apologized and gave a large discount for transporation to the airport at the end of my trip and went out of their way to be helpful to us all week.

Great choice for Rome !

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMac64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,465
    598
    159
    46
    25
See reviews for
445
1,252
64
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

I have been to Rome five times. This last trip, I had the most fantastic hotel in Rome.
The Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese is in a perfect location; safe, lots of restaurants, parks.
The room at the hotel was so nice. Nice bathroom with shower, quiet air conditioner, comfortable bed, and wonderful linens.
The staff at the hotel are amazing, The cannot do enough to help you!
The breakfeast, though not was included in the price, was delicious and good value.
Everyone at the hotel, is happy, polite and pleasant!

I will tell all my friends that this is the best place to stay in Rome!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daveycrockett1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Found this place on Trip Advisor and just got back home to the U.S. Beautiful rooms, excellent service and wonderful espresso! The rooftop restaurant is a dream. The only bad thing that happened is that Italy lost the World Cup while we were there (but that's not the hotel's fault, right?).

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Vibe_Manager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

This is not the Sofitel one is used to staying at in America or Canada. There is no concierge. If you ask them at the desk about certain main attractions they will either ask the doorman or try to look it up on line. I asked for the manager at one point and I was told he is on vacation and there is no one to replace him..only the front desk people. They gave me a room that had a broken air conditioner, promised to fix it and of course never did. I returned a week later for one night before my flight back to the states and they gave me the same lousy room with the broken AC again which they claimed was fixed but was not fixed. They told me they were booked and I would have to keep this room. The rooms are very clean and the location is good. It is a 5 minute walk to the beautiful spanish steps.They never told me that there is a full breakfast being served on the lower floor level. I only knew about the terrace cafe. If you need any guidance in Rome don't depend on Sofitel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinkyBrattleboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

The Sofitel Rome was fantastic. I travel frequently and stay at top-notch hotels. This property exceeded my expectations. The air conditioning was great, the beds incredibly comfortable and the shower was perfect (these three things are always important to me in a hotel). A variety of restaurants are nearby, and the location was away from the crowds of tourists and in a very nice neighborhood.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kgm610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

This is a great hotel, just a block from tour bus drop off point, a short walk to the Spagna or Bernini metro station and a stone's throw from the best breakfast place in Rome - La Fraize.
We stayed in this hotel for a week and were delighted with the hotel staff, the location and the room. The room was large by European standards and we were in a superior twin. The beds were pushed next to each other to create a king size and were very comfortable. We also controlled our own air conditioning which was great. It was nice to come back to a chilled room after seeing the sights all day. The front desk staff were great and Mario helped us navigate all the nuances of the city from the Roma pass, to directions to the metro, what to wear to the Vatican and scheduling a car for us to the airport upon our departure. Also, the rooftop bar was finally opened after being renovated for months and it was a hot spot for the entire area. The hotel just a few blocks from Via Veneto which offered great shopping and the Hard Rock Cafe. I will return to this hotel if and when I return to Rome.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KellyVolFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Just back from a week long stay at the Sofitel and my husband and I were very pleased.
We found the location very quiet yet close enough to all the sites. I always am concerned about impeccable cleanliness and was not disappointed on that front. Our room was always made up on time and turn down service was a nice touch in the evening.

Frederica, our bartender was a delight and always greeted us with a warm welcome at the end of the day.

Doorman, Ezio De Luca , is a gem - very kind and patient with guests and provides a wealth of inside tips to make your day more enjoyable. Seek him out when you arrive at the hotel and you will be well taken care of.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chappybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#62 of 1,263 in Rome
1,366 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#129 of 1,263 in Rome
929 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#105 of 1,263 in Rome
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#116 of 1,263 in Rome
857 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Property: Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Address: Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Rome
#53 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#59 Family Hotel in Rome
#77 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Bella Roma, overlooking the Villa Borghese gardens, Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese means an outstanding stay. French-style living and devoted personalized service a l’italienne. A haven of refinement celebrating a perpetually fascinating city. The Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese stands adjacent to its namesake, just a stone’s throw from the poetic Villa Medici and the famed Piazza di Spagna (Spanish Steps). 81 elegant guest rooms, including 3 penthouse suites with private terraces, overlook either the Villa Borghese gardens or the charming city streets. Flooded with light, decorated in Natural Chic style in warm jewel tones and accented with silken textiles. Relax in marble bathtub, awaken fully refreshed from a night in the Sofitel MyBed. Enjoy delightful drinks and divine Mediterranean cuisine at the splendorous rooftop restaurant La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge. Start the day with an energizing selection of French and Italian specialties at the elegant restaurant La Litterature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Roma
Sofitel Rome
Rome Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing