We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“To be closed for hygenic reasons”
Review of Hotel Diplomatic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Diplomatic
Ranked #221 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Warszawa, Poland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“To be closed for hygenic reasons”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

To avoid, extremly dirty, especially the bathroom, noisy, claustrophobic - the double room has 10 sq metres. Mold on the walls, bathtube and shower never cleaned, taps covered with decade-long dirt, even towels not very clean. In compense the hotel is quite expensive... Have some photos byt unable to load'em here...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Mr Jacek,
we are very sorry for your dissatisfaction, it is very unusual and we are very surprised that our guests find a room so dirty, we give maximum attention to cleanliness.
The room size is regular for a standard double room: 16 sq metres. Concerning the price I have to remind you that Spring, expecially on May, is a very high season in Rome and all rates are the highest of the year.
If the reception knew about your disappointment regarding the room they would have change it, they always do the best to make guests feel at ease.
We apologize for any distraction of our cleaners and we hope guests will speak to the hotel's staff for any problem.
Best Regards
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    426
    109
    22
    13
See reviews for
131
374
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel in April 2014 for a week. The location of the hotel is perfect. You are close to everything and you can just walk everywhere. It's not a luxury hotel but we thought for the money you are getting a great deal. It was very clean, the room was big for European standards and so was the bed. Our room had a foldable sofa and would be big enough for family of 4. The shower was strong, hot water always and again very decent size. Windows in the room were soundproof and the room was as quiet as you can get in the centre of Rome. I think earplugs are a good idea anywhere, you never know...Breakfast was good, not spectacular ( every day the same ) but the usual pastries, hams, cheese and a good coffee or tea were ok. The wifi was free and we were able to check emails, FB etc. it was not very fast so might be hard to use for work. There is a small elevator in the building. We were very happy with our stay and would love to come back. It's a hotel for people on budget! There are little things that somebody might mind. No big lobby, nothing fancy, the rooms have just bare necessities. Very tiny tv, no desk, no vanity ( the light in the bathroom was quite bad so it was an ordeal to put make up on). You have to return your key and pick it up when you come back ( we had no problem with it ). Overall little things for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you so much the review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Rome and that you appreciated the hotel location being close to everything and customers can just walk everywhere.
We are happy that you liked our room with the services included as wifi , breakfast etc
Hoping to welcome you soon again.
Besy Regards
Guest Relations
Leila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I visited Rome a few years ago and stayed at the Diplomatic Hotel. We didn't have Lira and the local bank would not exchange our US dollars for Lira. The hotel manager took us to the bank, asked to see the manager and insisted that they give us exchange. The person in charge of their restaurant was one heck of a nice guy. I mentioned that I loved tuna fish with a nice slice of tomato and the next day he surprised me with a huge tomato and a tuna sandwich. These were nice people. They went out of their way to be pleasant, sociable and downright nice. My wife and I are celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary this year and we have booked the Hotel Diplomatic.

I should also mention that the location is superb. Close to the Vatican and Piazza Navonna and many other cherished and welcomed destinations in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTraveler43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for posting such a detailed and nice comments about our location and services.
We are really pleased that after so many years, you have returned to Rome to celebrate your anniversary. We are glad to share your compliments with all staff and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Diplomatic!!

Best regards
Luisa
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel was recommended by friends who had stayed several times and were very complimentary. Found it in a great location for both sightseeing and the airport bus. Comfortable, clean and good service. Had the luxury of a rooftop balcony which was an unexpected delight.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkie456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great review, we are happy that our services have met your needs
Waiting for you again at the Hotel Diplomatic!

Sincerely
Luisa
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellarton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was our first visit to Rome and we were not familiar with the landmarks but quickly found our way from the Vatican (10 min) away to the Spanish Steps (10 min the other way) and Trevi Fountain. We were about 20 min walk to the Colosseum. We are walkers and didn't mind walking. We walked about 8 hours per day. The hotel has a very very small elevator. The staff were friendly. The breakfast was not great but we have nothing to compare it to in Rome. It was definitely our least favorite of the other 3 hotels we stayed at in other cities. The rooms were clean. The wifi didn't work very good but the front desk staff helped me and gave me a special passcode so I could access it. I would probably look at other hotels in the area if I returned but I would also stay here again. The location was excellent.

Room Tip: We were lucky to have a balcony to overlook the street and that kept us busy in the evening watching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for beautiful review on Tripadvisor, and for your positive comments about your stay. We are happy that you enjoyed your time in Rome and we are very pleased to read that you appreciated our hotel, the location and the courtesy and the professionality of the staff. As you mentioned, the hotel is located at a stone’s throw from the symbolic monuments, Vatican city and exclusive boutiques of the city centre.
We are pleased that your first experience with us was so positive. We are waiting again at the Hotel Diplomatic in Rome.

Best Regards
Luisa
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed for three nights. The hotel was centrally located and is close to the river. The staff was helpful for directions and everyone spoke perfect english. Our room was located on the 4th floor and was quite. There is an elevator. While simple in design, the room was clean (a priority for us) and the bathroom was much larger than the bathroom in our hotel in Florence. We found the bed to be very comfortable. Breakfast is served starting at 6:30 in the morning which is very helpful when trying to make early morning walking tours. Rome was our last stop of our vacation. There is a great American restaurant across the street that serves the best steaks, ribs, and hamburgers. The hamburgers are so large that you can easily split a plate and the basket of fries that come with it. While we loved all the Italian food, by the end of the week we were ready for some american food. Enjoyed our stay even though we were rarely in the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken4teresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor.
We are very pleased to read that you have appreciated the location and our service.
We value your feedback and we are delighted you had such a pleasant experience.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Diplomatic.

Kind regards
Luisa
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel is situated across the river from the main center of Rome, but easily within walking distance of all of the main sights. Piazza del Popolo is easy reachable on the other Tiber river bank, St Peter is at waliking distance. I had a pleasant stay when I was in Rome and an amazing opportunity to discover Rome from the river, running on the cycling path there

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review on TripAdvisor. We are so glad that your experience at the Hotel Diplomatic was great! We are pleased to read that you have appreciated the hotel, the location and your holiday in Rome and that you enjoyed jogging long the Tiber river.
We really hope that you remember us when coming back to Rome.


Best regards
Luisa
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Sant'Angelo
Hotel Sant'Angelo
#340 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Prati
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Hotel Relais dei Papi
#197 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Prati
Roma dei Papi - Hotel de Charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#75 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Prati
Le Meridien Visconti Rome
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#229 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomatic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomatic

Property: Hotel Diplomatic
Address: Via Vittoria Colonna 28, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#234 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#307 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diplomatic 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Diplomatic. A truly memorable holiday.With its gold and marble decor and high ceilings, in the Italian late 19th century style called Umbertino, the Hotel Diplomatic is considered a "classic" Roman hotel, thanks to its timeless elegance. The hotel is appreciated by both business and leisure guests, especially for its strategic location, between the world famous Vatican Museums and the fascinating boutiques in the environs of the Spanish Steps. A prestigious venue, it has been completely refurbished and offers 45 comfortable, spacious and airy rooms, equipped with top level amenities. The large patio on the first floor is truly unique, for relaxing and enjoying a huge array of tasty specialties at breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diplomatic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomatic Hotel Rome
Hotel Diplomatic Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing