We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Diplomatic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Diplomatic
Ranked #223 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Great location hotel - we walked to all the sights but you can also get a bus to the colosseum from the front of the hotel if you don't fancy the 30 min walk. The hotel is just out of the hustle and bustle so is a quiet(ish) retreat whilst still being central.

Room was spotless, beds a little hard but we like that. Bathroom had a shower and bath (great to soak those tired feet and legs!) and was also spotless. Plenty of powerful hot water.

Mini bar was handy, prices ok and good to have a fridge in the room.

Room was nice and warm but also good to open the window for fresh air, our room was at the back so nice and quiet.

Breakfast was a little basic, nice yoghurts, bread and basic (tinned?) fruit. Would have been better if there was some fresh fruit, but it was adequate for a few nights.

Staff were friendly and helpful- we asked them about the buses and also locked our key in our room once (sorry!). Each time they were helpful.

Tips:

If you are flying from the Fiumicino airport get the sit shuttle bus. This is €11 return and stops at the piazza Cavour literally a 5min walk from the hotel. Just look at the map before you get there and follow the signs at the airport for the bus terminal.

Also, try eating at la francescana just around the corner from the hotel near the piazza. Great local home cooked food at a good price. The restaurant next door (splendour) was good too.

Overall, we would definitely recommend this hotel. Good price for a good located hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clembo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review on TripAdvisor. We are so glad that your experience in our Hotel was so great!
We are very pleased to read that you have appreciated the location, our services and our staff.
It is our constant aim to make the stay of our clients as memorable and comfortable as possible, so we are so happy to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will be glad to welcome you again.

Best Regards
Luisa
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 824 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

I can just say that if you looking for perfect, go for it. Every single details are thoughtful and excellent in the Peninsula. Well spent for every penny with this kind of excellent services. the staff is very attentive. it's a bit pricey but wel worth the cost. breakfast is very good and included in the cost of the stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovkodov t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice words about Hotel Diplomatic!
We are pleased to hear from you that your stay was enjoyable and that you have appreciated the service and professionality provided by our staff.
Hoping to see you again very soon in Rome, we send you our best regards!!


Luisa
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Great location, short distance to everything. Nice staff. Large room, refridgerator. Safebox.
Breakfast was ok: bread, ham, cheese, jam, pastery, cereal, yoghurt, juice/coffee.
Room: New towels every day, felt cleen (even tough it was carpets on the floor).
No aircon in march.

The only down-thing: the shower was clogged, we asked two times for them to fix it, but it was water all over the bathroomfloor every time.

Transport:
From Ciampino to the hotel: took the bus to termini (4 euros), then a taxi to the hotel (10 euros).
If you wanna go by car to the airport, don't choose the carservice from the hotel (over 50euros to Ciampino!). We asked them to call a regular taxi, and paid 30 euros (4.30 in the morning!).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hennes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for leaving a review about Hotel Diplomatic!

We are very happy that your stay was pleasant and that you have enjoyed the services offered by our staff. However, we regret very much if during your stay, to have found some problems.

We hope to see you again at our hotel.

Best regards
Luisa
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed for 5 nights - liked the hotel and would look to book again in future. As many other reviewers note, it has a great location, being near to the Vatican but also just over the river and a fairly short walk to a number of the other attractions.87 bus to the colosseum stops right by the hotel. There are a number of good restaurants within a short walking distance and a few bars also. As has been noted the front rooms are a little noisy, but we got used to it. The bed was hard but the staff added a blanket on top of the mattress and that made things much better. Breakfast was fine - continental style, reasonable choice. The bar was not open - but there are bars nearby, so not a problem. Overall very good.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review!
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you appreciated the location, the continental breakfast and our staff. Each member of the staff works to assure to every guest the best service possible!
We are sorry that you have found the mattress too hard and that you have suffered from the traffic noise of Rome!!

We look forward to seeing you again at the Diplomatic Hotel in Rome.

Best Regards
Luisa
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Hotel in a great location within walking distance of all the great places. Colosseum is a little far but just catch the 87 from outside the hotel.
Hotel staff very friendly and helpful and good English. Walking distance to Vatican, pantheon and trevi. So much to see around every corner.
Hotel room a little small but didn't expect anything else in the centre of Rome. Would definitely recommend and go again
Caught the SIT bus from da Vinci airport which drops 2 mins away and was only 10euros each for return journey, very easy to do.
Booked to go to sistene chapel before crowds and we're first in. Fabulous.
Fabulous city with a great feel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soloHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review on TripAdvisor.
We are so glad that your experience in our Hotel was so great!
It is our constant aim to make the stay of our clients as memorable and comfortable as possible, so we are so happy to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will be glad to welcome you again in Rome.
Best Regards
Luisa
Groupe Valadier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Diplomatic was a nice small hotel with an excellent location close to the Vatican and Centro Storico. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially Gianluca at the reception. Room was a good size, very clean and the bed was comfortable (maybe a bit hard for some but we liked it). Bathroom was very clean also and looked quite new.
Our room (104) was on the first floor facing the street. So the street noise bothered us at first, but we had earblugs with, so we were able to sleep just great. And the street quieted down a bit for the night. On the night of the arrival we asked to change a room, but the hotel was fully booked. Breakfast included toast, cheese, ham, pastries, cereals, juice...no veggies in sight :) It could have been better. Coffee was great though!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room that's not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ne_be_1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear guest,
We want to thank you for choosing our Hotel for your stay in Rome.
We are very happy to read your appreciation of our central position, and for the services that we offer, as well as the availability and the professionalism and courtesy of our staff, especially of Gianluca. Our staff is fully committed to guarantee an impeccable service.
We hope to be able to give back the welcome as soon .

Best Regards
Luisa
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Have stayed here before and was very happy to come back. The hotel is very well situated It's easy walking to all major sites and is in a very nice safe area. Clean spacious rooms and very friendly and helpful reception staff. Airport shuttle bus stop is just a 5 min walk. Used Spagna metro to reachTermini Station to get train to the hilltop town of Orvieto .It's just about an hour by train. My two friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Diplomatic. Will return!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely review on TripAdvisor. We are so glad that your experience in our Hotel was so great!
It is our constant aim to make the stay of our clients as memorable and comfortable as possible, so we are so happy to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
We will be glad to welcome you once again.

Best regards
Luisa
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Sant'Angelo
Hotel Sant'Angelo
#352 of 1,271 in Rome
928 reviews
Monti
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
#366 of 1,271 in Rome
1,067 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#64 of 1,271 in Rome
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#662 of 1,271 in Rome
505 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#342 of 1,271 in Rome
734 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#388 of 1,271 in Rome
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomatic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomatic

Address: Via Vittoria Colonna 28, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#192 Family Hotel in Rome
#234 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £65 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diplomatic 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Diplomatic. A truly memorable holiday.With its gold and marble decor and high ceilings, in the Italian late 19th century style called Umbertino, the Hotel Diplomatic is considered a "classic" Roman hotel, thanks to its timeless elegance. The hotel is appreciated by both business and leisure guests, especially for its strategic location, between the world famous Vatican Museums and the fascinating boutiques in the environs of the Spanish Steps. A prestigious venue, it has been completely refurbished and offers 45 comfortable, spacious and airy rooms, equipped with top level amenities. The large patio on the first floor is truly unique, for relaxing and enjoying a huge array of tasty specialties at breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Diplomatic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomatic Hotel Rome
Hotel Diplomatic Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing