We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
Ranked #312 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight after being up for 48 hours traveling from Australia. The location is fantastic for tired travelers wanting to be near the main station. Staff were great - made phone calls to assist us with ongoing accommodation, free Wi Fi, room very clean and more than adequate. Would definitely stay her again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Overeaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have just spent 12 days at this hotel and must recommend the quality of this accommodation. Staff were extremely polite and helpful throughout our stay. All speak very good English. The hotel is clean and the room that we were allocated was very quiet, adequately spacious and pleasant. The location of the hotel is extremely convenient for getting the metro (all lines) and buses (terminus practically next door). A number of family restaurants in the immediate vicinity plus lots of shops in Via Cavour itself, Via Nazionale and the Terminal.

Room Tip: Our room at the back of the hotel over looking the internal courtyard was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvanMMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The Massimo d'Azeglio is a short walk from the Rome Termini station so it's handy for moving around and near the limited but useful Rome Metro system. Bettoya group also own the hotel opposite, so if you fancy a meal in a rooftop restaurant there are booking facilities in the Massimo. The hotel itself is old fashioned and very quaint. Acres of varnished wood paneling everywhere and every night whilst we were there teams of decorators would discretely sand and add another coat of varnish.
The room we were in was adequate but in no way luxurious. Nor was it terribly spacious. Visiting Rome as a tourist can be an exhausting experience. At the end of each day your head will be reeling and your feet will be sore. All you want is food and bed. We had a couple of set menu meals at the restaurant as part of a tour group, and it was less than inspiring on both occasions. They're just not very good at catering for groups of 30+ people wanting to eat all at once. Having said that, all the staff were attentive, courteous and polite. But in my view they struggled to cope. Being near the Termini station means there's a lot of coming and going at all times. Outside the hotel and around the station precinct are hoards of itinerant tinkers, pickpockets and street traders in counterfeit designer goods. Keep your wits about you and you'll be fine.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boffinjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My wife and I had a great 8 day stay, the hotel is walking distance from all major attractions you get a great breakfast , the rooms are spacious and clean, the staff are polite and very helpful they made our stay a pleasure, when we go back to Rome this is where we will stay.
We highly recommend the Masimo D'agiglio.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Walking distance from all major attractions in Rome.Fifteenminutes walk from colleseum .very near to train station,just two mins.very nice breakfast would highly recommend .the rooms are spacious and clean.the air conditioning is good.the staff is really very helpfull.the front desk provides complete information about all major attractions.there is a very good indian restaurant near the hotel.the shopping area is very near,,just ten mins walking way.the tram station is just two mins way...it's a great great location hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonali1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

What's to say. This place is what a hotel is suppose to be. Service from the desk all the way to the bellboys was the best. The room, a bargain room was exactly what was needed. The bathroom was great for a bargain room enormous bathtub. I spent the night because all the Bullets were booked for the day. The staff was great in helping me with everything
I needed to see during my overnight stay. The breakfast the next day was great. Lots of coffee, eggs,toast, nice American style. They stored my suitcases,backpack,coats etc the next day while I toured by the Rome close to the train station.
I really enjoyed my stay at the Bettoja Massimo.
John

Room Tip: I got my room by looking at Booking.com from the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Had gone with children, one 4 year old and one 2 year old. Was pleasantly surprised when I saw the room. It was really big with a huge bathroom. The location was also very good 2 minutes from termini station and across the road from the open bus starting point. The people were friendly and had a good 3 night stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thackern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo
Esquilino
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
#479 of 1,271 in Rome
536 reviews
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#167 of 1,271 in Rome
2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Gioberti Art Hotel
Gioberti Art Hotel
#125 of 1,271 in Rome
336 reviews
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#100 of 1,271 in Rome
3,128 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Genova
Hotel Genova
#433 of 1,271 in Rome
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio

Address: Via Cavour 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#167 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £79 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1875 the Hotel Massimo d’Azeglio has provided traditional hospitality to its numerous Italian and Foreign guests. Although through the years it has been refurbished many times the hotel has maintained its “turn of the century” character. Its halls, bar and restaurant house an important collection of paintings and prints of the Italian “Risorgimento”. The wood paneled Restaurant, with its famous wine cellar, is one of the best known in the city. The Massimo d’Azeglio Restaurant and Hotel has been included amongst the historic hotels of Italy. The Massimo d'Azeglio Hotel has 185 Rooms,3 Conference Rooms, Garage, Bar & Restaurant, Air Conditioning, TV Satellite, Minibar, Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bettoja Massimo d Azeglio Rome
Bettoja Massimo d Azeglio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing